Christian Historical Fiction discussion

Civil War fiction

Comments (showing 1-15 of 15) (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Morgan | 11 comments can anyone recommend some new/recent Christian fiction set in Civil War times? Thanks very much.

message 2: by Barbara (new)

Barbara | 41 comments Peggy, The Shenandoah Sisters series by Michael Phillips and the Refiner's Fire series by Lynn Austin are set during the time of the civil war and are very good if you haven't already read them. You might also like Love Finds You In Liberty, Indiana, which is about the underground railroad in the 1850's.

message 3: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Morgan | 11 comments Thanks Barbara. I'm new to reading Christian fiction and appreciate your suggestions.

message 4: by Barbara (new)

Barbara | 41 comments You're very welcome. I love Christian historical fiction, and may be able to think of more later. Those are just some that came to mind first. The civil war and the underground railroad are favorites of mine to read about!

message 5: by Christy (new)

Christy (southernsassygirl) | 9 comments Peggy, I second Barbara's recommendation of the Shenandoah Sisters series by Michael Phillips. I can still remember the way I felt when I read the very first book...wow!

message 6: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer (Jennafraugh) | 313 comments Gilbert Morris has a series called the Appomattox Saga...there's ten books in that one. And, part of his House of Winslow series goes through Civil War near the end of the series.

message 7: by Peggy (new)

Peggy Morgan | 11 comments Thanks Christy and Jennifer! There's more out there than I thought!

message 8: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer (Jennafraugh) | 313 comments Gilbert morris has a ton set in different war eras. He has a new series that just started that is also set in Civil War times. The Last Cavalier Series, The Crossing is the first in the series. The second book is coming out soon.