Vegan Cooking & Cookbooks discussion

Cooking Chat > Need Help with Cooking?

Comments (showing 1-50 of 66) (66 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by Lisa, Vegan Cookbook Reader (new)

Lisa Vegan (LisaVegan) | 1864 comments Mod
Feel free to post here if you need general cooking tips or help using vegan cookbooks, if a recipe you made "failed" and you want help figuring out how to make it successfully, or if you need other help.

message 2: by Lisa, Vegan Cookbook Reader (last edited Mar 12, 2011 11:24PM) (new)

I need some help from more experienced cooks (which undoubtedly is probably everyone in this group.)

I’ve been eating mostly healthfully for the last five months, and have lost nearly half the weight I need to lose, I think.) But I’m considering bringing Earth Balance spread and Follow Your Heart cheddar cheese back into the house to make the macaroni and “cheese” recipe from the book Simple Vegan!: Delicious Meat-Free, Dairy-Free Recipes Every Family Will Love.

This book has one of the more unhealthy vegan mac & cheese recipes I’ve seen (though I would use whole wheat elbow pasta because I prefer whole wheat pasta and also actively work to eat a high fiber diet) but it also looks as though it’s one that would taste more authentic than some other vegan mac & cheese recipes.

It looks as though it’s a very easy recipe, but it calls for puréeing the tofu in a food processor until completely smooth. I don’t have a food processor. I do have a cheap immersion blender that has 9 speeds but no explanation of each speed. I also have an old blender (somewhere) that does have a purée setting.

So, my question is: Do you think I could I get away with blending the tofu and not using a food processor?

Also, the recipe calls for making 7 cups, and I’d like to divide this by 8 or at least 4. I’m not so sure it would make good leftovers and I’d be at risk of eating whatever was made.

Any help, suggestions, etc. is very much appreciated. Thank you!