Jewish Book Carnival discussion

Introductions?

Comments (showing 1-50 of 95) (95 new)    post a comment »

Charles Weinblatt (charles_weinblatt) | 30 comments It’s nice to see this group growing. I am a Holocaust author and I review Jewish and Holocaust books for The New York Journal of Books (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/revie...).

I recently reviewed a terrific fiction book called "Anya's War," by Andrea Alban (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/revie...). "Anya’s War" is a tender coming-of-age tale of a Jewish girl whose family escaped to Shanghai from the impending Nazi takeover of their home in Russia. Alban’s writing style is structured, cogent and evocative. Her protagonist and the primary characters are entertaining, well developed and delivered with expressive dialogue.

Another great non-fiction Holocaust book is "The Envoy," by Alex Kershaw (http://www.nyjournalofbooks.com/revie...). "The Envoy" is Alex Kershaw’s testimonial to Raul Wallenberg and his campaign to save the Jews of Hungary from extermination by Nazi Germany in 1944. Bestselling author Kershaw dramatically pulls the reader into the diabolical campaign of Adolf Eichmann to send more than 250,000 Hungarian Jews to Auschwitz. With the nail-biting suspense of a winning novelist, Kershaw uses solid research and anecdotal data to show how it felt to be just one step ahead of the SS and their cruel Hungarian proxies, the Arrow Cross.