Literary Exploration discussion

The Maltese Falcon
This topic is about The Maltese Falcon
The Book-Club Books > February 2011 - Maltese Falcon

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mary-Jane (new)

Mary-Jane | 14 comments I just love hardboiled detective fiction, but as usual, don't be surprised if I read it at the last minute and swoop in at the end of the month.

Brad T. I'm a new member to this group but I was also excited when I saw this as the read of the month. I made it through an entire english degree without ever having read it. I love the classics so I am looking forward to reading this one.

message 3: by Mary-Jane (last edited Jan 25, 2011 05:44PM) (new)

Mary-Jane | 14 comments I have an English degree, too, and we never read any crime fiction, not even the stuff like Hammet that's indisputably an important example of 20th century American fiction. I tried to make up for it by teaching a course called "Crimes and MsDemeanors: Women in Crime Fiction," but I'm afraid more than a few of my students thought that "MsDemeanor" was a typographical error and that they were taking a criminology class.

message 4: by Michael, Mod Prometheus (last edited Jan 26, 2011 04:58AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Michael (knowledgelost) | 1184 comments Mod
I'm excited about this one too; and I picked the book. I really enjoy reading hard boiled & noir; from Raymond Chandler to James Ellroy but not read Hammet yet

message 5: by Mary-Jane (new)

Mary-Jane | 14 comments If you like Chandler and Ellroy, after Hammet I recommend Chester Himes and Richard Stark.

message 6: by Michael, Mod Prometheus (new) - rated it 4 stars

Currently I'm enjoying a great collection of short noir stories called The Best American Noir of the Century

message 7: by Mary-Jane (new)

Mary-Jane | 14 comments I haven't seen that anthology. Any Walter Mosely or Ross Macdonald there?