Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Policies & Practices > How do you add a book cover?

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Karen (last edited Jan 09, 2011 12:44AM) (new)

Karen (TNreader) | 57 comments even newer edit: I see I needed to combine this with the other editions. I did that now.

edit: sorry! I see this isn't the same ISBN. Well, if it were the correct cover image, how would I add it?
==========================================

How do you add a book cover correctly?

I tried adding a cover to http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/97...

I saved the cover .jpg from the Amazon book with the same isbn (http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I...) onto my PC, then pointed to it from the book edit page.

However, I noticed 'my' cover is smaller than the covers of the other 2 books in the series: http://www.goodreads.com/series/55420...

What did I do wrong?

(Please be gentle with me; it's my first time...)

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (last edited Jan 09, 2011 01:06AM) (new)

rivka | 23558 comments Mod
Do you know how to edit (crop) images? (If not, I may be able to walk you through it, but I need to know what image-editing software you have -- maybe Picture Manager?)

Images from Amazon frequently have extra whitespace around the edges that needs cropping out.

Anyway, B&N has the correct cover image for this edition.

message 3: by Karen (new)

Karen (TNreader) | 57 comments Oh! I know how to crop the white space. I didn't notice that.

Thanks!

message 4: by Karen (new)

Karen (TNreader) | 57 comments OK. That's much better. :)

I'll go get the correct cover now from B&N.

Thanks, Rivka!

message 5: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

:)

message 6: by dely (new)

dely | 96 comments I use this thread because I have a doubt with a cover and wanted to ask if I have done right.

I have added a book who has a cover who is only red and very very simple and unclear: