J.D. Robb discussion

Archives > Science Fiction in the In Death Series

Comments (showing 1-23 of 23) (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stephen (new)

Stephen Goldin (stephengoldin) | 43 comments I suspect a large percentage of the ID readers, when asked, would probably say, "Oh, I don't read science fiction." But the ID books are science fiction to the core, in addition to being fine police-procedural mysteries. Being set about 50 years in our future (and even further away when Roberts started writing them), they feature space colonies, flying cars, droids, cloning, virtual reality, important societal changes, and many other science fiction elements as key ingredients in the stories.

Since I'm a science fiction writer by trade, Vanessa McNamara suggested it might be interesting for me to start a thread about this. If anyone has any questions about these elements, things Roberts mentions as throwaway lines that you don't understand or want further elaboration on, please ask here and I'll be happy to go into more detail about them, explain how such concepts are traditionally used in other science fiction works, maybe some of the science behind them or how they might come about in the world of Eve Dallas's time.

If no one has specific questions--and remember, the only stupid question is the one you don't ask--I'll probably ramble on at random until you get so sick of me that you'll ask Vanessa to bar me from the group.

message 2: by Vanessa (new)

Vanessa (Vanessamc) | 646 comments Nicely done Stephen. I would also like to encourage everyone to use this thread just to make observations or comments. Perhaps you like the humor these aspects of the story provides, such as Eve and the problems she has with the vending machines.

Anyway, it's a broad topic and anything is welcome.

message 3: by Vanessa (last edited Dec 05, 2010 04:51PM) (new)

Vanessa (Vanessamc) | 646 comments Possible Spoilers