History is Not Boring discussion

Was the US Civil War Inevitable?

Comments (showing 1-41 of 41) (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mary JL (last edited Sep 29, 2010 07:34AM) (new)

Mary JL (MaryJL) | 29 comments I just reviewed a book called "Civil War Trivia and Fact Book" by Webb Garrison.

Stated in passing in this book, the author states that 1) "Considerable evidence" exists that Lincoln provoked the firing at Fort Sumter so the Union would not be the side that 'started' the war. 2)Had anyone besides Lincoln been President, there might have been no Civil War because "only the man from Illinois" was uniwilling to compromise. (Pages 101 and 145, respectively.)

NOw, I am not an expert historian but I am interested in the subject. Was the Civial War inevitable by 1860? Perhpas if both sides had worked at compromise earlier, it might have been avoided.

But everything I have read so far--admittedly there is so much on the Civial War it is easy to miss newer research--seems to indicate that by 1860 the two sides had been wrangling for so long that compromise was unlikely, and the situation was already at the boiling point.

Any of you who are Civil War history fans--what do you feel ? Could the war have been avoided? Or, if Lincoln compromised, would it simply have delayed the war and handed the problem to Lincoln's sucessor?

message 2: by Steven (new)

Steven | 21 comments You missed the big point of a Lincoln comprise (which I feel sure the author did not). Most of the southern States had already declared their independence prior to Lincoln taking office - so the comprise to avoid the war was to recognize the new country.

message 3: by Terence (new)