The Sword and Laser discussion

Bitter Seeds > Broken words in iPad version?

Comments (showing 1-15)    post a comment »
dateUp_arrow    newest »

Adam (JadeMason) | 23 comments Nook user here, and I've seen this issue as well on my eBook copy of Bitter Seeds. In addition to the 'per sis tent' fracturing, I also noticed that there were unnecessary hyphens. My guess is that whatever method was used for converting the print edition to digital had issues when a word is broken across lines.

Skip | 502 comments You would think that they would have the ebooks read, just like the galley proofs are reviewed. It's just one more thing for the format to work out.

Jenny (Reading Envy) (readingenvy) | 1775 comments You would think they would just produce both simultaneously. I think it may be deliberate like some have said, but surely there are smoother ways to prevent copyright infringement. The synonym idea seemed smarter and less intrusive.

I work as an academic librarian and we're getting ready to promote our various eBook platforms on campus. It sounds like I may need to check to see if academic eBooks are doing the same things, so we can at least warn people (or be ready for complaints).

Mike Rentas (mikerentas) | 65 comments It definitely feels like a problem with the scanning process they're using, but here's what I don't get - don't most authors use computers these days? Don't they submit revisions to their publishers in some kind of machine-parsable text format, be it markdown, doc, rtf, or whatever? Don't the publishers then take these documents and send them to a dude somewhere to print up a bunch of copies? So why in the world are they scanning physical copies of books to produce content for the ebook stores instead of converting the file they're sending off to the printers directly? Is there a company that all the publishers use that offers cheap ebook conversion from a paper copy?