Supernatural Fiction Readers discussion

General Discussions > Gendered perspectives on supernatural fiction

Comments (showing 1-44 of 44) (44 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Werner (last edited Oct 24, 2009 04:06PM) (new)

Werner | 1152 comments Back last summer, in a message to me, one of our members broached the idea of discussing the whole issue of gender perspectives in supernatural fiction (female vs. male authors, female vs. male main characters, etc.). Up to now, we've never posted anything on this, but I thought it might make for an interesting topic --especially since our group is probably about evenly split between the sexes.

Being a librarian, I know that broadly speaking, male and female readers tend to have different tastes (the American Library Association's trade journal, Booklist, even has separate reader's advisory columns for the two genders). Does that dichotomy carry over into this genre? Some people, I'm sure, would say it does. Other things being equal, I think more women than men are drawn to books that emphasize romantic relationships at the heart of the plot. The readership for the Twilight series, for instance, tends to be much more female than male for that reason --though, obviously, there are males who like it, too. And possibly more males (though in this case, not me) would be attracted to the more violent, grisly-gory kinds of "horror" tales than females?