group discussion
topic:
This site's orientation
date
newest »
newest »
This may be a silly question....but is this site sponsored by a religious group? It has a 'religious' feel to it. Or is it just that there are a lot of religious adverts on it?
I say this because I loathe the people who organise religions - and loathe is a mild euphemism for what I really think.
Fiona, Not at all. Go click on the "about us" link at the bottom of the page and from that page http://www.goodreads.com/about/us also click on "help" and "how it works" etc. Edit: Definitely read everything on the "about us" page.
I noticed a lot of "holy wullie" type adverts too recently...pay as much attention to them as I do to spam.
Barbarossa wrote: "I noticed a lot of "holy wullie" type adverts too recently...pay as much attention to them as I do to spam."
'holy wullie' lol
Lisa wrote: "Fiona, Not at all. Go click on the "about us" link at the bottom of the page and from that page http://www.goodreads.com/about/us also click on "help" and "how it works" etc. Edit: Definitely read ..."
ok thanks Barbarossa
Goodreads has ads for Bisquick pancakes and all sorts of items not related to books & reading. I think they're trying to get more ads that are related to books/reading but they're dependent somewhat on who wants to advertise here. I don't pay attention to most of the ads. If they're for a book or a movie made from a book, I usually click on those; otherwise, they're just background noise to me.
Fiona wrote: "Barbarossa wrote: "I noticed a lot of "holy wullie" type adverts too recently...pay as much attention to them as I do to spam."
'holy wullie' lol"
See: http://www.worldburnsclub.com/poems/tran...
Barbarossa wrote: "Fiona wrote: "Barbarossa wrote: "I noticed a lot of "holy wullie" type adverts too recently...pay as much attention to them as I do to spam."
'holy wullie' lol"
See: http://www.worldburnsclu..."
Barbarossa - I'm Scottish and obviously well aquainted with the faux-piety of Holy Wullie. Thanks for the link though.
Fiona


