The Next Best Book Club discussion

Looking For Recommendations > Uplifting/Happy books

Comments (showing 1-26 of 26) (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

Christina (meanttolive111) | 99 comments I love a good depressing, thought provoking book, but I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for some more cheerful books - not necessarily just a happy ending, but that may be okay too.

I say this because I'm studying for the NY Bar and am getting stressed out; I was going to read "My Sister's Keeper" but decided I didn't feel like adding to my depression lol.

If you could go through my book list to see what I like that would be even better! Thanks. :)

message 2: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (TNBBC) | 8496 comments Mod
Uplifting, huh? Have you read any Christopher Moore? He's hilarious. Stupidest Angel and A Dirty Job are my favorites from him.

Missy (missy_v) | 4 comments Hi Christina!

I am another one studying for the bar that would appreciate book suggestions of this type.

Meera Hi Christina, I'm recommending The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. There are sad moments because it deals with WWII but it is generally uplifting and has a happy ending.

Abigail (42stitches) | 360 comments I saw that Watership Down was on your to-read list, you may want to look that up. It's oddly dramatic and suspenseful but uplifting overall.

Mary | 203 comments I took a quick look at your to-read list and I recommend Holes, featuring a main character with determination and inner strength and Me Talk Pretty One Day which will make you laugh out loud. Good luck with the Bar Exam!

Gloria (GloriasBooks) | 11 comments oh I agree...Me Talk Pretty One Day is a great book for cheering the spirit. Enjoy!

Laurie | 24 comments ooh, The Princess Bride would be pretty cheerful! It's a good one to lose yourself in and there is a bunch of stuff in the book that's not in the movie.