The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

General Chat > Why do you like mysteries?

Comments (showing 1-50 of 168) (168 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by Hayes, Co-Moderator (new)

Hayes (Hayes13) | 2063 comments Mod
Always a good question!

I love them because they appeal to my desire to have things in order (and I am so disorganized!). In the story there is chaos, and then someone comes along and puts everything right, the bad guy (or girl) gets caught and sent to prison and everyone lives happily ever after... well almost.

How about you? Why do you love them?

Fiona (bookcoop) I'm quite new to them - I think tend to go more towards the darker morbid side rather then comfy little whodunnits.

I have always liked crime dramas, even comfy whodunnits though I never much likes Morse.

I liked Midsommer Murders (quite silly but so good lol) and Waking the Dead and Silent Witness and any other series or one off crime dramas out there.

I grew up on Agatha Christie's Poirot and Miss Marple on TV. My mum loves crime mysteries and that's why I watched a lot of them. She stopped me watching more darker psychological thrillers unfortunately.

But I never thought of actually READING them until lately. I have decided to read more crime in the past year. In part that's why I created this group. Not because I'm a crime-geek but because I wanted a group that I liked, with people in it that I liked and there wasn't one really. Not that suited me.

I'm interested I suppose in crime, in why people do it and how it is solved. I like the characters, I like the propulsion of the storyline, usually fast moving and page turners. I like the suspense.

I have yet to read one I don't like actually which is a good sign. I like the character dynamics and the darkness and ominous story lines.

It's even better reading them then watching!

I can't wait to read more forensic novels like Cornwell and I think Kathy Reichs is another one... or was it Slaughter I can't remember.