Children's Books discussion

Books for Specific Age-Groups > ideas for a 9 year old boy?

Comments (showing 1-32 of 32) (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

Tina Dalton (vulcangirl) I'm trying to encourage my 9 year old son to read more on his own. He loves for me to read to him, but rarely will choose to read to himself. I've implemented a new rule: he must read before he can play video games. He grouched at first, but soon found a Pokemon book that he ended up spending 30 minutes with.

I'd like to get some more books that he'd be interested in. Recently we've read The Spiderwick Chronicles and the Tale of Despearuex as our bedtime stories. He loves these, and they hold his attention. Does anyone have some suggestions along these same lines?

Thanks! btw, I'm new to goodreads and this group. I love both :)

Tina

Kim I LOVED Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh. That was so wonderful. Is he too young for Redwall at this point? I can't remember the age range on that. I remember also really liking Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Harriet the Spy and Frecklejuice at that age. And the Phantom Tollbooth. And Island of the Blue Dolphins. And Call of the Wild. And...:-)

Cheryl Whitfield (gonealthetime) Using reading shouldn't be use as an either or or option. Reading books should be something that is enjoyed by the entire family. Reading to your child is something that is timeless. Hearing stories read is the best way to share the love of reading. Maybe he can read to you and other members of the family. "Making" reading a rule devalues reading, especially when it has to compete with technology. It creates a bad light on something so important. Please continue to read to your son. This bonding time is priceless. You are making memories with him and teaching him something that he will one day share with his own children.

message 4: by Vanessa (last edited Feb 05, 2008 04:16AM) (new)