Children's Books discussion

Books for Specific Age-Groups > Looking for 2nd Grade Read-Alouds!

Comments (showing 1-41 of 41) (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by karen (new)

karen reyes (Ancientreader) Hi. I'm a 2nd grade teacher and I'm always looking for good read alouds. They can be picture books or chapter books. The key is good writing! If you have suggestions or favorites please tell us! Thanks a ton.

Karen

message 2: by Amy (new)

Amy Lindsay some favorites: Thunder Rose, Brothers of the Knight, My Feet Are Laughing, Click Clack Moo, Scaredy Squirrel, and Bark George, Bark

message 3: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl Whitfield (gonealthetime) yes. On the web try to google: Making Meaning, and In the book. Both of these will take you to a site that lists read alouds that can be used to teach comprehension strategies. They also have plans that can be used with the read alouds.

message 4: by Rachael (new)

Rachael When I was in 2nd grade, our teacher read Mrs. Piggle Wiggle to the class.

message 5: by Sydney (new)

Sydney (SydneySalter) My 2nd grader is currently reading Candyfloss by Jacqueline Wilson and LOVES it. She especially loves the British words. It's a great story about friendship and family.

message 6: by Kay (new)

Kay (BukWyrm) I work in the children's section of a bookstore. Once a year I read at a local school. One year I read "a mouse called wolf" by Dick King-Smith to first graders. They were entranced.

message 7: by Cheryl (new)