Challenge: 50 Books discussion

Non - Fiction Recommendations

Comments (showing 1-45 of 45) (45 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Faye (last edited Mar 26, 2009 06:20PM) (new)

Faye | 668 comments Mod
Hey. I noticed that many of you, like me, have consumed a lot of fluffy fiction so far this year (Sookie Stackhouse, anyone?) which I don't feel one bit guilty about :) However, I lose interest in reading if it becomes too much of the same old, so I like to mix it up a bit.

Last year I read a ton of non-fiction for work (I'm an HR Manager,) which is why I think it's been such a trashy read year for me so far. Now that I'm ready to diversify back into some more non-fiction do you have any recommendations?

Here are my fave picks from the past:

Easy, fun, make you think different non-fiction:
The Tipping Point
Outliers
Freakonomics Rev Ed A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything

Inspiring make you think about making yourself a better person non-fiction:
Now, Discover Your Strengths
First, Break All the Rules What the World's Greatest Managers Do Differently
Crucial Conversations Tools for Talking When Stakes are High
The SPEED of Trust The One Thing that Changes Everything

Really interesting, glad I read it, but tougher reading non-fiction:
What Is America? A Short History of the New World Order
The Sexual Paradox Extreme Men, Gifted Women and the Real Gender Gap

Non-fiction that's caught my eye, but I haven't read (have you?):
The Black Swan The Impact of the Highly Improbable
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee An Indian History of the American West

I hope these recommendations bring you some brainy pleasure. Cheers.

Cecilia (cissygold) Here is a great non-fiction book. It is a crime mystery, which not too many people know about but it did inspire one of the greatest crime novel series.

The Monster of Florence
by Douglas Preston, Mario Spezi

If nothing else, it will make you appreciate our criminal justice system.