Of Mice and Men Of Mice and Men discussion

Drama in storytelling: what contemporary writers can learn from Steinbeck

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tim Weed I think this novelette is nearly perfect in terms of what it does with storytelling drama. If you're a writer, you can learn a great deal from Steinbeck. Here's my analysis: http://bit.ly/Tp1Ztf

What do you think?

message 2: by VJ (new) - rated it 3 stars

VJ I will have to read this novelette again with your analysis at my elbow. I'm a novice writer and I appreciate your advice and understandable explanation of the need for drama as well as instruction about from where it should flow.

Walter Ullon Great analysis. I have to agree, drama works as long as it's genuine, and the reason Steinbeck did it so well it's because his characters were inherently flawed, and that's the seed of it isn't it?

Private ambitions, jealousies, deficiencies, naivete, etc, are all hard-wired into the personal destinies of each of his characters, which in turn humanizes them and their plight. He was truly a master.

Monty J Heying Excellent analysis of the use of drama. Tension on the page. Interwoven character needs and conflict. OMM has it all.

Gregory Rothbard To name their vehicle after certain heroic creatures, thinking of Rocinante in Charley and Me, and the fact that his beat up car is named Rocinante. The name fits very well. (BTW Rocinante was the name of Don Quixote's faithful horse.)

message 6: by Tim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tim Weed Thanks all, I appreciate the positive feedback. OMM is an instructive example, the more so because of its brevity and clarity as a narrative.

Michael Sussman Nice article.
Steinbeck was my favorite author growing up, and I still love to reread his novels.
Check out the 1992 film version of Of Mice and Men, staring John Malkovich as Lenny. It's spectacular.