Sue Smith's Reviews > Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3583076
's review
Nov 06, 12

bookshelves: re-read, books-read-in-2010, books-read-in-2011
Read from November 01, 2011 to November 06, 2012

Always a favorite. When you realize the twists and turns of the plot, you really understand J K Rowlings genius! It never gets old either. Always worth the re read!

I also love how J K Rowling makes you understand that Harry doesn't find any of it easy - that the clues aren't just sitting there and it's 'magically' resolved even though it's in a magical environment. It's still the choices that are made that define who you are and what you'll do. Everyone is so captivated by the magic that the human element is often forgotten - and it's the more important of the two.

Read Nov 7 - Nov 17, 2010
Read Nov 1 - Nov 9, 2011
Read Oct 29 - Nov 6, 2012
Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

11/08/2010 page 18
5.0%
10/29/2012 page 20
7.0% "Just starting year 2 ......"
10/31/2012 page 93
37.0% "I love how clever JK Rowling reintroduces the key points of book 1 without rushing it or brushing them off. It makes the transition into book 2 so much more enjoyable without feeling like you're rereading something over. and over. A lot of these YA series authors could take a lesson on that actually."
11/02/2012 page 160
63.0% "Harry is awesome!!!"
show 10 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Mikela You have to admire the genius of JK Rowling's books that got a whole generation of young people excited about reading but also enthralled adults. I agree about the re read.


message 2: by Sue (new) - rated it 5 stars

Sue Smith The plot weaving is genius - and I really love how she hasn't 'dumbed' down the whole story line for kids. I think that's why everyone really likes them. One of my all time favorites to be sure!


back to top