Josh's Reviews > As a Driven Leaf

As a Driven Leaf by Milton Steinberg
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
652199
's review
Dec 02, 07

bookshelves: judaism, fiction, religion, my-favorite-books-ever
Recommended for: Fans of Robert Graves, Chaim Potok and scholars of modern American Judaism.
Read in November, 2007

Cross My Name Is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok and I, Claudius by Robert Graves and you'll get Milton Steinberg's As a Driven Leaf. It combines a well-researched history of Roman Palestine with a deep and insightful understanding of Greek philosophy and rabbinic Judaism to create a moving narrative that alludes to the religious and cultural dilemmas of modern American Judiaism. The conditions of Hellenism and the journey of Elisha ben-Abuyah mirror current concerns over assimilation, faith and doubt, religious reform and imperialism, making this book just as relevant now as it was in 1939.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read As a Driven Leaf.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.