Shawna's Reviews > Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart by Sarah MacLean
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1802746
's review
May 07, 11

bookshelves: historical-romance, historical-romance-regency, sarah-maclean, brothers-sisters-cousins-family, hero-or-heroine-italian, hh-aristocracy-nobility-royalty, hero-darcy-paragon-haughty-staid, series-love-by-numbers-ralstons, enemies-to-lovers-opposites-attract, hero-duke-heir-to-dukedom, heroine-badgirl-improper-scandalous, rt-book-reviews-top-pick, 2011-reads, 5-stars-or-higher, best-faves-of-2011, best-top-favorites, i-read-own-faves-keepers, hero-gentleman, hero-redeems-himself-reformed, wager, favorite-romance-series, favorites, heroine-naïve-virgin-like-a-virgin, love-triangle-vying-courtships, angsty-dark-heavy-lotsa-drama, cheating-hearts-fidelity-issues, favorite-love-scenes-hottest-nookie, favorite-romance-couple-hh-pairings, hero-alpha‎, hero-attractive-handsome-heartthrob, hero-brooding, hero-cold-cruelbrute-dark-dangerous, hero-or-heroine-illegitimate, heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape, heroine-beautiful-bombshell, heroine-i-adore, heroine-kickass-spirited-strong, hh-across-the-tracks, hh-social-class-wealth-matters, humorous-at-times-or-fluffy-fun, star-crossed-lovers, steam-2-warm, sweet-romance-left-smile-on-my-face, hero-im-gaga-over, best-wittiest-banter-dialogue, heroine-commoner-lower-class, hero-titled-wealthy-lord, heroine-plucky-lively-feisty-spunky, heroine-in-pursuit, hero-marriage-wife-hunting, hero-starchy-loosen-up-buttons-babe, a-all-time-best-of-best-fave-dik, a-all-time-best-top-50-fave-dik
Recommended for: Any historical/regency & 'opposites attract' romance fan!
Read from April 26 to 27, 2011

5+ stars – Historical/Regency Romance

Eleven Ways to Adore the Book That Made Me Want More
Eleven Ways to Admire a Heroine With Such Fire
Eleven Ways to Croon Over the Duke Who Made Me Swoon
Eleven Ways to Rave Over a Heroine Most Brave
Eleven Ways to Gush About My Latest Crush
Eleven Ways to Be Naughty to Tempt a Duke Who’s Haughty

Okay...there’s no way I can come up with eleven of those, but you get the jest.

There just aren’t enough words or ways to convey how much I loved this book. I had very high expectations, and I’m thrilled to say that it left a big happy satisfied smile on my face. I love ‘opposites attract’ stories and the romance between passionate, feisty, spitfire Juliana and the haughty, proper, disdainful Duke of Leighton was pure combustible magic!

Juliana Fiori is a fiery Italian miss who longs to break free of the stifling rules and cutting gossip of the ton and the unfeeling, stuffy, arrogant Duke of Leighton represents everything she loathes about English society and propriety. Scandalous Juliana is bold, brash, reckless, expressive, outspoken, and deeply passionate...everything that the Duke of Leighton wants desperately to avoid.

With a family legacy to uphold and shocking secrets to protect, Leighton values his prestigious title, sterling reputation, and impeccable position in society above all else. So his intense attraction to Juliana is unbearable and unwanted. Leighton’s scorn makes Juliana seethe with frustration and hurt, and she’s determined to prove to him that passion is more powerful than the Duke’s status and rules of decorum. Juliana is the perfect match that ignites the banked fire inside Simon, and their volatile connection threatens to shatter the Duke of Disdain’s staunchly guarded control.

It’s a wonderful, engaging, emotional, utterly enjoyable, and unforgettable romance with witty dialogue, hot sexual tension, the perfect combination of drama and humor, a lovable, brave yet vulnerable heroine, and a sexy hero whose aloof, haughty veneer masks a passionate man. I loved it just as much, if not more than, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake. It’s a definite keeper worthy of very big 5 stars! I really hope this isn’t the last book of the series because Benedick and Georgiana need their own stories and HEAs.

Juliana (Italian actress Monica Bellucci)

Photobucket

Simon (Model Gabriel Aubry)

Photobucket

70 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart.
sign in »

Quotes Shawna Liked

Sarah MacLean
“I . . . hit him . . . elsewhere.”
“Where?”
“In his . . .In his inguine.”
“Oh, dear God.” It was unclear whether Ralston’s words were meant as prayer or blasphemy.
What was clear was that the woman was a gladiator.
“He called me a pie!” she announced, defensively. There was a pause. “Wait. That’s not right.”
“A tart?”
“Yes! That’s it!” She registered her brother’s fists and looked to Simon. “I see that it is not a compliment.”
“No. It is not.”
Sarah MacLean, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart

Sarah MacLean
“You think my feelings toward you apathetic? You think you bore me?”
“Don’t I?”
He shook his head slowly, continuing toward her, stalking her in the small space.
“No.God knows you are infuriating . . And impulsive . . .” Her back came up against the wall, and she gave a little squeak, even as he advanced. “And altogether maddening . . .” He placed one hand to her jaw, carefully lifting her face to his, feeling the leap of her pulse under his fingertips. “And thoroughly intoxicating . . .” The last came out on a low growl, and her lips parted, soft and pink and perfect.
He leaned close, his lips a fraction from hers.
“No . . . you are not boring.”
Sarah MacLean, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart

You are my siren,” he said, running his hands along her thighs and down her
“You are my siren,” he said, running his hands along her thighs and down her calves, feeling the shape of her even as the silk of her gown kept them both from what they wanted. “My temptress . . . my sorceress . . . I cannot resist you, no matter how I try. You threaten to send me over the edge.”
Sarah MacLean, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart

Sarah MacLean
“Un momento con una donna capricciosa vale undici anni di vita noiosa.

A single moment with a fiery female is worth eleven years of a boring life.”
Sarah MacLean, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart

Sarah MacLean
“You are beautiful and brilliant and bold and so very passionate about life and love and those things that you believe in. And you taught me that everything I believed, everything I thought I wanted, everything I had spent my life espousing--all of it...it is wrong. I want your version of life...vivid and emotional and messy and wonderful and filled with happiness. But I cannot have it without you.”
Sarah MacLean, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart


Reading Progress

04/27/2011 page 261
68.0% "I'm loving this!" 5 comments
04/28/2011 page 384
100.0% "Wonderful! *sigh*" 1 comment

Comments (showing 1-50 of 80) (80 new)


Auntee We're you able to get this from NetGalley?


Shawna I haven't requested it, yet. I'm waiting until NetGalley reinstates the Kindle reading option. :)


Dina Auntee, were you able to get it from NetGalley? My request was politley denied yesterday. :(


♡Karlyn P♡ Shawna wrote: "I haven't requested it, yet. I'm waiting until NetGalley reinstates the Kindle reading option. :)"

I'd love to get this one too, but HarperCollins will denie my request too. They always do. BTW, Netgalley announced that they should have the Kindle button back in March.


Auntee Denied. HarperCollins doesn't like me either.:(
I'm glad that Kindle button is coming back! I didn't want to read Harvest Moon on the computer.


Dina I bet they like Harriet Klausner. Bah!


Shawna I've requested this, but I'm not feeling very optimistic 'cause HarperCollins has denied me in the past, too. YAY for the Kindle feature returning to NG!


message 8: by seton (new) - added it

seton Hmmm, well, I would ask, except that it's on my Avoid List.
I havent been denied by Harpercollins yet. But then again, I rarely ask to read their books.


message 9: by Auntee (last edited Feb 10, 2011 11:23AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Auntee I think HarperCollins wants you to either be a professional reviewer, a blogger, active on Face Book and Twitter...or Ms. Harriet. I'm nothing but an amateur reviewer without much influence on the book buying public, so I guess I'm SOL on this one.:)


message 10: by Shawna (last edited Feb 10, 2011 11:39AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shawna Cheer up, Charlie (*sings song from Willy Wonka*)...You influence my book buying plenty, much to the dismay of my bank account. :)


message 11: by MelissaB (new) - added it

MelissaB Auntee - you have influenced my book buying many times!

What exactly is Net Galley? Apparently I live in a cave cause I don't know.


message 12: by willaful (last edited Feb 10, 2011 11:49AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

willaful I haven't had the nerve to request anything from NetGalley yet, or even fill out the info form. They make it sound like you have to be affiliated with a blog or something, but surely not everyone has a blog? A company name is required but I have no company!


message 13: by Auntee (last edited Feb 10, 2011 11:54AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Auntee NetGalley is a place where you can get free e-ARCs of upcoming books in many genres (including romance). You do have to do a little work--fill out an info form, create a bio to show where you review books (you can include GoodReads and Amazon if you don't have a blog) and then (hopefully) they'll approve you. Then you can 'request' books from various publishers. Some of the publishers are more strict than others (Harper Collins is strict; Harlequin seems to be more lenient), and they like you to review the book at NetGalley and to show a link for where else the review appears.

BTW, I don't have a blog and they approved me!:O

I'm glad I've influenced a few of you into the poor house with me!:)


message 14: by MelissaB (new) - added it

MelissaB Ahhh I see. Thanks Auntee! I am too lazy to do that, especially when I am already drowning in books (help!).


willaful So what did you put for your company name?


message 16: by seton (new) - added it

seton Willa - For myself, I own a company so I used that.


♡Karlyn P♡ seton wrote: "Willa - For myself, I own a company so I used that."

I was told by HC that they have a pre-approved list of people who will get one of their books. I assume it is primarily for librarians, bloggers and such. HQN and Carina Press approves me every time though.


Auntee willaful wrote: "So what did you put for your company name?"

I left that blank.:)


willaful It has a * next to it as a required field, so I didn't think I could. Will try it, I guess.


willaful Nope, it insists on having one. :-(


Auntee Really? It has a *?


message 22: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa I think you can just use your name, but with a period inbetween the first and last name...something like that. Thats what I did when I signed up...somewhere it said that was ok I believe. Firstname.lastname Maybe that will work?


♡Karlyn P♡ willaful wrote: "Nope, it insists on having one. :-("

I typed in 'no company'


Auntee Okay, I just checked mine--you're right--it is a required field. I had typed "none" where it asked for company name. I guess that was acceptable!:)


message 25: by Rane (new) - added it

Rane I recently requested to be on Avon list (again) and got a second consideration email from a Pamela Spengler-Jaffee. I used my goodreads account as my blog ‏


message 26: by Dina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dina Oooh, let us know if you're approved, Rane. Then we'll just copy whatever you did and hope to be approved too. :)


Auntee What's the Avon list Rane?


message 28: by Dina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dina Isn't Avon an imprint of HarperCollins?


message 29: by Rane (last edited Feb 10, 2011 06:50PM) (new) - added it

Rane Auntee wrote: "What's the Avon list Rane?"

The Avon list is approved reviewers and such Auntee, they seem to want alot of info, like if you'll review their books (perhaps to many requests and not enough reviews?) your book reach, your underwear color..hehehe! :P (j/k)
I'm hoping am approved as there's alot of books I love to check out- I'll keep everyone updated about the approve

Just checked out the newsletter and the kindle option will be back up in march yay!


♡Karlyn P♡ Rane wrote: "Auntee wrote: "What's the Avon list Rane?"

The Avon list is approved reviewers and such Auntee, they seem to want alot of info, like if you'll review their books (perhaps to many requests and no..."


If you figure out the magic sauce Rane, let us know! :-) I've tried a few things (short of lying, I wont go there...) but so far they seem to think we don't offer them any value. (eye roll!!))


message 31: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa I dont know how I got on Avons ok list...I think I slipped through but I feel a bit bad b/c so many of you write much better reviews than I do and def influence readers (including me)! I do have a blog, but all I do is copy what I post here on there, nothing special. I guess that was enough? I don't know, I'm just happy everytime I get an approval from them but I wish I could share


message 32: by Dina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dina Lisa, were you approved on your first request or did you have to "present your case" (so to speak) to convince them?


message 33: by seton (new) - added it

seton Lisa wrote: "I dont know how I got on Avons ok list...I think I slipped through but I feel a bit bad b/c so many of you write much better reviews than I do and def influence readers (including me)! I do have a..."


think it's the blog. if ur a blogger, ur a blogger.


message 34: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Dina, the first one I requested was rejected b/c I had not been active on my blog for awhile due to work but I started posting to it again and tried again a couple months later and then they approved the request and now the HC and Hqn are in my 'community' and I have been ok.


message 35: by Dina (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dina Thanks for the info, Lisa. It looks like having an active blog closes the deal with HC. Oh well, I guess they'll never approve my requests. C'est la vie.


Diana~ Lucky you Shawna! I'll be getting this tomorrow. :)


Fiona Goodman Buying it now!


message 38: by Ruth (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ruth I'm really looking forward to this one.. On the NetGalley deal, I applied for a few books, and got blown out every time. It just seemed like such an effort to me, and actually a huge turn-off. The way it was set up implied that you had to be a professional reviewer rather than someone who just loves reading books and tries to write fair reviews. In the end, I just cancelled my account.


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker Ruth wrote: "I'm really looking forward to this one.. On the NetGalley deal, I applied for a few books, and got blown out every time. It just seemed like such an effort to me, and actually a huge turn-off. Th..."

I'm not a professional reviewer by any means. I don't even have my own book blog. However, I seem to have really good luck on NetGalley. I've only been turned down by Dorchester Publishing. I'm not sure if NetGalley will continue to be so generous with me since someone will eventually realize my reviews are not very well written. LOL

I'f you go to the section "What are Publishers Looking For", you'll see a section under HarperCollings that says you must put a URL for where you post your reviews in the company field in the public profile. Maybe that will help some of you that get turned down and you aren't sure why.


message 40: by Ruth (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ruth Thanks for that, Michelle.

Maybe I'll go back and redo it, now they have kindle books available. I'm super-busy with work and other stuff at the moment, so I don't really have time to do the application justice. Maybe when I get a moment's peace I'll try again...


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker Ruth wrote: "Thanks for that, Michelle.

Maybe I'll go back and redo it, now they have kindle books available. I'm super-busy with work and other stuff at the moment, so I don't really have time to do the a..."


Hopefully it works for you, they do have great stuff on NetGalley.


message 42: by Ruth (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ruth I know. I just hated the way it felt like you had to be an "insider" to be able to apply, as though we mere mortals, who could barely read were not good enough to play in the games with the big kids..

Or maybe I was just having a really crappy day... ;-)


Michelle, the Bookshelf Stalker Ruth wrote: "I know. I just hated the way it felt like you had to be an "insider" to be able to apply, as though we mere mortals, who could barely read were not good enough to play in the games with the big ki..."

I felt that way but applied and put all the information in. I figured I'd be turned down for everything since I'm definitely a mere mortal and definitely an outsider. However, I was surpised when I was accepted for almost all that I requested. In fact, I quickly figured out that I had requested way too many (thinking I'd get turned down for most) since now that they approved me, I was way over my head in reading books! It's a good thing I read really fast! LOL


message 44: by Ruth (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ruth I was surpised when I was accepted for almost all that I requested... I quickly figured out that I had requested way too many

OK. It was really probably the very crappy day thing happening with me...


message 45: by Shawna (last edited Apr 30, 2011 08:42AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shawna I was disappointed that I didn't get it early from NetGalley, but it was well worth the wait and paying $7.99. I LOVED it! Simon and Juliana are such a fun, sexy couple!


Auntee Ooooh, lovin' the review and the pics, Shawna! I'm going to start this one next, but I'm having trouble remembering (of course!)--was Leighton in the other books?


message 47: by Juliana (new) - added it

Juliana Great review and I can't wait to read this book. I know I've already written this a thousand times in different Goodreads comments, but am so excited (!) that there is finally a heroine named Juliana!!! I feel like I'll enjoy it that much more because I can just pretend it's me, lolol.


message 48: by Juliana (new) - added it

Juliana And beautiful choice - Monica Bellucci is unbelievably gorgeous!!


message 49: by Shawna (last edited Apr 30, 2011 09:10AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shawna Thanks, Auntee! You'll love this! Yes, Leighton was the man Juliana flirted with in the book shop in "Nine Rules...xxx" and the brother of one of the girls at Minerva House in "Ten Ways...xxx".

Thanks, Juliana! Yep...she's such feisty heroine! I just loved her! I thought Monica was a perfect casting choice because she has that knockout, bombshell, exotic beauty.


Auntee Thanks Shawna! I'm going to dig those books out and read those scenes to refresh my memory.:)


« previous 1
back to top