oliviasbooks's Reviews > Water for Elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2843533
's review
Jan 22, 11

bookshelves: contemporary_fiction, historical-fiction, read-2011, love-story-romance, stays-with-me, low-expectations, male-point-of-view, love-triangle, favorites-of-2011, scb-challenge-2011, adult-fiction
Recommended to oliviasbooks by: Morgan, Tina, Kim
Read from January 17 to 21, 2011, read count: 1

This is one of those books I would not have read without the "help" of Goodreads. A lot of my friends here had been reading it last year and discussed it again and again. It made me curious and I picked up a battered and cheap copy at some point thinking "Well, at this price it won't hurt to give it a go". After the purchase my poor copy slumbered for a few months on my to-read shelf - wedged between constantly changing neighbors whose attention-clamoring-skills were somehow better attuned to my appetite. The book was brave, though. It hung patiently on to its backseat-position and awaited its turn with unwavering faith in its own secret superiority. Which it has proven: I was challenged to read this book by my Goodreads friend Tina last week. With a firm finger she pointed at "Water for Elephants" leaving no doubt that it would be just the thing I needed to savor. She was absolutely right. What a delightful novel! What an unexpected and wonderful ending. It was the kind of ending readers like me always secretly hope for but know that most authors are too chicken to produce because the literary world might label them sentimental, fairytale-addicted or unrealistic.

Thank you, Tina, for picking this out for me and thank you, Morgan, for scolding me months ago when we were sharing photos of our TBR piles at the Corner.

TBR Pile Reduction Challenge 2011 Book #4 (challenger: Tina)

14 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Water for Elephants.
sign in »

Reading Progress

01/17/2011 page 15
5.0% "The beginning is promising." 4 comments
01/18/2011 page 79
24.0% "Still like it."
01/19/2011 page 183
55.0% "Still hooked." 2 comments
01/20/2011 page 298
90.0% "Oh no. No Walter..."
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-18)




dateUp_arrow    newest »

Janina It's exactly the same for me. Only that I haven't had the time to read it yet ... ;).


~Tina~ Yay's!! I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed Jacob's story. This was such a wonderful read:)


oliviasbooks Janina wrote: "It's exactly the same for me. Only that I haven't had the time to read it yet ... ;)."

Ahhh. Then let's hope that that part will be the same for you, too. I am quite positive of that, though.


Morgan F Oh, yeah....I forgot I did that. :)


message 14: by Nic (new)

Nic Great review Olivia. Will have to find a copy :)


~Tina~ Read this Nic!!


message 12: by oliviasbooks (last edited Jan 21, 2011 02:28PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

oliviasbooks There is a super cheap edition coming up because of the movie. And it's 25% reduced on top at TBD, Nic: http://www.bookdepository.com/book/97...


message 11: by Nic (last edited Jan 21, 2011 02:54PM) (new)

Nic Tina, do you think I will like it ;)

Thanks Olivia but I don't know if I want that cover. I will just imagine Rob and Reese but then again it is only $6.11. I like this cover Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen the best which they don't have in stock! What to do!


message 10: by oliviasbooks (last edited Jan 21, 2011 02:58PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

oliviasbooks Oh, they do, Nic. It's the British edition, so you have to switch to the UK TBD. I've just ordered it, because I want a nice copy to keep: http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/book/...


message 9: by Nic (last edited Jan 21, 2011 03:07PM) (new)

Nic Oh yay! Okay must order it. It sucks it is double the price though. Thanks Olivia :)


Nomes fab review :)

i've just reserved this at my library ~ only 2nd in the queue.

is there a US book depository? i only use the UK one...

and the UK cover is SO very funky


~Tina~ Yes Nic! I think you will really enjoy this book. I know that it doesn't sound like your cup of tea, cause that's how I felt, but I strongly believe you will fall in love with Jacob, not in a lusting way, but in a very endearing way.
I read this at my lib, but that movie tie-in edition is the cover I've been waiting for!!!! XD


Flannery Great review, Olivia! I loved this one as well:-) Especially the ending.


oliviasbooks Nomes wrote: "fab review :)

i've just reserved this at my library ~ only 2nd in the queue.

is there a US book depository? i only use the UK one...

and the UK cover is SO very funky"


It always pays to compare prices and availability. Often the books from British Publishers are available (and at .com not in stock) at the.co.uk site and also cheaper, whereas the US publications are cheaper at the .com site usually.


message 4: by oliviasbooks (last edited Jan 22, 2011 04:55AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

oliviasbooks But I really don't know why they have two sites at all considering that they both ship to all corners of the globe. The support email is the same and the persons who reply as well.


message 3: by Teccc (new)

Teccc I would assume that this is for tax reasons: Maybe the US site also has a registered office in the US and thus can bypass some taxes on imports? Just a guess...


message 2: by Arlene (new)

Arlene Great review Olivia. I have a copy of this book too. I must read it before the movie comes out.


~Tina~ Yes, Arlene. Read this!!


back to top