Drebbles's Reviews > 44 Cranberry Point

44 Cranberry Point by Debbie Macomber
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Mar 11, 2010

liked it
bookshelves: 2006
Read in October, 2006

"44 Cranberry Point", the fourth book in Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, focuses mainly on solving the mystery of the man who died while staying at Bob and Peggy Beldon's Bed and Breakfast. Cedar Cove in general is excited about a "dog and bachelor" auction fundraiser, but several of the residents also have other things on their mind. Jon Bowman and Maryellen Sherman are in love and have a child, but disagree about Jon's relationship with his parents. Grace Sherman is still dealing with the consequences of her on-line romance with Will Jefferson, and wondering if Cliff Harding will ever forgive her. Newly married Olivia and Jack Griffin are struggling to adapt to each other's lifestyles - she's a neat freak and he's a slob, plus she worries about his eating habits. And who is sending Roy McAfee those mysterious messages?

Out of the four books I've read so far in Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, I liked this one the best. I enjoyed the plot line about the man who died while staying at the B & B, although the identity of the murderer was pretty obvious. Macomber does a great job describing Bob Beldon's struggle with alcoholism, especially at one point when he almost gives in to his cravings. Other characters are equally well written especially Jon Bowman and his troubled relationship with his parents. Macomber introduces several new characters and sets up an interesting love triangle between hairdresser Rachel, single dad Bruce, and navy man Nate, who has a girlfriend back home. Finally, she ends the book with a cliffhanger, which makes me want to immediately pick up the next book in the series.

"44 Cranberry Point" is a nice, cozy read.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read 44 Cranberry Point.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.