Charles's Reviews > The Woman Warrior

The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
M_50x66
's review
Mar 11, 10


The book Woman Warrior is by Maxine Hong Kingston. The book focuses on the stories of five different women symbolizing the author, herself, and the woman in her stories. All five of these stories are separated into five separate chapters. Each chapter of the book combines Kingston’s own experiences with a many of the stories her mother told her, which were the myths and history of China (Kingston’s home country). Maxine Hong Kingston writes Woman Warrior as an autobiography since it’s about her and she is the one writing it. Autobiographies, usually give the general gist of what the person was experiencing during there life. This book gives the reader something different from reading it. It combines the stories that Maxine has heard before with her life. Her stories are meant to explain why she has had trouble speaking in American schools. This book is mainly about Kingston trying to understand people in her family and the reader through stories. This is book for people who enjoy telling people their stories in a form of an autobiography. For readers who enjoyed Edwidge Danticat’s, Krik? Krak! You’ll enjoy how this author ties her stories together as you did Danticat. The only thing is how will she? Overall, I would recommend this book to many who like real-life adventures and don’t mind reading 209 pages of twists and turns through a half mythical, half non-fiction story book.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Woman Warrior.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.