Zeek's Reviews > Loving Lies

Loving Lies by Lora Leigh
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2478293
's review
Jun 15, 2011

liked it
bookshelves: smut, romantica, favorite-author
Read in September, 2006

Loving Lies is the first in the Men of Summer series (which may be called something else now??).

Domineering to the max, The Men of Summer are much the same as the Men of August … except, LL finally lost the dumbass excuse to throw in a threesome. The “brothers” this time don’t have to share their women.

Still holding on to the “loved him all my life” thing, Leigh steps it up over Marly's Choice (Men of August, Book 1) with this one, imo. The story starts off kind of abruptly, and at first I was like, oh hell no, she can’t be throwing us into the sex already?

She was. However, I settled down after I reread the back and realized she was going to tear them apart at some point.

See the thing about me is, I love sexual tension. I eat it up. The “will they? won’t they?” thing gets me every time, even tho I know they eventually "will". Throwing the hero and heroine together immediately, even though the author has given them a history together … just doesn’t work for me. (C'mon- the reader hasn’t shared in on the falling in love so it doesn’t count! Amanda Quick did this with one of the last books I read by her and it quickly became a dnf- big time.)

BUT, as I said, she tore them apart soon enough so it was all good.

One thing that made me wrinkle my nose in this story was the fact that these boys are a bit rednecky (they hang out at a campsite all summer?! Who the eff does that now-a-days?) So the excuse LL gave for Slade leaving Jessie didn’t work the best for me. (A redneck FBI agent? Yeah ok. - Then again what a great cover! Who would ever think Larry the Cable Guy of being an agent? Yep, could be the perfect cover!)

Still, it didn't wash for me.

But I tossed that aside because, Hello? Alpha? Steamy sex anyone? And I simply had to know how Jessie was going to react when Slade came back in her life. Would she give in immediately? Would she fight till the last?

You’re just going to have to read to find out.

Warning: this book contains lots of steamy, hot lovin', All told in graphic, contemporary language.
14 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Loving Lies.
Sign In »

Comments (showing 1-46 of 46) (46 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Willow (new) - added it

Willow Brook I don't think she ever wrote a second in this series, did she? Unless it was in an anthology or something. I stll haven't read this one for some reason.


Zeek deh- some really like it. I believe i read somewhere that plans on writing two more but i think she was calling the series something else... honestly i only ever really read her Breeds series anymore.


message 3: by Willow (new) - added it

Willow Brook I definitely like her Breeds books the best, though I didn't care for Cabal's or Jonas' stories. I don't think there is any excuse for some of the unedited nonsense she turned out during her rough personal patch, but when she is at her best, I love het books.


Zeek agreed altho i was one of the few who loved jonas's book! :)


message 5: by Willow (new) - added it

Willow Brook Some people did, I know. I still bitterly resent LL for what she did to him, LOL.


Zeek lol! I know, I know- It coulda been better I guess, but anything with him in it was soooo good as far as I was concerned. Plus I couldnt put it down, that's always a good read to me!


Rebecca I liked Jonas book as well and I have been waiting like forever for her to write the next book for the men of summer.

I had asked her in an email she did say she intended to just need to have the time, and that was at least a year ago.


message 8: by Katherine (new) - added it

Katherine Awww, poor Larry. lol
He can multitask lmao!


Zeek LOL! He does make me laugh! :D


message 10: by Jen (last edited Jun 09, 2011 11:11AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jen I agree this one was typical LL but for some reason I can't stop reading her books. Take the Breed series for example, do the books ever change? Not really. Yet 23 books in I still come back for more!

Nice review!


message 11: by Zeek (last edited Jun 09, 2011 12:02PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek Breeds are a whole other erm- animal- for me, pardon the pun. :P I love those damn books.


message 12: by Jen (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jen Zeek wrote: "Breeds are a while other erm- animal- for me, pardon the pun. :P I love those damn books."

I KNOW!! Me too. And I can't figure out why!


message 13: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek who are we kidding its the "you're my mate" thing. ugh

haha!


message 14: by Jen (new) - rated it 3 stars

Jen HA!! You are so right. They had me at mate.


Buggy Great review Zeek, You gave me a laugh. Redneck FBI Yeah that was abit OTT however I really liked this one, Mostly because they get torn apart. I love the heartbreakers


Vashti This was the 1st LL that I read, did enjoy it....keep comming back for more of her books always, enjoyed your review.


message 17: by Zeek (last edited Jun 13, 2011 11:49AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek Thanks Buggy & Vashti- yeah she's def. not a polished writer- but something about her men keep me coming back! :P


message 18: by Katherine (new) - added it

Katherine Maybe because they are beyond hot?? lol

I like her Bound Hearts series.
Very yummy.


message 19: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 09:40AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek Never tried the bound hearts yet, but I'm thinking her breeds and Seals are about all the LL I can handle...


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish Great review, Zeek. I haven't ventured into MoA or this one yet. Permanent menage can be tricky for me because I'm always worried that someone is going to be hurt, badly, and I've heard that's the case with MoA. I enjoy menage by other authors, but I'm worried about the perm-menage by LL.


message 21: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 10:43AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek I dont recall any of them getting hurt badly?? August Heat wraps up the series quite differently then it began altho it felt like something she threw out there to appease people like me who didnt get the perm-menage arrangement. I didnt think how LL tried to get the MOA into the menage in the first place made a lick of sense- still dont, and that was the series eventual downfall for me- but... and this is a spoiler... but she did eventually separate them after all of them get their own women. Mostly anyway.

She neednt have bothered imo, people are either gonna like it or not. ::shrug::


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish Really? I heard that one of the women pretty much tore the family apart and they never recovered fully. It's been awhile, and so admittedly I'm kind of foggy on the details, but I know it was this series I was warned off of. Maybe I need to rethink it.

I'll find the reading order somewhere.


message 23: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek LOL! dont rethink it- its not worth it!


message 24: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 10:54AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek oh I bet it's Heather's Gift they're talking about- but I liked that book the best- which isnt saying alot- because she wasnt buying the lameass excuse either! haha!


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish LOL!!!!!!!!!!! But Loving Lies was better? Maybe I'll just start there. I love her Breeds books, and USED to love her TemptingSEALs and EliteOPs until her editing got so bad that I couldn't take it anymore.


message 26: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 11:04AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek Yes it's better- Many gals really liked it in fact!

Yeah her Seal books really took the brunt of my hate in her editing woes altho the latest Breed books have been just as bad. I think what slowed me down on the SEALs ones was the fact that just got flat out boring too! :(

The Breed books I still find interesting even tho she's trotting out the same ol plot AND BAD GUYS over and over now!


message 27: by UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish (last edited Jun 15, 2011 11:06AM) (new)

UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I can't remember the name of the last book, but in my review I went on and on about how the writing sucked. They'd be in conversation and even with only the two of them in the room every sentence would start or end with their name, or I remember one instance when three were standing around talking about what they needed to do next, and person 1 said to person 2 and 3, "We need to get things packed and on the plane..." or something like that, then person 2 repeated the exact thing to person 3 who was standing right there the whole time. Things like that make me BATTY!!!!!!!!!!

Well, battIER.


message 28: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek yeah it's just horrible. Navarro's Promise was missing a whole SCENE and it was obvious! (yet I liked the book- talk about LAME!)


message 29: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 11:13AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek Black Jack was the first Lora Leigh that I finally decided it was not worth forcing my way thru. I gave up almost as soon as I began it. Youd think I would have thrown in the towel with Heath Seeker when SHE SWITCHED NAMES ON THE HEROINE AT THE END OF THE BOOK! But you know I can forgive just about anything but something boring me. And Black Jack was BOR RING. ugh


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I need to read Styx's Storm and Navarro's Promise still. I'm catching up on Bad Moon Rising and No Mercy right now.

I did a Spring Cleaning Reading Challenge devoted to cleaning up series I needed to finish or catch up on, and I've read 33 books and cleaned up 14 series! I only have til the 21st so I had to decide which last 2 to catch up, the Dark Hunters or Breeds, and I chose Breeds.


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish This is my review of Black Jack, if you're interested. The big paragraph is where I was griping about those things.

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/...


message 32: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek oooo I like bad moon rising an awful lot! And No Mercy! but i also like styx's storm and Navarro's book. tough choices there.


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I had an unusually tough time getting into Bad Moon Rising. But now that Fang is unconscious, it's moving along nicely! LOL!


message 34: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek ha! yep that's the one I threw in the towel on!


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I think I have the next book, but it'll be a lonnnnnnnnnnnnng time before I read it.

I mean, yeah... I know she had some personal issues in her life, and I really do feel for her, but look - she's selling books at full price, which means we should get a professional quality, polished book that HAS ALL THE SCENES!!!!!!!!


message 36: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek UniquelyMoi *~*Dhestiny*~* wrote: "I think I have the next book, but it'll be a lonnnnnnnnnnnnng time before I read it.

I mean, yeah... I know she had some personal issues in her life, and I really do feel for her, but look - she's..."


yep me too!


message 37: by Zeek (last edited Jun 15, 2011 11:27AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek absolutely! and I think the issue is more the fact that she's cranking SO many series and SO many books out SO fast. She would benefit from slowing it down and focusing on her top selling series, imo.


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I absolutely agree! Slow down until things are better in your life and you can put out quality books again. And from what I heard, she even thanked her editor for doing such an amazing job.

Whaaaaat?????


message 39: by Zeek (new) - rated it 3 stars

Zeek LMAO! ::facepalm::


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish Indeed! You have a wonderful day!


message 41: by Katherine (new) - added it

Katherine Zeek wrote: "Never tried the bound hearts yet, but I'm thinking her breeds and Seals are about all the LL I can handle..."

Bound Hearts I've read until #8. There's a point that I just can't read LL anymore. I tried Breeds. Loved Tempting the Beast (Breeds, #1) by Lora Leigh. Then I went to
The Man Within (Breeds, #2) by Lora Leigh and hated didn't liked. There's so much stupidity I can take from characters. And Taber & Roni are the WTF literary. I know a lot of people say that Breed it's just great, but still I can't bring myself to read it!

The Ops one I read Wild Card (Elite Ops, #1) by Lora Leigh & Maverick (Elite Ops, #2) by Lora Leighand really really liked. For some reason I stopped there. Dunno why.


message 42: by Katherine (new) - added it

Katherine UniquelyMoi *~*Dhestiny*~* wrote: "Great review, Zeek. I haven't ventured into MoA or this one yet. Permanent menage can be tricky for me because I'm always worried that someone is going to be hurt, badly, and I've heard that's the ..."

Dhestiny, this could be a great series. Sometimes Lora's Leigh reasons for one things or another are nonsense (view spoiler). Had she just said they liked the menage, I would have loved the series. The #4 was by far ridiculous. Grown up people acting like child. (view spoiler)
The books aren't bad... You just have to ignore the nonsense lol


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish Dyllan aka ~Whycked Hharmohny~ wrote: "The Ops one I read Wild Card (Elite Ops, #1) & Maverick (Elite Ops, #2)and really really liked. For some reason I stopped there. Dunno why. "

It was all down hill after that, Dyllan.


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish I think that sometimes the erotic story lines are lame excuses for writing sex. I had heard the "why" of these men wanting menage and I agree, I would have bought it better if they'd just have admitted to that being their kink of choice.


message 45: by Katherine (new) - added it

Katherine I guess the whole abuse thing, was to make them look okay for doing that. Ya know, if you are normal, you don't need any kink. But have you suffered? We have all these options for you.
Ugh, I can't believe I'm gonna say that. I prefer no sex at all and a good plot, over a sex-in-all-pages and crappy plot. This is what divide erotica authors, from porn writers IMO.


UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish Dyllan aka ~Whycked Hharmohny~ wrote: "This is what divide erotica authors, from porn writers IMO."

You summed it up perfectly!


back to top