miaaa's Reviews > Failed States: The Abuse of Power and the Assault on Democracy

Failed States by Noam Chomsky
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
858390
's review
Jan 26, 10

bookshelves: ophelia-s-library, non-fictions-others
Recommended to miaaa by: Graeme Stephen
Read from October 25, 2009 to January 26, 2010

for once Graeme got a right book for me hehe

and Lams is right, reading this book might make me depressed because as Chomsky stated in the Afterword,

'One commonly hears that carping critics complain about what is wrong, but do not present solutions. There is an accurate translation for that charge: "They present solutions, but I don't like them." In addition to the proposals that should be familiar about dealing with the crises that reach to the level of survival, a few simple suggestions for the United States have already mentioned:

(1) accept the jurisdiction of the International Criminal Court and the World Court; ==> (bagiku kok terdengar mustahil, selama Mahkamah Dunia tidak mau nurut maunya mereka.)
(2) sign and carry forward the Kyoto protocols; ==> (terakhir mereka malah nuntut apa gitu harus dilakukan pihak China terlebih dahulu *makin stress aku*)
(3) let the UN take the lead in international crises; ==> (kenapa terdengar sangat tidak mungkin yah?!)
(4) rely on diplomatic and economic measures than military ones in confronting terors; ==> (lalu bisnis senjata pihak swastanya ntar gulung tikar dunk lalu gak bisa pake alasan 'war against teror' lagi)
(5) keep to the traditional interpretation of the UN Charter; == (*mendadak amnesia* Piagam yg mana yah?)
(6) give up the Security Council veto dan have "a decent respect for the opinion of mankind," as the Declaration of Independence advises, even if power centers disagree; ==> (wahahahaha *cuma bisa ketawa guling-guling*)
(7) cut back sharply on military spending and sharply increase social spending; ==> (*makin stress karena jelas ini semakin mustahil akan terjadi*)

For people who believe in democracy, these are very conservative suggestions: they appear to be the opinions of the majority of the US population, in most cases the overwhelming majority. They are radical opposition to public policy. To be sure, we cannot be very confident about the state of public opinion on such matters because of another feature of the democratic deficit: the topics scarcely enter into public discussion and the basic facts are little known. In a highly atomized society, the public is therefore largely deprived of opportunity to form opinions.'


Catatan: Chomsky juga melihat kebangkitan Asia di buku ini, terutama semakin meningkatnya kekhawatiran AS terhadap China. Belum lagi prospek Eropa dan Asia bergerak menuju independensi dari campur tangan AS. Mau tau Indonesia di mana? Gak di mana-mana, masih sibuk dengan kasus Century hehe
1 like · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Failed States.
sign in »

Reading Progress

11/25/2009 page 14
4.38% "Apocalypse Soon, running an unnecessary risk of own making Armageddon referring to US military programs expansion"
11/29/2009 page 38
11.88% "'Regime change cannot be the objective of military action' said Blair's legal advisor ... but that did not stop US and its allies!"
12/06/2009 page 63
19.69% "Thief! Thief! Maling teriak maling, tehnik mengalihkan perhatian dari korupsi di organisasi oil-for-food programme PBB untuk Irak"
12/14/2009 page 78
24.38% "While other nuclear states share responsibility, the primary threat to Non-Proliferation Treaty is US government policy! HA!!"
12/23/2009 page 96
30.0% "...all sources reach the same conclusion: the killings and atrocities in Kosovo did not precede but followed the NATO bombing of Serbia..."
12/30/2009 page 121
37.81% "Washington feared that an independent Vietnam might be a virus infecting others, perhaps even resource-rich Indonesia ..."
01/05/2010 page 171
53.44% "Washington's harsh stand is strengthening hard-line opponents of democracy, helping to create an atmosphere in which 'democracy is killed.'"
01/13/2010 page 204
63.75% "Washington's dedication to the proclaimed messianic mission reduces to routine pronouncements, or that the counterevidence is mountainous."
01/14/2010 page 222
69.38% "Deceit is employed to undermine democracy, just as it is a natural devise to undermine markets."
01/22/2010 page 250
78.13% "Domestic issues: Social Security vs health care system"
01/26/2010 page 262
81.88% "napa salah mulu sih kalo mo update status doh - kelaaaaaaaar sisanya ternyata notes :D"

Comments (showing 1-12 of 12) (12 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by aldo zirsov (new)

aldo zirsov looks like it's a right book for me also...hahaha...


miaaa huwahahaha iya yah mas hehe duh harusnya dia nyariin lebih banyak buku begini nih daripada numpuk chicklit di meja huehue *anak tak tau diuntung ceritanya*


message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

dan buatku juga..


miaaa waaaaaaduh gawat nih hahaha
*niat bikin request ke graeme buat ngumpulin buku chomsky*


message 5: by aldo zirsov (new)

aldo zirsov sepertinya rencana perampokan yang telah direncanakan dulu harus segera dilaksanakan nih....hihihi..
*kerahkan dalton brothers, trio durjana dan gerombolan si berat*


miaaa oh yang ke koleksi isai yah hahaha kudu segera koordinasi ama para ob mereka nih sepertinya buat bukain pintu malam2 *ketawa guling2*


message 7: by Lamski Kikita (new)

Lamski Kikita when did u get this u sneaky witch!!! I read only part of this for a paper, and just totally LOVED it!! u'll be depressed though.

oh, may i suggested u read something slightly smaller? i have only 100 pages left in my Rushdie book, so in a week we can start our Kafka book :D


miaaa hehe okies I'm ready when you're ready. I can put this book back to to-read shelf anyway :p


message 9: by nanto (new)

nanto keren neh mi bukunya :D

tapi opa chomsky galak kali tak di buku ini? dia saking galaknya, gue kadang suka bingung mengoperasionalisasikan idenya. gue tangkep cuma: "hajar bleh!"


message 10: by [deleted user] (new)

gudang data aja chomsky itu. ide dasarnya itu-itu aja


miaaa sejauh ini emang dia banyak ngutip orang lain, padahal baru baca delapan halaman nih hahaha yah entar aku update lagi deh :p


miaaa wah dian thanks for the insights hiks *terharu* hehe maklum aku gak gitu tahu banyak soal beliau ini

oke sekelarnya aku baca buku ini boleh kok kamu pinjem, ntar aku kontak lagi. btw panggil mia ajah ehem ehem keeper juga boleh :D


back to top