J.M.'s Reviews > The Name of the Wind

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2588099
's review
Sep 09, 10

bookshelves: fantasy
Recommended for: Fans of Brandon Sanderson, Joe Abercrombie, George R.R. Martin
Read from May 23 to June 10, 2010 — I own a copy

Wow. Just one book. Just one fricking book and I can already label Patrick Rothfuss as a master wordweaver/worldbuilder. In THE NAME OF THE WIND, the narrator, Kvothe, is a simple barkeep at first glance, who tells his own story in the presence of the Chronicler and Bast, a fae servant to some obscure degree. His story starts nearly at the beginning of his life and he tells it fluidly, with perfect recollection, despite the occasional interruption, as you see, the book transports the reader back and forth between the tale Kvothe is telling and the events unfolding in the present, dire and foreboding events concerning the return of dark times.

One reviewer compared THE NAME OF THE WIND to Harry Potter, but Rothfuss is spinning a yarn deeper and more intricate than that of J.K. Rowling's Potterverse. I'm not sure what I was expecting, to be honest, but Rothfuss delivers something inventive, original, and rather unforeseen. This book is intelligently written. The overall voice is strong and certain. The main character, Kvothe, is clever, precocious, mysterious, likable one moment, feared the next--a deep protagonist who can certainly carry this trilogy.

My only complaint is it felt a bit redundant throughout, and got a little bogged down in the middle. I often felt like I was waiting for something to happen, and waiting. And waiting. I came away from THE NAME OF THE WIND feeling like I'd just read 700 pages of, basically, build-up to something much bigger; which, in fact, is the truth. I have a feeling that the proverbial sh*t is really going to hit the fan in book two of the Kingkiller Chronicle. And I plan to be there. Because for 700 pages of "build-up," it was STILL that damn good.

So, hurry up, Pat!

Three out of five stars.

--

01/31/11 - I amended my review from four to three stars after another Goodreads reviewer, Ian Foster, gave me food for thought. You can read his review here: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/...
5 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Name of the Wind.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

05/23/2010 page 88
13.29%
show 3 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Martha Definitely agree. It was good, but still it was 700 pages of buildup!


J.M. Yes, Martha, for sure. I do plan to read The Wise Man's Fear, but with so many good books in my to-read list, I'm just not in a huge hurry; that is, unless someone who really loves it can talk me into bumping it higher.


J.M. Let me elaborate, too, by saying that I think the "high" of having read THE NAME OF TH WIND and almost immediately writing the review has worn off a bit over time. Not all books do that for me, but this one did, for whatever reason.

I probably shouldn't spend too much time analyzing why!


Matt 3 Stars only? You put this book behind Halfling's Gem, Streams Of Silver, and equal to assassins apprentice!!!! All terribly boring/written in comparison to The Name of The Wind.

No JM...don't do it...

I'm reading The Wise Man's Fear right now, not sure how i feel about it yet, but review soon to come.


J.M. Ha! I bet if I went back and read those now, they'd be 3 stars. Did I mark them 4? If so, chalk it up to nostalgia.

I think in retrospect I just really felt like Rothfuss took way too long getting to the point, and then when he did, the book was over! And I still wasn't even sure what the point was (or is)!


Matt Yeah, i guess i can see where your going. Thing about Rothfuss is...he does take long to get to the point, but he tells the story very well along the way. Although when you think about the plot as a whole it may seem like not too much has happened the writing along the way is quite entertaining. I think i'm going to use that in my next review. It all about the journey.


J.M. Exactly. All about the journey, just like in the most excellent four-star Halfling's Gem! :-D


back to top