Lance Greenfield's Reviews > Moloka'i

Moloka'i by Alan Brennert
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2793431
's review
Feb 17, 15

it was amazing
bookshelves: historical-fiction
Read from March 25 to April 16, 2010 — I own a copy

All because of fear

Unfounded fear, unbounded love, exile, cruelty, death, suffering, prejudice and, most of all, sacrifice. It is all there, in this beautiful story.

There is already enough description of the actual story on the fly leaf and all of the other reviews, but this is a wonderful book. It is well researched, and clearly based on fact. If any aspiring writer wants a lesson in character development, they need look no further than Moloka’i. There are so many prominent characters in this book; all of them are beautifully crafted.

I was advised to “have a tissue or two on hand.” That advice turned out to be inadequate. I could have done with a couple of buckets to catch the tears that I shed whilst reading this book.

I would strongly recommend it to all.
41 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Moloka'i.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

03/26/2010 page 9
2.22%
03/27/2010 page 32
7.9% "Just a short way into this book, and I have shed some tears already. I feel that many more will drop out of my eyes before I'm finished." 1 comment
04/04/2010 page 174
42.96% "Ooooh! A bit of a shock for Rachel! Funny though."
04/05/2010 page 223
55.06% "Proof that tragedy and comedy can co-exist in a single event. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean!"
04/06/2010 page 237
58.52% "Still more proof that tragedy and comedy can co-exist, even though this is fiction. It happens for real. My eyes are stinging with tears!"
04/07/2010 page 263
64.94% "Incredible! Rachel's dream is so close to one that I have had. I won't tell you about it, because it could spoil the read. I cried - again!"
04/12/2010 page 303
74.81% "I can't help it. I have just wept buckets over this book. You warned me, Janet, but I'm afraid a box of tissues was totally inadequate!"
04/12/2010 page 303
74.81% "I'm too soft! Even more tears... There are several stories within the book, which could be expanded into standalone books of their own."
04/12/2010 page 320
79.01% "I'm too soft! Even more tears... There are several stories within the book, which could be expanded into standalone books of their own"
show 6 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Janet Isn't that a beautiful cover? I loved this book.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


message 2: by Misfit (new) - added it

Misfit I must get around to reading this book.


Lance Greenfield Janet wrote: "Isn't that a beautiful cover? I loved this book.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did."


I don't know how much you enjoyed it, Janet, but I would guess that my enjoyment was close to yours. My wife doesn't understand how I could enjoy a book so much, when it made me weep buckets!


Lisa Vegan This is on my list. I've suggested it to my book club, but we have many suggestions and few meetings, so if my book club doesn't choose it, I'll have to try to get to it on my own asap/in 2010.


Lance Greenfield There are some questions and comments at the end of the book, which are there to help book clubs.


message 6: by Lisa (last edited Apr 18, 2010 03:09PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Vegan Lance wrote: "There are some questions and comments at the end of the book, which are there to help book clubs."

Probably in the paperback edition only. That's true of many paperback editions. But thanks! For book clubs I find the best place to find discussion questions for many books is readinggroupguides.com.


message 7: by Janet (last edited Apr 18, 2010 03:18PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Janet Lance, Yes I cried so much while reading this book it did feel like buckets. I had to stop reading at times cause I couldn't see to read any longer.Had to wait for my eyes to clear so I could start reading again. All the issues that stem from fear of a disease and the poor treatment of those people. Unreal...
Good job Lance!


message 8: by Meg ♥ (new) - added it

Meg ♥ I have wwnted to read this one for a while too. Maybe I should bump it up a bit on the TBR pile, because it has been so long and you really seemed to enjoy it, Lance.


Lisa Vegan Meg ♥ wrote: "I have wwnted to read this one for a while too. Maybe I should bump it up a bit on the TBR pile, because it has been so long and you really seemed to enjoy it, Lance."

It's a fabulous book!!! I'd recommend bumping it up. Not everyone in my book club loved it as much as I did, but everybody liked it.


Lance Greenfield Meg ♥ - Grab a copy from wherever you can get one. Before you have read three pages you will be captivated and wit need to read right through to the end. You will not regret this type of captivity, I can promise you.

As a bonus, the cover is also beautiful!


Casey finished Honolulu and just had to read Moloka'i which I'm feeling (so far anyway) is a stronger book - but enjoyed Honolulu, don't get me wrong, so far this just seems stronger.


Susan I read this wonderful book several years ago, but it is one of those rare ones that stays in my memory.


message 13: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason Is it laden with facts in a manner that detracts from the writing, prose, narration? one or two reviews on amazon said this.


message 14: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Vegan Jas wrote: "Is it laden with facts in a manner that detracts from the writing, prose, narration? one or two reviews on amazon said this."

This book?! I sure don't think so.


message 15: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason Lisa wrote: "Jas wrote: "Is it laden with facts in a manner that detracts from the writing, prose, narration? one or two reviews on amazon said this."

This book?! I sure don't think so."


good! i think there were two amazon reviews stating that the author used the novel as an excuse to just insert facts page after page. one of the many reasons i should stay off amazon.com then its set. next read. I need something moderately uplifting.


message 16: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Vegan Well, I wouldn't necessarily call this book uplifting exactly, but I adored it.


Lance Greenfield I would say that the words to describe the book are inspiring and emotion-stirring, if the latter is allowed as a word. Not really uplifting.

As to your earlier point, it is certainly not so packed with facts that it detracts from the reading. Far from it. This is historical fiction. The story and the characters sweep you along like the mid-stream current of a great river.


message 18: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Vegan I wholeheartedly agree with Lance!


message 19: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason "The story and the characters sweep you along like the mid-stream current of a great river. ".... that sounds delicious and splendid. It sounds uplifting, as in hopeful... like, What is the What (for instance). meaningful, i guess is a better word.


message 20: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Vegan I loved this book MUCH better than that one.


message 21: by Jason (last edited Mar 30, 2013 05:21PM) (new) - added it

Jason Lisa wrote: "I loved this book MUCH better than that one."

ugh i had to read it for grad school (spirituality class assignment).... i liked it, but, like most egger's it went on and on and on....

this particular one sounds a lot like behind the beautiful forevers. Def just jumped to the top of my list.


Jennifer Garcia Ah, I just finished the book and upon reading your review I have to agree with you. I think I cried throughout most of the book. But it was so beautifully written and so amazingly developed that I felt like I knew Rachel. I still feel her heartache in my chest as I write this. I have a feeling this book will stick with me a very long time.


message 23: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason Other readers have experienced it differently and felt that the prose was clogged, slow, weight down. Too dense is often the way it is described. Interestingly this is in more reviews by men


Jennifer Garcia Jas wrote: "Other readers have experienced it differently and felt that the prose was clogged, slow, weight down. Too dense is often the way it is described. Interestingly this is in more reviews by men"

Yeah, I read a couple of reviews like that. And while I read them, I wondered how they could possibly feel that way, but then I had to remember that not everyone has the same taste and likes the same things. I actually find it interesting how we can all read the same book and come out with very different views on it and I love reading the point of view of others.

But I truly loved the book and I was absorbed from word one. When you read it, you'll have to let us know what you thought. :)


Lance Greenfield The wide variety of opinions is one big reason that I love GR so much, Jennifer.

And, in general, we respect each others' opinions even when we completely disagree with them. I love that too!


Diane I loved book ,too.


message 27: by Charity (last edited Nov 09, 2014 10:03AM) (new)

Charity Ivey I totally agree with you Lance. This book constantly had me on the verge of tears in literally every chapter. Like sister Catherine so frequently cried out to God asking him why he gave children leprosy, I did Brennert. I know realistically that some children would contract the disease, I didn't want it to be Rachel.

From he moment I started to read about Rachel and her family, I became attached, from her playing with her siblings to drinking Tahiti lemonade in the sun I felt like I right there. To have her life stripped from her in an instant. It was devastating. I believed for some reason, that once Rachel had contracted leprosy, she would never be able to experience things that "normal" people do, things like loving, and being loved. How could anybody, feel a sense of belonging when they're alone? I soon found out how wrong I had been because “Love, marriage, divorce, infidelity... life was the same here as anywhere else..." (Brennert 290).
This book is very inspirational and I recommend it to everyone as well.


Diane I thought this was a great book, too. I have Hawaii in my Kindle.


back to top