Julie (Mom2lnb)'s Reviews > The Baby Album

The Baby Album by Roz Denny Fox
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
883725
's review
Oct 01, 09

bookshelves: contemporary-romance, read-2009
Recommended for: Fans of Heartwarming Contemporary Romance or Pregnancy Theme
Read in September, 2009, read count: 1

Reviewed for THC Reviews
I've always been a fan of pregnancy storylines in romance novels, but haven't read a really good one in a while. When Roz Denny Fox contacted me about reviewing her new book, The Baby Album, I was quite eager to read it, in large part because of the plot. I'm so glad I got the opportunity, because her book definitely fit the bill. Having the heroine be pregnant by a man other than the hero can sometimes, in my experience, be tricky for an author to get just right, but I thought Ms. Fox did a very good job of creating sympathetic characters in a difficult, but sweet and touching situation. The plot of a heroine pregnant by a jerk of an ex, meeting the perfect man who wants a family but has been denied that through tragic circumstances is not a particularly new or unique one, but The Baby Album was still distinctive enough to hold my attention throughout and gave me plenty of warm, fuzzy feelings at the end.

I simply couldn't help but like the hero and heroine, Wyatt and Casey. They are both talented photographers which is a different profession that I don't think I've come across yet in my romance reading, and since photography is an art-form that I really appreciate, I was quite taken by that element of the story. Wyatt is a man who really wants kids, but his first wife was very career driven and not as enthusiastic about the prospect of having a family. Then when she died from pregnancy complications, Wyatt shut himself off from his work and his circle of friends for a long time. When he finally decides to start up his photography business again, he needs help, and Casey comes breezing into his life with her perky but sweet personality. Casey's ex-husband was a complete cad who left her pregnant with no money, but she never whined about her circumstances. She wasn't one of those tough, independent heroines who thinks she doesn't need anyone, but she did have a determined, upbeat attitude in spite of her difficulties. Normally, I'm not big on “casting” my romance novels, but for some reason, the way Casey is described made me keep thinking of Kristen Chenoweth. She is an actress I really like, so sub-consciously drawing that comparison, in some ways, made Casey even more appealing to me. Overall, Wyatt and Casey were just two very realistic and relatable characters who I could see myself being friends with in real-life, and they were perfect for each other. On a little side note, I have to give kudos to the cover artist for The Baby Album. I can't tell you the number of times that the cover of a book just doesn't seem to fit what is contained within the pages, but to me, this one was just perfect including the choice of models, who fit the descriptions of the characters to a tee.

In my opinion, “The Big Secret” has been rather overdone in romance, and I'm typically not too keen on a secondary character giving away information about one of the main characters either. I usually just prefer for the hero and heroine to communicate and get things out in the open. In this case, I didn't really mind too much, because the author created palatable reasons for both elements which made sense within the context of the story. It never really felt like Casey was blatantly lying by keeping her pregnancy a secret from Wyatt, since it originated out of desperation, and continued to spare Wyatt's feelings. Nor did it feel particularly gossipy of Wyatt's friend, Brenda, to tell Casey about his wife's death, because it helped Casey to understand Wyatt better. For once, it all just came together and worked for me. On the other hand, I would have liked to read a little more of the story from Wyatt's perspective. The majority is told from Casey point of view, and although I got to know Wyatt well-enough and felt that I understood him for the most part, I just would have liked to know what he was thinking a little more often. It would also have been nice to have a little more build-up of their relationship and sexual tension. These aspects were present, but not in quite as generous proportions as I would have preferred. I'm certainly willing to admit though that some of this may have more to do with the shorter Harlequin format (I've noticed that they've been getting even shorter over the last couple of years) than the author's writing talent. In fact, from what I can tell, Ms. Fox has a nice tight writing style that is very well-suited for the Harlequin medium. Overall, The Baby Album was a sweet, enjoyable read. There are only a couple of mild profanities and the only love scene is skimmed over with no explicit details, making it suitable, in my opinion, for younger and more sensitive romance readers. For anyone seeking a light, easy read with likable characters and a feel-good story, this book should really hit the spot. The Baby Album was my first read by Roz Denny Fox, but her pleasant writing style and heartwarming storytelling has left me eager to start checking out her back-list.

Note: The Baby Album is part of the multi-author series 9 Months Later, a theme series by Harlequin in which each story involves a pregnancy. The Baby Album is #59 in this series, but to my knowledge is a stand-alone novel with no connection to other books in the series except the theme.
5 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Baby Album.
sign in »

Reading Progress

09/15/2009 page 61
24.4% "Very sweet book. I like it so far.:-)"
09/18/2009 page 250
100.0% "A really sweet easy read that I enjoyed. Review coming soon."
show 2 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-4 of 4) (4 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Julie (Mom2lnb) Thanks, Daneille!


message 3: by Rane (new)

Rane Awesome Review Julie!


Julie (Mom2lnb) Thanks, Rane!


back to top