Tim Niland's Reviews > The Tourist

The Tourist by Olen Steinhauer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
251908
's review
Jun 25, 09

bookshelves: 2009-reads

In late 2001 Milo Weaver was at the end of his rope, strung out on amphetamines and suicidal from the stress of being a secret agent (codenamed "Tourist") for the CIA, hot on the trail of an international killer and money launderer. After being shot and nearly killed in the line of duty, he retreats to a desk job until the blow back from one of his older cases forces him back out into the open and on the run. This was a fine if convoluted spy novel filled with everything you'd expect: code names, poison, secrets and exotic destinations. The names, code names and secret identities become a chore to handle, at times I felt like I needed a scorecard to remember who was who and what shadowy agency they worked for. The only downer was some of the overwrought family drama the author felt compelled to stick in. Otherwise this is a fine, taught spy drama, recommended for fans of John LeCarre or Grahme Greene.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Tourist.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.