Sarah Sammis's Reviews > The Dyodyne Experiment

The Dyodyne Experiment by James Doulgeris
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
122647
's review
Oct 13, 10

bookshelves: review-copy, read-in-2010
Read from June 24 to 26, 2010

The Dyodyne Experiment by James Doulgeris and V Michael Santoro is an international medical thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton or Robin Cook. A biotech firm has developed a way to track a person by his own DNA, nano transmitters and cell phone technology. The Department of Homeland Security needs their invention to track down terrorists intent on destroying several U.S. cities.

I liked the set up and the basic plotting. It as another review mentioned, would make a great movie. Unfortunately the version I read suffered from too many editing gaffs. The errors got in the way of my ability to lose myself in the plot. The one that bugged me the most was BETA test for beta test. It isn't an acronym. It's a step in a software development cycle.

My other complaint is one with the genre and isn't specifically aimed at The Dyodyne Experiment. I'm tired of super short scenes that jump between all the players (or potential players) in the novel. I'm tried of getting first hand knowledge of what the terrorists are planning because their plans always sound stupid. They are so typically cookie cutter stereotypes that anything they say or think is laughable. I wish these books would stick with one side because my imagination is better at inventing an antagonist's motivations. Surprise and mystery seems to be dead in the international thriller.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Dyodyne Experiment.
sign in »

Reading Progress

06/25/2010 page 30
6.0%

No comments have been added yet.