Leonardo's Reviews > Bridge to Terabithia

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Sep 08, 11

bookshelves: children, fantasy-and-science-fiction, novels-and-short-stories, 20th-century, illustrated-books, movies-and-tv
Recommended for: Readers young at heart...
Read from August 28 to September 05, 2011, read count: 1

A few years ago, when the movie adaptation of Katherine Peterson's book came out, I was actually interested in what seemed -from the trailer- to be a Narnia-esque movie, but somehow missed it on theaters. Now that I've finally read the book, I didn't find the high-fantasy tale in the vein of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis that I was expecting, but I came across a heart-breaking coming of age story that I won't easily forget. The tale of the unexpected friendship between Jess and Leslie in the middle-of-nowhere USA is a heartfelt and intelligent tribute to the power of friendship and imagination over narrowmindedness and provincialism. "Bridge to Terabithia" does not praise escapism... even though Leslie and Jess are queen and king of Terabithia, they are still "flesh and blood" children that must face (and do face) the challenges and sorrows of the "real" world. However, with the power of fantasy on their side, event he most brutal tragedies turn out to be doors to new worlds. And indeed there is much of Narnia (and even Prydain) in this book, only not in the way that the movie trailer seemed to imply.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Bridge to Terabithia.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.