Chris 's Reviews > Tigana

Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1956959
's review
May 29, 09

bookshelves: scifi-fan-group, guy-gavriel-kay, osga
Recommended for: Fans of Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, and Mario Puzo. With a little Tolkien thrown in.
Read in May, 2009

I really can't decide whether to rate this a 4 or 5 star, but I'll go with 5. There is more that I like about this book than dislike.

Overall, I love the story. It is quite the epic, and it seems a waste of great worldbuilding to contain it to one volume. On the other hand, it is good to see such a marvelous work that stands on its own, without a dozen sequels, prequels, and hard to find novellas. In fantasy, that is a rare treat.

Still, this is a world I'd like to visit again someday. The story itself doesn't need a sequel, but the world is fascinating. I'd like to learn more about the magic and see more of the political twists and turns of the Palm.

I will definitely be looking to read more of Guy Gavriel Kay....

16 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Tigana.
sign in »

Reading Progress

05/18/2009 page 110
16.34% "This reminds me of a blend of Mistborn, The Name of the Wind, and Mario Puzo's The Family." 2 comments
show 5 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Brad "...[I:]t is good to see such a marvelous work that stands on its own, without a dozen sequels, prequels, and hard to find novellas. In fantasy, that is a rare treat." That is definitely a treat. I tire of the constant, gigantic series too. Even though we never get back to the Palm, Kay did write a couple more books on this same world, yet they remain completely unrelated.Lions of Al-Rassan, Song for Arbonne, The Sarantium Mosaic, and I think even The Last Light of the Sun are all in different regions of whatever Kay's world is, so you can still revisit, if not exactly how you imagined.


Chris That works for me then. More incentive to read those books. Thanks, Brad...


back to top