Perryville Library's Reviews > The Sugar Queen

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1790923
's review
Mar 13, 09

bookshelves: fiction, megan, romance

The Sugar Queen is the sweet sophomore offering of novelist Sarah Addison Allen. Nestled away in the sleepy southern resort town of Bald Slope, three young women find themselves in trouble up to their necks. Della Lee, the town bad girl, is on the run from her abusive boyfriend. Chloe is broken up over the betrayal of her lover, unsure she can forgive or if she should. Her special ‘talent' of finding books just when she needs them has been more of a nag then a help this time. Finally, Josey is stuck living in her mother's home, and hiding her desires, a closet full of candy and a man she is too shy to approach. The lives of these women are set on a collision course when Della Lee chooses Josey's closet as her hide-out. She takes up the roll of Josey's personal, although slightly bad-tempered, fairy godmother. She pushes Josey out into the world where she meets Chloe, and gets caught up in something novel: life. This story is a well-written, fast read, full of twists and surprises. With a dusting of magic, The Sugar Queen is a great story and a romance that never overpowers, but lives up to its lovely cover. It is a great choice for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Alice Hoffman.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Sugar Queen.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.