The Holy Terror's Reviews > Darkfever

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2016128
The only thing saving this from a 1 star rating was the world-building. Moning has created a fascinating new world for her characters to play in. Unfortunately it's those characters that really brought down this novel for me.

MacKayla Lane's life is turned upside down the day she finds out that her sister Alina, who had been studying abroad in Ireland, has been murdered. The police have no leads and her case gets filed away as unsolved. MacKayla can't stomach the thought of her sister's killer getting away so she promptly quits her job, empties her bank account, and flies to Ireland to try to solve the mystery herself.

MacKayla Lane is a vapid, shallow, stupid girl. She leaves her grieving parents behind to try to find out what happened to her sister. She thinks she can do better than the police yet her main thought throughout the novel is what color nail polish she should wear. On top of the nail polish, Mac constantly worries about her appearance; her clothes, hair, and make-up are the only thing she seems to care about. (view spoiler) She says that just because she likes pink and has blond hair it doesn't mean she's Barbie, but she never really seems to act anything but dumb and naive.

She antagonizes the one person that is willing to help her, Jericho Barrons, and continuously hides information from him, thinking she knows best. Her actions around him are ridiculous, and at one point when he brings up her dead sister she yells, "ShutupIhateyou!", and yes, it's printed like that in the book. (view spoiler)

Not much better than Mac, Jericho Barrons is a reprehensible character. (view spoiler)

Unfortunately on top of the abuse, Barrons has practically no personality. I couldn't get a feel for him as a person and I was only left with a deep dislike of him and his actions. There's nothing good about him to latch onto, aside from the fact that he's supposed to be the ubiquitous "tall, dark, and handsome." I'm dreading reading about him as a love interest because I'm not sure if I can distance this Barrons from any future incarnation I come across. If I had been her I'd probably have thrown in with the Seelie prince that she encounters, at least he displayed some not entirely self-serving motives.

These two characters are really an unfortunate creation in a very unique and interesting world. The only reason I could keep reading was because of the world-building. The Fae are scary and disgusting and I really got a feel for the streets of Dublin that Mac walked up and down, surprisingly not getting killed. I like Moning's ideas and the lore she weaves into the story.

The style that Moning wrote in really pissed me off though. She's telling the story through Mac's eyes, as though it's already happened. So there's parts where Mac will say (I'm paraphrasing), "I would later find out that he was lying but at this point I believed him," or "this was where my life really changed" - she does this throughout the whole book. So we can't even read the book and read the events as the story unfolds, future Mac has to go around spoiling things! I can understand using this in a prologue to set things up but I don't want to know things that the character doesn't even know yet!

And the ending was dumb. (view spoiler)

I already own the second book so I'll continue with this series against my better judgment.

Update: I've also read Bloodfever now, so here's my review.
220 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Darkfever.
sign in »

Reading Progress

04/22/2010 page 0
0.0%
04/22/2010 page 60
19.42% "Time-travel? Ha, give me creature comforts over a hulking highlander with the manners of a caveman any day." Har har, good one Moning."
04/22/2010 page 76
24.6% "Mac doesn't like paranormal books or the X-Files? And she's antagonizing the one person that could help her? I'm not sure I like this girl." 16 comments
04/22/2010 page 94
30.42% "If you can't give me a 'Tell me, teach me everything, I want to live,' then get the bloody hell out of here!" Yes, EXACTLY!" 19 comments
04/22/2010 page 110
35.6% "Down south, people have manners. Down south, store-bought food is an insult, down south blah blah blah" You're not down south so shut up!" 49 comments
04/22/2010 page 133
43.04% "God, she's positively vapid. She cares too much about make-up, hair, and clothes. Remember, your sister is dead? Priorities, dear." 2 comments
04/22/2010 page 166
53.72% "At this point I'm siding with the "evil" fae prince over Barrons, at least he hasn't bruised her or yanked her up by her hair" 13 comments
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-50 of 142) (142 new)


Laura Lulu Shannon, if it makes you feel any better, I also hated Mac after the first book. And still after 4 books, I don't love her, but she has gotten much much better.

I had no intention of reading the 2nd book, and if it wasn't for these boards, I would not have. But I had so many people tell me to continue on with the series, and I'm glad they did. And I bet you'll get a bunch of the same comments on this thread. :)

Truly, it is one of my top 3 fave UF series, even if I wanted to beat Mac to death in the 1st book.


FlibBityFLooB Awwww. I really hope that you do continue the series. Mac annoyed me in the first book with all her whining. Barrons intrigued me, though...

I ended up *loving* the series. But, we all have different tastes :) Hopefully you enjoy the second one better.


message 3: by The Holy Terror (last edited Apr 23, 2010 03:07PM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

The Holy Terror Laura Lulu wrote: "Shannon, if it makes you feel any better, I also hated Mac after the first book. And still after 4 books, I don't love her, but she has gotten much much better."

I know a lot of people like this series and I've heard it gets better. I just wasn't prepared for how much I would despise the characters, and not just Mac. I'll continue it eventually, but probably not for a while. That's two 2-star books in a row for me, I need to find something better!


The Holy Terror FlibBityFLooB wrote: "Barrons intrigued me, though... "

I expected to like him too! He had everything going for him; mysterious, gorgeous, loves books ... something just didn't fit though. I don't mind if the guy gets a little rough but he had no qualms about hurting her. He just seemed like a jerk. I would have liked at least a little sexual tension too. Or maybe just something that showed he didn't view her as a means to an end. I mean granted, she was fucking annoying, but that doesn't excuse the way he treated her from the start.

I kind of had the same problem with Curran and Kate in the beginning though - he was too mean and I didn't like her all that much. At least she wasn't ditzy though. And Curran was always a bit sexy.


FlibBityFLooB Even in book 3, I wasn't sure how I felt about Barrons. hehehe. I dug out a quote from my review:
"Barrons remains an enigma. One moment I think he’s not fae, the next I’m convinced he’s an Unseelie King. One moment I think he’s madly in love with Mac, the next I’m convinced he’s the biggest belligerent prick on the planet. I love a mystery."

So, he hasn't really evolved that much. Though, book 4 sheds a way different light on him for a while. Can't spoil it for you in case you ever do read it.


The Holy Terror Lol, that's pretty much how I felt. And I have a feeling I'll read the whole series. Gotta know how it ends and all that.


The Flooze I see what you mean. Kate and Curran have the right balance of nasty mutual disapproval and sexual intrigue in that first book. Curran isn't pleasant, but at least you have a feel for why he behaves the way he does--his leadership role and the ruthless circles he travels in. Barrons sounds like he was supposed to exude that same lethal edge, but the author was too heavy-handed with it. Boo. I'm afraid to read this now!


The Holy Terror If you don't read it Laura is going to blame me!

Smiley

And yes, with Curran the way he acts is expected - he doesn't fly off the handle for the hell of it. And Kate does push his buttons.


The Flooze LOL. I am reminded of Curran telling her that if he throws her out the window he wants people to know he's fully in his right mind when he does it. Heh heh heh. I love that man.

Come out from behind that couch! You can't be blamed for such things!

(Besides...if she really wants to get at you, I don't think a setee will save yer butt.)


The Holy Terror The Flooze (Michelle M.) wrote: "(Besides...if she really wants to get at you, I don't think a setee will save yer butt.) "

But the 242 miles separating us will! Ha ha ha ha ...

I say, give it a chance. You remember I like it when you suffer along with me. You were supposed to read something else that I hated too, can't remember what it was though ... hmm ...


The Flooze And hopefully you'll never remember!

Heh heh heh...


The Holy Terror Dang, you're gonna make me go look ...

Hmm, was it the Rachel Morgan series? Do you remember? I really don't and now it's going to drive me nuts ...


Laura Lulu Shannon wrote: "If you don't read it Laura is going to blame me!

242 miles? A mere 3 hour drive, my dear. ;)


And yes, with Curran the way he acts is expected - he doesn't fly off the handle for the hell of it. And Kate does push his buttons."

Yes Barrons loses it with Mac. Repeatedly. But Mac is no Kate. She repeatedly puts herself & others in danger out of a mix of stupidity & "I'll do whatever I want, thankyouverymuch." She is in way over her head, he tells her what not to do--albeit very bossily while withholding information--but she does it anyway, repeatedly. Just because she wants to, and Barrons can't tell her what she can & can't do, the big bully.

But the books are like Lost--once one question is answered, 3 more spring up in it's place. It's the mystery that snares you, and you will begin to tolerate Mac & love/hate Barrons, just to find out what happens next.


Laura Lulu I forgot how much I was going to have to defend these books based on how asinine the characters were in the 1st book. :)

I just have them in my head as 1 big book, since I read all 4 back to back, so I forget how I had to be talked into reading the second. Lol.


The Flooze You'll have to go through it all again when I read book 1!


The Holy Terror Laura Lulu wrote: "Shannon wrote: "If you don't read it Laura is going to blame me!

242 miles? A mere 3 hour drive, my dear. ;)"


Smiley

"But Mac is no Kate"

Exactly why their relationship didn't do anything for me. Even though I didn't like Kate at first she at least had some redeeming qualities. Same with Curran. But I can't stand either Mac or Barrons so they really just ruined the whole book for me.

And you can defend the series, but this book was terrible! But you don't have to talk me into reading the second one since I own it and it's not like I'm going to throw it out a window or something.


Laura Lulu We'll just come back to these threads after you've read it, Michelle. :)

Now I'm starting to worry about the last book. There's a board on GR just about this series, and it's filled with questions--again, it reminds me of a Lost message board. Everyone has a different theory about what's going on. People reread to find more clues to no avail. There is a lot riding on this last book. It better be like 1000 pages long to answer every damn question we all have.

I didn't mind Barrons at all in the 1st book. Maybe it was because I hated Mac so much, maybe it is because I have issues and love the broody assholes. Michelle shares this issue, so she should only hate Mac. Lol.


The Holy Terror Nah, we both love broody assholes. Barrons just takes things too far, for me at least. I'll probably read the second one sooner now just to see if things get better like you say. Maybe after I get caught up with the BDB I'll come back to this series.


The Flooze Well I hate Mac already, so maybe I'll secretly like Barrons for pushing her around.


Laura Lulu The Flooze (Michelle M.) wrote: "Well I hate Mac already, so maybe I'll secretly like Barrons for pushing her around."

That's the spirit.


new_user I pretty much agreed with you, Shannon. Mac was Barbie and Barrons was abusive. They're marginally better in the next book, but I'm still not finding him super studly or anything. Maybe book three or four do the trick, LOL.


Laura Lulu Since I read all 4 at once, I couldn't tell you which book exactly it happens in, but it's got to be the third one. Because the fourth...aye chihuahua.


new_user LOL. Excellent. Kekeke.


The Flooze Aye chihuahua? Lol!


new_user Laura is super white, LOL. *snickersnicker*


Laura Lulu Whatchu talkin' bout, Willis?


CJ - Drop Dead Cute I don't want to read this anymore :(


message 30: by Laura Lulu (last edited Jun 17, 2010 08:33AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Laura Lulu Yes you do. You just mentally bitch slap Mac in the first book and move on. I hated her in the first book and wasn't going to read any more of them. Then people on GR talked me into it, just as I am talking you all into it, and now it is in my top 5 fave UF series, hands down. The story is just awesome, and Mac grows, and Barrons is uber smexy.

I promise you won't be sorry. I haven't heard of one person on the boards who has read all 4 and isn't a crazy fangirl.


message 31: by Laura Lulu (last edited Jun 17, 2010 08:46AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Laura Lulu Oh, and the release of the 5th & final book has been pushed back from December 7th to January 18th. :( But she did say it is almost twice as long as the other books, which I felt was majorly necessary, so that's a plus.


CJ - Drop Dead Cute But what ... what if Shannon is right? *shivers and whimpers* I'm scurred.

I have the first book and honestly the only reason why I picked it up was that the heroine's name is Mac which was a character from a book that I had been writing (but abandoned).


CJ - Drop Dead Cute The Flooze (Michelle M.) wrote: "You'll have to go through it all again when I read book 1!"

I haven't read it either Floozey dear....we shall have to make Laura go through this again ....but we might as well make it less hard and have her do it all in one shot.


Laura Lulu CJ wrote: "But what ... what if Shannon is right? *shivers and whimpers* I'm scurred."

Most people weren't crazy about the 1st book. Maybe not as much as Shannon, but still. Lol. If she still hates it after reading the rest, then come talk to me.


The Holy Terror Laura Lulu wrote: "Most people weren't crazy about the 1st book. Maybe not as much as Shannon, but still. Lol. If she still hates it after reading the rest, then come talk to me."

I feel like you only ever comment on my stuff if it's to defend this book, lol. I have a feeling I'm still not going to like the next book, no matter how much you cheerlead for it. I've noticed that Moning doesn't abandon the "if only I knew then what I know now ..." thing. Even if the characters do grow on me, her writing style in this series is pretty annoying.


Laura Lulu Shannon wrote: "I feel like you only ever comment on my stuff if it's to defend this book, lol."

Yes, this series, or the Kates, or Karen Chance. :) When you don't like something, you really don't like it. And people listen to you. So I try to throw in a voice of fangirl love. :)

I am susceptible to peer pressure, so even if I wasn't crazy about a first book, I'll ride the wave of fandom and hope I end up loving it as much as everyone else. And I usually do. But many UF series suffer from FBS, so you just gotta suffer through the shit to get to the good stuff. Well, you don't have to, but for some of the best series, the first book got a lot of shit, kwim?

I have a feeling I'm still not going to like the next book, no matter how much you cheerlead for it."

Yes you are. ::waves pom poms::


Catherine Shannon, I hate when authors have the characters spoil things for us. They say stuff like I believed him. If only I knew then what I know now. Let me have the surprise of finding out he's a bad guy on my own please!

I bought this book years ago but never made it all the way through. She was so young. Flighty and immature and stupid. She drove me nuts. I didn't realize this series had turned into such a big hit. Where have I been?


new_user I hated Mac in book one. She's marginally better in book two, but hopefully, she continues to improve or something else does, LOL.


Shera (Book Whispers) Great review. Glad to see I wasn't the only that thought this book was sticky. Though I keep seeing that Mac is supposed to get better.

The past tense pop-ups were kinda of annoying. I didn't like the fairy prince strip scenes though, that was a huge sticky point for me.


Catherine Fairy prince strip scenes? Obviously I didn't make it far enough into the book.

Maybe I'll try reading this series again. Possible absence has made the heart grow fonder. :)


Shera (Book Whispers) Just scenes where ever the faye prince is, Mac is stripping down.


Cathy I hated Mac at the start too. I can't remember why I even continued with the series. I guess it was curiousity about the world and the plot. And Barrons, he was so nasty and pushy, I wanted to find out his justification. It does get better in a lot of ways. Mac grows up and gets tougher (and somewhat smarter). But if you really didn't enjoy it, skip it! I hated the first Janienne Frost book even though most of my friends love the series. Sometimes you have to go against the tide. Or get the books from the library and just skim through them to see what happens, I do that a lot.


message 43: by Bry (new) - rated it 3 stars

Bry Shera wrote: "Just scenes where ever the faye prince is, Mac is stripping down."

I hated those scenes. I didn't like what I saw of V'lane at all in this book. Then again Jericho wasn't much better.


message 44: by The Holy Terror (last edited Jun 18, 2010 10:30PM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

The Holy Terror You know, those scenes were just so out of left field. It's like she was writing and then thought, oh, I need to sex it up a bit. Just didn't make a whole lot of sense.


Shera (Book Whispers) Agreed. I'd finall being getting into the books and suddenly Mac was stripping again.


message 46: by new_user (last edited Jun 20, 2010 08:52PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

new_user I thought they were cheesy as all get out. Oh no, oh gee, I'm stripping, oh God, I can't help myself, someone help. Like something right out of a bad porno. Take note, authors. Don't try this shite.

That was a sticking point for me too. That and Barrons abused her, LOL.


Shera (Book Whispers) Mac was so annoying, I don't blame him for a abusing her. -_-


message 48: by Bry (new) - rated it 3 stars

Bry Those scenes were ridiculous. I just didn't get it. Strip strip strip, and she never notices...REALLY? I think your right, it's like the author just figured there was enough soft core porn or something.


Shera (Book Whispers) I guess it's just the mind set that sex sales.


new_user It wasn't even good sex, LOL. That was some of the silliest stuff I've seen yet.


« previous 1 3
back to top