Dina's Reviews > A Hunger Like No Other

A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1918270
's review
Feb 12, 2012

liked it
bookshelves: paranormal-romance, series-immortals-after-dark
Read in October, 2009

This is the first full-length story in the Immortals After Dark series, following the novella The Warlord Wants Forever that introduced the Lore, the mythical strata created by Kresley Cole "where those sentient creatures that are not human live". You don’t have to read that short story to understand A Hunger Like No Other, but I did and I think it helps to get a better grasp of the overall scenario as some events in the two stories take place at the same time.

Lachlain MacRieve is the Lykae King, a 1,200-year-old werewolf who’s been searching for his mate for a long, long time. For the past 150 years, he’s been imprisoned in the catacombs beneath Paris, where he’s been tortured by the Vampire Horde and subjected to die from the fires of hell only to be resurrected by his immortality - over and over again. The only thing that keeps him alive and somewhat sane is the thought of finding his mate, so when he unexpectedly scents her nearby one night, he finds the strength to break free from the bonds that keep him captive. When he finally escapes the catacombs and finds his way to the surface, then into a darkened alley, his mate is gone. He’s not defeated, though, because once a Lykae scents his mate, she’s his forever – and he will find her again… However, Lachlain has the shock of his life when he catches up with her one week later and discovers she’s, gasp!, a vampire. No, this cannot be! Lykaes and vampires are mortal enemies, so why would fate give him a vampire as a mate?

Emmaline “Emma” Troy is actually half vampire and half Valkyrie. Her mother Helen (of Troy?) was a Valkyrie who died when Emma was still a baby. As for her father, all Emma knows is that he is/was a vampire. Determined to finally find out his identity, Emma’s left the Valkyrie coven in New Orleans for the first time in her 70 years – wow, she’s almost a newborn compared to Lachlain! – and flies to Paris, where her parents are believed to have met and lived together for a while. Imagine her surprise when, one night, she’s kidnapped by a strange non-human male who seems to be a bit "deranged", to say the least.

Lachlain is torn between lust and disgust. His "beast" wants to claim Emma as his mate, but he’s having a hard time reconciling the fact that she’s a vampire. He ends up "convincing" her to travel with him to his home in Scotland, with the promise that he’ll let her go when they get there. He’s lying through his teeth, of course, as he has no intention of letting her go – ever! He’s only buying time, before she accepts her position as his mate. But there are people after her – not only her Valkyrie foster mother and aunts, but some bad vampires too – and Lachlain has to fight all of them to keep Emma safe. Not an easy task, when he has to woo her and convince her she belongs with him at the same time.

When I read the Prologue, I thought Lachlain would end up being one of my favorite heroes. I was sure he would be a dark, brooding and intense hero – come on, he severed one of his leg to free it from its bonds to get to his mate! – but that was not to be. He had a brief bout of "insanity" in the beginning, which was completely expected considering his 150-year imprisonment, but he recovered from it quite easily and I found it too unbelievable. Strangely enough, I wasn’t put off by his lying to Emma. I’m usually not a fan of deceitful heroes, but I was OK with Lachlain’s lying because it was consistent with his initial "madness". He kept lying later, when he was "sane" again, but that was another story...

As for Emma, she got on my nerves. She started out as a wuss – by her own words – and ended up as a strong and independent vampire/Valkyrie – kudos to her! – but the journey in between was uneven. I guess she was supposed to be funny and witty, but I found myself wanting to shake some sense into her a couple of times. Some of her conversations with her crazy Valkyrie aunts were hilarious, but I got tired of their antics after a while. There’s a time to joke around, and there’s a time to get down to business. JMHO.

I could have "ignored" Lachlan’s and Emma’s shortcomings if the plot had been engaging enough but, alas, that wasn’t the case. Some jarring inconsistencies kept pestering me while I was reading this book, and I just couldn’t get over them. A) Lachlain’s escape from the catacombs wasn’t as difficult as it should have been. I mean, not a single guard intercepted his way! B) Why did Lachlain waited 150 years to escape? Don’t tell me that he only felt compelled to do it when he scented Emma, because I can’t believe he didn’t find ending his torture as soon as possible compelling enough. C) Why didn’t the Vampire Horde go after Lachlain when he escaped? He couldn’t be that "insignificant", could he? D) Why did Demestriu, the Vampire King, … Okay, I’ll stop ranting now because I’m about to enter into spoiler territory.

All things considered, this was a fun read but, as it happened with The Warlord Wants Forever, I wasn’t wowed by the story. I’m feeling kind of weird here, because many readers love this series and I just don’t get it. I do love the idea of having all kinds of non-human beings living together – mostly at war but some in peace – in the same universe, the Lore, but that’s all. Ms. Cole’s writing was humorous and easy to read, the love scenes were hot and the story was fast paced and entertaining despite its inconsistencies, but I’m still unsure about this series. Does it get better? Should I give the next book a try? Decisions, decisions…
27 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Hunger Like No Other.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

10/06/2009 page 1
0.28% "I don't get this cover... Besides being ugly, it doesn't seem to have anything to do with the hero's "persona". Is he a werewolf/vampire?"
10/06/2009 page 58
16.29% "Lachlain's just had a lot of fun with Emmaline's credit card. Gotta love AmEx, LOL!" 3 comments
10/07/2009 page 155
43.54% "Why isn't there anyone after Lachlain? He's been kept imprisoned for 150 years, but now no one cares about his escape? Very strange!"
10/07/2009 page 219
61.52% "What do you call a demon vampire? A dempire or a vemon? LOL, Emma's aunts are all crazy!"
10/07/2009 page 321
90.17% "Oh no, is Lachlain going to be sent to the catacombs again?"
10/07/2009 page 360
100% "Fun read... Review to come later..."

Comments (showing 1-36 of 36) (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Auntee Okay, you just answered my question--you're continuing on...:)


Shawna I've got to make it a priority to read this series at some point...hopefully soon. I read the prequel story The Warlord Wants Forever and had planned to keep going at that point, but I got sidetracked.

I look forward to your review, Dina!


MelissaB This series is a fun read. Lachlain is a great hero even though he is a little crazy at first. The valkyries are hilarious! Emma is a sweet heroine who I liked.


Kathrynn This was one of my favorite books. Great series! Funny.


Dina Auntee wrote: "Okay, you just answered my question--you're continuing on...:)"

Yes! :) I wasn't wowed by The Warlord Wants Forever but I liked it. And the IAD world looks interesting with its mixture of all kinds of PNR beings.


Dina Shawna wrote: "I've got to make it a priority to read this series at some point...hopefully soon. I read the prequel story The Warlord Wants Forever and had planned to keep going at that point, but..."

I read the prequel last night and decided to keep going with the series right after that, because I was afraid I'd forget everything about the IAD mythology if I took too long to get back to it.


Dina Melissab wrote: "This series is a fun read. Lachlain is a great hero even though he is a little crazy at first. The valkyries are hilarious! Emma is a sweet heroine who I liked."

If you like this series, Melissa, chances are I'll like it too. :)


Dina Kathrynn wrote: "This was one of my favorite books. Great series! Funny."

Thanks for the thumbs-up, Kathrynn! I'm in the mood for a fun read, so I hope this is it. :)


Auntee Dina wrote: "Shawna wrote: "I've got to make it a priority to read this series at some point...hopefully soon. I read the prequel story The Warlord Wants Forever and had planned to keep going at ..."

Excellent idea, Dina. With so many series out there, it would be easy to forget or get confused. And if you like this one, you're going to want to keep going. My favorites are coming up...:)


message 10: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Auntee wrote: "And if you like this one, you're going to want to keep going. My favorites are coming up...:)"

LOL, you're bad, Auntee!


Shawna Hmmm...Ya'll are tempting me to put aside my other planned reads and start on this!

I always think I can mix it up when I start a series in order to read current releases too, but then if the series is good enough, I get totally sucked in and it becomes an obsession until I finish them all.

That happened with Singh's Psy-Changeling series and everything else got put aside until I'd read all 6 books 'cause they were so unbelievably good!

There are so many series that I want to read, but when there are lots of books to catch up on, it feels kind of overwhelming.


message 12: by [deleted user] (new)

Hmmm , all of you guys make this series sound so great, but I really didn't care for the first in the series at all.... LOL


Mahlet Shawna wrote: "Hmmm...Ya'll are tempting me to put aside my other planned reads and start on this!

Shawna, do it! :) The IAD series is fantastic - Lachlain's book (#1), as well as #3 (Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae clan) were my favorites and read multiple times...sometimes right after I'd finished ;) I loved it that much.




message 14: by Shawna (last edited Oct 06, 2009 09:22AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shawna Mahlet wrote: "Shawna, do it! :) The IAD series is fantastic - Lachlain's book (#1), as well as #3 (Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae clan) were my favorites and read multiple times...sometimes right after I'd finished ;) I loved it that much."

The pressure, the pressure! LOL! I'll definitely get to them...hopefully sooner rather than later! :)


Beanbag Love Great review, Dina.

I'm on the fence about whether to delve into this series. I think I'll watch your progress and see how it goes. :D


 Danielle The Book Huntress (Self-Proclaimed Book Ninja) I respect your opinion, Dina. I love this series, although I can see why some readers don't. It simply might not be your cup of tea. That's okay and you don't need to feel weird because you don't care for and others do. I have no desire to read Lora Leigh and I know I'm one of the few readers of romance who isn't reading her. To each their own. It's all good.


message 17: by Fani (new) - rated it 5 stars

Fani Great review Dina! Sorry you didn't like it as much as I did. Perhaps, because I'm a newbie to PNR, I'm more easily impressed? Could be:) I would urge you to go on with the series, as I loved the next, but I'm not so sure you'll like it if you didn't enjoy this one... The heroine in the second is a hard cookie, tough and independant and really pushing the hero -who is lovable and more beta than Lachlan- to his limits. I would say, she's kind like Mercy from Branded by Fire.


message 18: by K. (new) - added it

K. Uh-oh D! Looks like this wasn't a major winner for you. Then again we both had the same reaction to Cole's historical series (the MacCarrick Brothers series), as in it was "not so much" for both of us. Maybe she just doesn't hit a high point for either of us(?). I'll read this one and see what I think (as we've kind of split a little bit on the BDB - but you did rate LE and LA pretty high), however, that said, you haven't been compelled to keep going like me (I'm OBSESSED - and going to read LovAv. immediately when I finish LovEnsh.). Decisions, decisions is right! Especially when YOU - one of my reading gurus - is just not enamoured after two books with a popular series. (AND -- my SIL is completely ABSORBED wtih one of your favs, the Psy-Changling series!!) That's just not boding well for me either on this one. I have this one on my Kindle . . . I guess I'll eventually give it a shot! Really well thought out review - thanks! :)
K.



Corrine Aw, sorry it didn't work for you, Dina! I think if you couldn't get into this one, some of the future ones might be hard for you to like as well. The Valkyries get more outrageous with each book (they're even starting to annoy me in the later books), and join forces with the witches. Although, I have to say that Dark Desires after Dusk is my favorite of the series, and you really should read bk 3 Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night before reading that one.


message 20: by [deleted user] (new)

Well, I'm sorry this didn't work for you Dina, but now I don't feel any inclination to finish this series. LOL Seems to be a series you either really love or don't care much for. Fantastic detailed review as always!


message 21: by Dina (last edited Oct 08, 2009 07:21AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Thanks, ladies! As I'm stubborn as a mule, I'm going to give this series another shot and see how it goes. Seeing how many readers love these books, I feel like I must be missing something here. Who knows, maybe 3rd time is the charm, LOL.


Shawna Great review, Dina! Sorry it didn't work for you. I tried to read this once and couldn't get into it (decided I wasn't in the right mood), but I hadn't read the prequel then either. Now that I've read The Warlord Wants Forever, I want to give this another shot 'cause I just hear so many great things about this series.


message 23: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Thanks, Shawna! I think you'll like this book better than I did. :)


message 24: by Rane (new)

Rane Great Review Dina, blah this sounds not the best of the series with so many loose ends even how he breaks out so easy after 150 years sounds off


Auntee Yes, yes, Dina--try just one more!:) No Rest for the Wicked is my favorite of the series, and if you don't fall for the vampire Sebastian, then this series just isn't for you (and there's no shame in that).:)

Great review btw! I wasn't "wowed" by the first 2 either, but things improved and before you know it, I was hooked!


 Danielle The Book Huntress (Self-Proclaimed Book Ninja) I loved this one. I hated Kaderin at first in the second book. I thought she was a major beyotch, but I began to understand why. I don't think these characters are supposed to act like humans. They act like immortal creatures with all the desires and motivations that go along with that. It's not always portrayed sympathetically, but I just go with the flow when I read these books.


message 27: by Angelc (new)

Angelc Great review, Dina! I have only read half of one of her books, but a lot of others have told me to try this series instead, so maybe try another one sometime in the future :)


message 28: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Thanks, ladies! I already added No Rest for the Wicked to my Wish List. :)


Mahlet Dina, I fall into the "goo-goo-gah-gah" camp over this book, but that's one of the best reviews I've read on it :) I also think the series does get better. Books #2 (Vampire Sebastian) and #3 (Lykae Bowen) were so connected that #3 began with a replay of #2's ending, but from a different hero's perspective.

#3 (Bowen) as well as a later book in the series with Demon Cade and his lickable horns (#5?) were the best so far IMHO. I think Bowen's book is the fan favorite of Kresley fans, so Dina, I'd recommend making it to #3, and if Bowen's story doesn't wow you, drop the series.


message 30: by Dina (last edited Oct 08, 2009 08:10AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Thanks, Mahlet! I'll read through Bowen's book, as you suggested. I didn't hate the 2 stories I've read. I thought they were average reads, and I was disappointed only because I'd expected to love them after reading many praising reviews about these books. High expectations are a b!tch, LOL.


message 31: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Mahlet wrote: "#3 (Bowen) as well as a later book in the series with Demon Cade and his lickable horns (#5?) were the best so far IMHO."

What are those "lickable horns"? Is that an euphemism for the hero's, er, assets? ;)


new_user I stopped reading this series because, like you, I didn't find the plot engaging-- although I suspended belief for Lachlain's breakout, and I liked both characters (the hero, more importantly). But the plot is definitely not the attraction of the series, imo. It's the romance.


Mahlet LMAO Dina! No, no euphemism ;) although Cade WAS so delicious that *that* was very lickable, too -haha! The actual horns on demons in Kresey's series are very sensitive, so much so that even touching Cade's horns drives him crazy with lust ;)


message 34: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina new_user wrote: "I stopped reading this series because, like you, I didn't find the plot engaging-- although I suspended belief for Lachlain's breakout, and I liked both characters (the hero, more importantly). But..."

I guess I'll have to work harder to suspend my disbelief when I read the next book. :)


message 35: by Dina (new) - rated it 3 stars

Dina Mahlet wrote: "LMAO Dina! No, no euphemism ;) although Cade WAS so delicious that *that* was very lickable, too -haha! The actual horns on demons in Kresey's series are very sensitive, so much so that even touchi..."

Okay, thanks for the "visual", Mahlet. Now I'm curious, because I can't quite picture a guy with horns being sexy. The way you keep enticing me, I feel like I'll end up reading the whole series, LOL.



Auntee LOL--I too thought the "horns" would be a turn-off...but they weren't!
Good advice Dina...suspend belief and just go with the flow if you can.:)


back to top