Blacky *Romance Addict*'s Reviews > Fifty Shades of Mr. Darcy: A Parody

Fifty Shades of Mr. Darcy by William Codpiece Thwackery
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8310179
's review
Nov 03, 12

bookshelves: favorites, arc, 3-stars-for-quality, 5-stars-for-enjoyment, review, emoticons-on-bm-pb
Read from November 02 to 03, 2012

"It is a truth universaly acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good riding crop must be in want of a pair of bare buttocks to thrash."

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us


Image Hosted by ImageShack.us



This was the funniest book I have EVER read! I don't remember laughing so much that I cried (several times), and burst out with shocked laughter (practically at every page)!



First I have to say - Pride and Prejudice, fell in love with the story when I first saw the mini-series from 1995. Photobucket watched it about a million times. Read the book more times than I can remember Photobucket so I practically know every dialogue by heart Photobucket And I think that's why I enjoyed this so much :D the way it was all twisted in a funny way. Boy, just couldn't stop laughing Photobucket

My regret is that I haven't read 50 Shades, so I didn't recognise all the parody concerning that, but I've read enough quotes and reviews and discussions to recognise at least some things :D



The story basically follows P&P, just with a slight twists in the characters, Mrs Bennet was a laugh Photobucket Darcy sees Elizabeth and he wants to thrash her with his cane hahahah but he feigns indifference to hide his erection Photobucket Photobucket and you know how it all goes, Jane gets sick, gets better, Mr Phil Collins arrives Photobucket, then Elizabeth goes to visit Rosings Photobucket This was a shock and a picture I want to delete from my brain hahahah Lady Catherine De Burg Photobucket Photobucket And there Darcy finally gets the courage and presents Elizabeth with a sex-slave contract Photobucket


Darcy

He has copper hair and smouldering grey eyes, he smirks a lot and cocks his head all the time XD He's obsessed with feeding Elizabeth, and he wants nothing else but to be her Master Photobucket
He was raised by Lady Catherine, a dominatrix, and was corrupted in her "evil ways". Photobucket


Elizabeth

She has a habit of messing with her hair, and sometimes even allowing Darcy to fix it for her XD She has an Inner Slapper and a Subconscious that talk to her very often Photobucket She sees Darcy as the vulnerable man he is, and she wants to heal him Photobucket


There were a lot of things here that made me cry with laughter, and I won't reveal them just in case you decide to read this, but one thing I just have to mention, this is EPIC and I don't think I'll ever forget it Photobucket


Best scene:

Whackem (Wikham) telling Elizabeth the story how he and Darcy became estranged
Photobucket O.M.G. Funniest thing ever!


For those of you who have read '50 Shades' and 'Pride and Prejudice', and have nothing against reading a parody of both, I'd recommend to get this book immediately! It's just that funny!


*ARC courtesy of Simon & Schuster via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


85 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Fifty Shades of Mr. Darcy.
sign in »

Reading Progress

11/02/2012
1.0% "Darcy and bondage Photobucket

This should be a laugh heheheheh" 3 comments
11/02/2012
2.0% ""It is a truth universaly acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good riding crop must be in want of a pair of bare buttocks to thrash."

OMG ahahahahahahahah Oh lord I think this is going to be funny as hell ahahahahah"
11/02/2012
10.0% ""Please indulge me, Miss Bennet. I am an inordinately wealthy man, and if I wish to Btw you a silk shift with little cut-out bits that allow just a fleeting glimpse of nipple, that is my prerogative."

OMG this is the funniest thing I ever read!"
11/02/2012
10.0% ""Please indulge me, Miss Bennet. I am an inordinately wealthy man, and if I wish to buy you a silk shift with little cut-out bits that allow just a fleeting glimpse of nipple, that is my prerogative."

OMG this is the funniest thing I ever read! Can't stop laughing!" 6 comments
11/02/2012
36.0% "'I skipped breakfast this morning,'she declared, and immediately noticed his jaw tighten. 'Then it is well that I have a baguette in my pocket,' he countered, reaching into his breeches and pulling out a thick French stick. 'Would you oblige me with a nibble?'

Lol!"
11/02/2012
70.0% ""By the way, Darcy, when I've finished, do you want me to give you a little something for that eye infection?"
"No, thank you, Doctor. I like my eyes to smoulder. It makes me look sexy."

Bwahahahaha"
11/02/2012
79.0% "Anxiously, she began biting her nails. Darcy made a low, guttural growling sound.
"Don't do that, Elizabeth," he murmured. "You know what it does to me."
"Forgive me,"said Elizabeth, dropping her hands into her lap. "I did not mean to set your passions aflame."" 2 comments

Comments (showing 1-50 of 58) (58 new)


message 1: by kristina (new) - added it

kristina lol is this a parody of fifty shades of grey??


Blacky *Romance Addict* Yes! A parody of both 50 Shades and Pride and Prejudice. It's so funny, I can't stop laughing, my cheeks hurt XD awesome!


message 3: by Madeleine (new) - added it

Madeleine I totally need to read this later ^.^


Rach  *Feisty kitty* Love it ha ha!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Madeleine wrote: "I totally need to read this later ^.^"

Oh. Yes. Totally.


message 6: by Christina (new) - added it

Christina White LOL.. read part of your review.. (but didn't want to spoil it for myself.. so going to read this!)


Blacky *Romance Addict* :D Oh do, you're gonna laugh like crazy :D


message 8: by Amanda (new) - added it

Amanda The Book Slayer I think I got this from NetGalley too. I think I have to push it up on my TBR list. lol Great review!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Amanda wrote: "I think I got this from NetGalley too. I think I have to push it up on my TBR list. lol Great review!"

Thanks Amanda :D read it when you're in the mood for a good laugh :D


message 10: by Carol (new)

Carol Ri Interesting, I never tried reading parodies yet.


message 11: by Lisa (new) - added it

Lisa Great review! I will have to read this now, looks like fun!


Blacky *Romance Addict* I got this for free, that's why I read it hahahah not usually my thing either. But it was great :D


message 13: by Carol (new)

Carol Ri Interesting, I never tried reading parodies yet.


Blacky *Romance Addict* Lisa wrote: "Great review! I will have to read this now, looks like fun!"

Oh yes, it's a laugh all right :D brilliant!


message 15: by Sassy P (new)

Sassy P Wow, this sounds crazy! Great review Blacky!


message 16: by Jenny (new) - added it

Jenny Levine This is interesting! Great review, as always! :)


message 17: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Great review Blacky!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Samantha wrote: "Wow, this sounds crazy! Great review Blacky!"

Yup Samantha, it really is XD Can't remember the last time I laughed so much :D


Blacky *Romance Addict* Jenny wrote: "This is interesting! Great review, as always! :)"

Thanks Jenny, and it's great!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Lisa wrote: "Great review Blacky!"

Thank you Lisa :D


message 21: by Dd (new)

Dd ***laughing***......***still laughing***.....oh my God!
Mr. Darcy,a dom...every female's dream.

GREAT(plz note the shouty capitals) review..;)


Stacia (the 2010 club) Sounds like a fun time. :)


Becs - Sinfully Sexy Book Reviews Great review Blacky - I have a fridge magnet of Colin Firth just like your pic that I bought at Chatsworth!


message 24: by Em (new)

Em I have that same magnet Becs! Love it:) Great review Blacky, as always!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Dd wrote: "***laughing***......***still laughing***.....oh my God!
Mr. Darcy,a dom...every female's dream.

GREAT(plz note the shouty capitals) review..;)"


Ahahaha thanks! When I saw the title I was like: Have! To read! This!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Stacia (Ace of Skates) wrote: "Sounds like a fun time. :)"

Oh yes indeed, can't remember the last time I laughed so much :D


Blacky *Romance Addict* Becs wrote: "Great review Blacky - I have a fridge magnet of Colin Firth just like your pic that I bought at Chatsworth!"

Thanks Becs :D hahah a fridge magnet lol well who better to see everyday than Mr. Darcy! :D


Blacky *Romance Addict* Foolish wrote: "I have that same magnet Becs! Love it:) Great review Blacky, as always!"

Thanks Foolish :D you have a magnet too? Damn now I really want one of those :D


message 29: by Karolina (new) - added it

Karolina Love your review hun, you just made my morning, can't stop laughing. I have to get my hands on that book, sooo funny :)


message 30: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Review was great. I'm definetly going to pick up this book! Have you read the series 50 shades of Alice in Wonderland.


Blacky *Romance Addict* Karolina wrote: "Love your review hun, you just made my morning, can't stop laughing. I have to get my hands on that book, sooo funny :)"

Lol thank you Karolina :D and yes, get it, the book is so so funny!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Jennifer wrote: "Review was great. I'm definetly going to pick up this book! Have you read the series 50 shades of Alice in Wonderland."

Thanks Jennifer!
No, I haven't even heard of that. But I picked this because of P&P, haven't read 50 shades so it doesn't attract me that much XD


message 33: by Steffi (new) - added it

Steffi The books sounds as hilarious as your review and status updates:) This is going straight on my TBR list!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Steffi wrote: "The books sounds as hilarious as your review and status updates:) This is going straight on my TBR list!"

Oh it realy is :D Enjoy when you get to it :D


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Love your review, Blacky! Very entertaining!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks Baba :D I could just quote the entire book, there isn't a part that's not funny :)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Blacky wrote: "Thanks Baba :D I could just quote the entire book, there isn't a part that's not funny :)"

Lol It's sometimes hard to pick the "right" quotes.


✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ Great review Blacky....sounds really funny!


Blacky *Romance Addict* ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "Great review Blacky....sounds really funny!"

Thanks Sharon! Oh it is FUNNY! Crazy funny :D


message 40: by Elizabeth (Liz) (new)

Elizabeth (Liz) LMAO!!! Hilarious! Great review, Blacky!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Elizabeth wrote: "LMAO!!! Hilarious! Great review, Blacky!"

Thanks so much Elizabeth :D It was a hilarious book :)


message 42: by [deleted user] (last edited Nov 04, 2012 09:59AM) (new)

Hahahahaha! It sounds terrific, in both meanings. Really. Oh God! There's nothing impossible, isn't it? LMAO But, seriously, it has a tiny aroma of blasphemy LMAO

BTW, did you see this movie? It's abso-fucking-lutely idiotic but I LOVE it LOL


Blacky *Romance Addict* Hahahah well, I know that die-hard fans won't be able to take this, but hell, I'm kinda die-hard myself, and I thought this was extremely funny :D It's a simple parody, not really Darcy doing BDSM hahahah if it was written in a serious way I don't think I'd take it XD

And no, never heard of the movie, but it sounds hilarious!


message 44: by Vishous (new) - added it

Vishous i guess i need to read this now after your review... damn another one :)


Blacky *Romance Addict* Vishous wrote: "i guess i need to read this now after your review... damn another one :)"

Hahahah :D Oh I laughed so much at this Xd and I haven't even read 50 shades bwahahah


Sammy, the Cyborg Slut  & Lover of Books OMG Looks like a must read! Two of my favorite books combined!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Lol! Yeah it was pretty hilarious even though I haven't read 50S so you'll probably like it


message 48: by Adeniyi (new)

Adeniyi Monday hanks so much Elizabeth :D It was a hilarious book :)


message 49: by Ebru (new)

Ebru Özseçen so well structured...incredible...Hahahaha...


Blacky *Romance Addict* :DDDD Did you read the book? I had some really good laughs with it ahahah :D


« previous 1
back to top