David McClendon, Sr's Reviews > Management: Tasks, Responsibilities, Practices

Management by Peter F. Drucker
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6999870
's review
Sep 20, 2012

it was amazing
Read from September 20, 2012 to June 30, 2013

Drucker attempts to give detailed information on many different areas of management. The book contains loads of information. Drucker provides his readers a detailed history of the field of management.
The reader also learns a good deal about different management structures and styles, and the need for companies to structure their organizations to allow for growth.
This book was a long read for me, primarily because this type of book is recreational reading for me and I have been busy of late. The other reason is that there is so much information packed into this book that the reader has to take time to absorb it.
Drucker provides a brief history of companies like Sears, IBM, and others. As an amateur business historian, I found this aspect of the book to be very interesting.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Management.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

10/03/2012 page 28
3.24% "So far this has been a very slow read."
12/22/2012 page 216
25.0% "This is a long slow read."
01/20/2013 page 346
40.05% "So far this book has been very dry. The information is interesting but you have to work to get it. This is a very slow read."
02/17/2013 page 363
42.01% "Interesting Reading so far. It is a slow read"
02/27/2013 page 436
50.46% "This book contains good information. It takes a while to read it."
03/01/2013 page 481
55.67% "Some very good information and some very thought-provoking concepts."
03/01/2013 page 484
56.02% "Drucker is talking about Plato now. I always thought that was colored clay you made things out of."
03/02/2013 page 494
57.18% "Up to chapter 39"
03/27/2013 page 553
64.0% "Great information. I do not get to spend as much time reading this as I would like."
05/02/2013 page 618
71.53% "Interesting reading so far. Just do not have the time to spend on reading that I would like to."
05/18/2013 page 636
73.61% "A lot of information packed into this book."
05/19/2013 page 661
76.0% "Still a good book."
06/10/2013 page 699
80.0% "This is a good book. I wish I had more time to devote to it. I spend all day reading and get little time for recreational reading."
06/13/2013 page 710
82.0% "I am cooking with gas on this book now. The thing weighs about five pounds."
06/19/2013 page 717
82.0% "Drucker is discussing GM. I decided to read My Years at General Motors because of how well recommended it is."
06/20/2013 page 738
85.0% "Multinational vs. Transnational, do I care?"
06/29/2013 page 784
90.0% "So far very interesting information"
07/01/2013 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

No comments have been added yet.