Carmel (Rabid Reads)'s Reviews > Deadly Sting

Deadly Sting by Jennifer Estep
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4561998
's review
Aug 19, 2013

really liked it
bookshelves: audio
Read from December 19, 2012 to August 19, 2013 , read count: 2

Reviewed by: Rabid Reads

All good things must come to an end and unfortunately, Deadly Sting brings Estep’s five star reign to a halt. After seven installments it comes as no surprise that Jennifer opted to try something new with her Elemental Assassin series but sadly this book fell short of its mark. I’ll still take this novel any day of the week over most Urban Fantasy reads out there even though it didn’t meet this author’s usual standards. This is also my first non-audiobook experience with Estep which makes me wonder whether the narrator really does make that big of a difference.

The scope of this novel’s plot was very narrow in my opinion; the story was severely limited because it unfolds over the course of one night in one location. The secondary characters’ roles were also quite small on account of them being locked-up for a good portion of this book which is a shame because I love them almost as much as Gin. As a result, readers get to spend some quality time with Blanco but even that couldn’t appease me because she wasn’t her usual introspective self. One of my favourite aspects of her character is her internal monologues which were all but absent in this story. Then add Owen channeling Donovan Cain’s douche-ry into the mix and I couldn’t help but wonder what the heck happened to my beloved Elemental Assassin series in this installment.

Even though Grayson’s character was all but massacred in Widow’s Web I still held out hope that he’d come to his senses and realize the error of his ways. I thought that the life-or-death adrenaline high he and Gin both experience would have at least resulted in one intense shagging session but alas all readers get is one measly kiss. I was disappointed by the lack of progress on the relationship front; Estep didn’t even give us a sliver of hope in the form of a cliffhanger. Instead we got a repeat of the diner conversation from the last installment. I’m an eternal optimist so I’m not prepared to write Owen off yet but their rift is approaching the point of no return. I don’t really see how Jennifer can redeem Grayson’s character without him looking like a pansy.

Once the audiobook version of Deadly Sting becomes available I will be giving this novel a second chance to see if Lauren Fortgang’s narration changes my opinion. In spite of my negative review I still enjoyed reconnecting with my favourite characters and the quality of the action in this installment is undeniable; I just wish that Jennifer Estep had stuck with her tried and true Elemental Assassin format. Maybe I’m just suffering from growing pains but sometimes change isn’t always good.

1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Deadly Sting.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

12/19/2012
28.0%
12/19/2012
51.0% 2 comments
08/09/2013 marked as: currently-reading
08/09/2013
25.0% "I've been missing Gin and Lauren Fortgang so even though I've already READ this one; I figured it was time to LISTEN to it!" 4 comments
08/19/2013 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Shameera Oh my I am starting lose hope with Owen and Gin getting back together. I hate to say it but I really do like for all my heroines to have someone standing with them to make them whole (ducks) feminist/independent ladies will hate me. I have a old soul lol dont judge me


back to top