Broche's Reviews > Outpost

Outpost by Ann Aguirre
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
206040
's review
Sep 03, 12

bookshelves: adventure, children-s-books-all, dystopian, teen-ya-age-16-18
Read in August, 2012

For fans of Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games and James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, have I got the series for you! Outpost, the sequel to Enclave, and the second book in the Razorland trilogy, is releasing in September, meaning the first two gripping adventures in this young adult dystopian trilogy are going to be available.

enclave 202x300 Book Review: Outpost by Ann AguirreTo bring you up to speed, in Enclave, Deuce was born an raised in an underground community on a post-apocalyptic Earth. She is a Huntress, and together with her fighting partner, Fade, she helps find food for the enclave and guards it against the Freaks – mutant humans who act more like beasts, animalistic in their eating habits (including attacking and eating humans) to survive. Life is far from perfect, but Deuce is satisfied with her place in the Enclave. Until she finds out the Elders are more manipulative than she could have ever imagined. When one of her friends is framed by the Elders to be used as a sacrificial example to the Enclave, Deuce steps forward instead. Banished from the only life and home she has ever known, Deuce is lucky that Fade exiles himself with her. Fad has not always lived underground, and so now the two travel through the dangerous tunnels, running and fighting for their lives, in an attempt to make it topside and see what the above ground world holds. But life up there is no picnic either, and as the two travel across the wasteland, they continue to have to rely on each other and their fighting skills. Picking up two more outcasts along the way, this group of four make their way toward an uncertain future, trying to reach one of the walled communities that exist in the North.

In Outpost, having made it to relative safety, Deuce, Fade, and their friends have been adopted out into the community. Forced to act in a more feminine manner – wearing dresses instead of pants, her hair in braids, forbidden to carry her knives, and made to go to school – Deuce feels lost and strains against the constraints of the apparent civilized society’s rules. Until the community realizes the outpost has Freaks of their own to fight, and what’s worse, the Freaks are no longer the mindless creatures driven by instinct. They have banded together for the first time in anyone’s memory. In order to save the outpost, its citizens will have to rely on the fighting skills Deuce and her friends have brought with them. No one is safe yet.
1 like · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Outpost.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.