Dwight's Reviews > Complete Works of Tacitus

Complete Works of Tacitus by Tacitus
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
379869
's review
Feb 25, 2014

liked it
bookshelves: sjc-re-read
Read from August 29, 2012 to February 25, 2014 — I own a copy , read count: 1

Took me a year and a half, but I made it through. This would be made much better if it were given the Landmark treatment. I spent many pages simply overwhelmed by the number of people and places which were too much for me to comprehend. There are some great bits though. My favorite was book 5 of the history.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Complete Works of Tacitus.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

01/20/2013 page 228
29.0% "March 15 isn't a good day for roman emperors."
11/10/2013 page 323
41.0% "Has a movie been made about Agrippina? There should be one."
12/09/2013 page 419
54.0% "Finished the Annals, on to the History."
12/10/2013 page 431
55.0% "Apparently there was no Latin word for billion: "Nero had squandered in presents two thousand two hundred million sesterces""
12/30/2013 page 503
65.0% ""They did not refrain from abuse or actual violence; they reviled him as a deserter and traitor, not having any specific charge against him, but all, after the fashion of the mob, imputing to him their own crimes.""
01/14/2014 page 548
70.0% ""Vanquished by accident, these men had never valued their general as much as they now in disaster felt his absence.""
01/20/2014 page 576
74.0% "In the year of Four Emperors. Pretty exciting compared to the preceding few decades. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Year_..."
01/21/2014 page 593
76.0% "...the war had come to an end but the peace had yet to begin."
02/15/2014 page 662
85.0% "Tacitus is no fan of the Jews: 'King Antiochus strove to destroy the national superstition, and to introduce Greek civilization, but was prevented by his war with the Parthians from at all improving this vilest of nations.'"
02/15/2014 page 677
87.0% "History broke off incomplete. On to Agricola."
02/23/2014 page 709
91.0% "Now we get to learn about Germany and its tribes."
02/25/2014 marked as: read

No comments have been added yet.