Jon's Reviews > The Einstein Intersection

The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R. Delany
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
899665
's review
Apr 23, 13

bookshelves: apocalyptic, fiction, science-fiction, read-in-my-40s, liked-it
Recommended to Jon by: Jim MacLachlan
Read from May 07 to 09, 2009, read count: 1

11 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Einstein Intersection.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

05/07/2009 page 9
5.66% "The first chapter was very strange. Not sure where the narrator lives, could be Earth, could be post-apocolyptic Earth, could be colony."
05/07/2009 page 44
27.67% "Very strange so far. Still unsure of the origins of the species. Mutation of humans? or colonizing alians?"
05/08/2009 page 52
32.7% "Finally read the back cover - aliens occupying Earth, humans long gone."
05/08/2009 page 58
36.48% "Getting stranger and stranger."
05/09/2009 page 70
44.03% "Lobey learns how he is different."
05/09/2009 page 112
70.44% "Lobey observes Kid Death tempting Green-Eyes in the wilderness."
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Werner (new)

Werner What was "strange" (from our perspective) back in the late 1960s wasn't something in the water, but something in the culture. The academic and literary scene was roiling with an essentially psychedelic brew of mass drug experimentation, socio-cultural dislocation and alienation, rebellion against the whole human past, and widespread apocalyptic and Utopian expectations vying with each other. In the SF community, the movement that coalesced all these trends was the New Wave, and Delaney was one of its leading figures. For various reasons, that movement dominated the politics of the Hugo and Nebula awards in that era, and for years afterwards.


message 2: by Jon (last edited May 09, 2009 04:46PM) (new) - added it

Jon Since I was less than five years old in 1968, I have no relevant memory of the times. I can read about the 60s and watch documentaries about it, but I feel divorced from all that happened. My social and cultural awareness awakened in the late 70s and matured in the mid-80s - far removed from the rebellions and upheavals of the 60s.


message 3: by Ron (new) - rated it 2 stars

Ron Excellent analysis by Werner.

The 60s were electric with the overturning of old ideas and mores--whether they need to be overturned or not. The vector of our society changed forever; we're still debating whether for good or ill. (IMHO: both.)


message 4: by Jon (last edited May 09, 2009 04:55PM) (new) - added it

Jon I have two more Hugo nominees to read from 1968:

http://www.thehugoawards.org/?page_id=51
http://www.locusmag.com/SFAwards/Db/H...

I recently acquired both Chthon and Thorns. I will probably skip reading The Butterfly Kid.


message 5: by Stasha (new)

Stasha Werner said it better than I could. Along with looking at the other Hugo Award Nominees, the cultural and historical context need to be examined. Remember this is the year before the moon landing, colonization of other planets is believable and Utopian societies are an escape from the realities of Vietnam and the Cold War.


message 6: by Jon (last edited Jun 26, 2009 12:50PM) (new) - added it

Jon Just put this back in my BookMooch inventory - http://www.bookmooch.com/m/detail/055...

http://www.bookmooch.com/m/inventory/...

Happy Mooching!


Mooched early this morning.


message 7: by Bonnie (new)

Bonnie I'm beginning to wonder if there was something strange in the water back in 1968 ... perhaps Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds?

I had a good laugh at that last line, Jon.:)

And I agree: Werner said it best. (I can hear that song and be reminded of those days very clearly.)


back to top