LORI CASWELL's Reviews > The Last Refuge

The Last Refuge by Ben Coes
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Aug 29, 2012

really liked it
bookshelves: read-2012
Read from August 19 to 20, 2012

Kohl Meir has come to New York to recruit Dewey Andreas to help him complete a very secret mission. Meir had been tipped off that Iran had finally succeeded in building their first nuclear weapon, one they were planning to use to attack Israel. His source has seen the bomb.

Before they can meet Meir is kidnapped off the streets of Brooklyn by the Iranian Secret Service. They transport him back to Iran where he is imprisoned and tortured and now must stand trial. The trial is just for show. When found guilty he will be sentenced to death by firing squad.

Dewey Andreas, a former Army Ranger and Delta, owes his life to Meir and his team of Israeli commandos. He is honor bound to save the man that saved his life. Even if the prison where he is being held is a fortress that makes a rescue virtually impossible. He is also on a quest to get rid of the nuclear threat posed by Iran. With a little help from his friends he sets off on his most dangerous mission yet.

Dollycas's Thoughts

I must first say this is my first Ben Coes novel and while part of a series it reads satisfactorily as a stand alone, but there are several references to events in previous books.

This book is quite the tale of covert operations and the author has taken a little creative liberty is some protocol issues and definitely shows his feelings about the people of Iran. Formerly a campaign manager for Mitt Romney back in 2002, I find the plot timely and its release a bit politically generated as Mitt Romney wants to wage war against Iran as soon as he is elected, which I pray never happens.

With those issues aside the book is a thrilling page turner with many twists and turns. There are several characters to keep track of at first but soon the story starts to flow. Dewey is quite a hero and you really to want him to succeed in his mission. The fast pace does keep you on the edge of your seat. I was surprised on how quickly I read this book.

Fans of Brad Thor or Vince Flynn, two of my husband's favorites, will love this book. I may go back and read the first two as I wait for the next installment.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Last Refuge.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.