Kristen's Reviews > In a Fix

In a Fix by Linda Grimes
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3955686
's review
Sep 03, 12

bookshelves: fantasy, magical, romance, shapeshifters, urban-fantasy
Read from August 14 to 18, 2012

GENRE: Urban Fantasy
THEME: Shape shifters/Romance
RECEIVED: Review for Tor
BLOG: http://seeingnight.blogspot.com/

REVIEW:
Linda Grimes created an entertaining and unique story, where her characters can become anyone just by being around their aura. I loved the originality and humor that was in In a Fix, and the character that were well written and very memorable.

In a Fix follows Ciel Halligan a woman who wants to be independent and has had enough of her family and friends treating her like she cant do anything. Ciel has an interesting job where she solves client’s problems by actually becoming them; she can replicate anyone because she is able to adapt her aura to theirs. She takes a job that should be simple, go on vacation with her client’s boyfriend and get him to propose. But something goes wrong when she’s almost blown up in her bungalow and her clients should be fiancé disappears. Luckily her over protective friends step in to help, both very good at adapting aura just like Ciel.

Ciel Halligan is a character that really is trying to break free from the hold her family has on her. Especially her older brother, they want her to have a safe job and she doesn’t like being babied one bit. She has a major stubborn streak and pretty much doesn’t listen to the guys trying to help her. She also gets dealt a surprise from Mark, her crush that shows up during the time she’s trying to find her clients fiancé. I loved their interactions and how Mark really cares for her but is trying to not cross that line.

The boys, Mark and Billy really make it hard for Ciel to do her job. They want her protected why they handle finding her clients fiancé. Its hilarious watching Billy enjoying himself as a girl and Mark confusing him as Ciel, the boys have an awkward moment, which made me laugh so much. They also both have feeling for Ciel and of course confuse they heck out of her with mixed signals. But Billy seems to be a bit bolder with his actions. I’m interested to see how this love triangle pans out in the next book.

Then there’s the villains, which I found to be hilarious, modern day Vikings who was to restore the male populations masculinity. It was a bit odd for a plot and having their main target be Ciels clients fiancé made from some funny scenes. Even though I thought their idea was really quirky and strange it made for an extremely entertaining plot.

Overall I enjoyed this action packed and fun filled adventure, with memorable character and a lead that really gets herself in some sticky situations. It may take a bit for the readers to understand the aura changes between the characters, but I found this shifting idea so much fun and I recommend this new series.

RECOMMENDATION:
This is an adult novel that all urban fantasy lovers should get their hands on a copy. Fans of Chloe Neill’s Chicagoland Vampire series and Jennifer Esteps Elemental Assassin series will love In a Fix by Linda Grimes
1 like · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read In a Fix.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.