Joi's Reviews > Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering

Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1140266
's review
Dec 02, 08

bookshelves: fiction, religion, reviewed
Read in August, 2005

Somewhat in the vein of Ravi Zacharias's Conversations series, Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory is an attempt to address some of the major tenets of contemporary Christianity. Due to its brevity (it weighs in at only 100 pages), Dinner tends to gloss over very heavy issues. Gregory touches on why bad things happen, the nature of fallenness, the need & result of grace, the existence of heaven and hell, the reliability of the Bible, a comparison of Christianity to other religions, the justness of God, the mystery of the trinity, and even the results of prayer. Given that hundreds of pages have been written on any one of these issues, this small book can do little more than mention them. Ultimately, this text works best for someone who has only a passing knowledge of Christian beliefs and who wants a narrative over deep, critical thinking.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dinner with a Perfect Stranger.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.