Adam's Reviews > The Scar

The Scar by China Miéville
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
214053
's review
Aug 08, 11

bookshelves: steampunkery, literature-fantastique
Recommended for: Fans of Melville and Verne

The Scar is a wonderful evocation of the macabre adventure stories of Verne and Wells, philosophical treatise on dystopias/utopias, dark steampunk fantasia in the Moorcock vein, grisly spy story, mad quest worthy of Melville, and a language showcase. I think once the shock of the new wore off that caused people to fawn over Perdido Street Station(which for the most part deserved the praise) critics and readers dimissed the other two subsequent books of Mieville’s anti-trilogy. Well, they missed out because I think he got better. Not much in fiction is more intense than the last third of this book where it gets pretty messy.
6 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Scar.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.