Ronna's Reviews > The Inn at Rose Harbor

The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Aug 24, 12

bookshelves: first-reads
Read from August 07 to 18, 2012

Jo Marie Rose has come to Cedar Cove to start her new life by opening a Bed and Breakfast where she hope to find healing, return to joy, and most of all PEACE.  After less than a year of marriage to her true soul mate, she finds herself widowed by the
war in Afghanistan, and her grief from this loss has been all consuming.   Her husband, Paul, left her with an insurance policy that allows her to start this new endeavor, but much more importantly, Paul has come to her in a dream to encourage her on this new path of 'healing' for herself and all who come to her Inn.

Her first two guests arrive and Jo Marie is excited to begin her own healing process as she provides a beautiful place of comfort, hospitality, and a listening ear for these two wounded souls.  Abby hasn't been back to her home town in many years.  Though she had a beautiful life growing up in Cedar Cove, she has not been able to bare having any connections to this place or people since the accident when her best friend, Angelia, was killed in the car accident when Abby crashed her car on an icy road as the girls were returning home from one of their 'best friends' outings. Her guilt of surviving when Angelia did not has overwhelmed all her life decisions since then.  Now her brother's wedding has forced her unwanted return.

Josh has also avoided Cedar Cove since he was thrown out of his house in his last year of high school by his step-father, Richard, after his Mom died. Now Josh has been called back by the social worker who says Richard needs Josh because Richard is dying.  Josh's need to retrieve some of his Mother's 'heart treasures' has given him no choice but overcome his hatred for Richard for a few days in Cedar Cove again.

For readers of Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove books, this will be a welcome return to a lovely community and beloved friends.  For those newcomers to Cedar Grove, this book will introduce you to new community through Jo Marie and her new Inn at Rose Harbor, where healing and peace will hopefully be found for the unsuspecting guests who take lodging for a few days with Jo Marie.  As with all of Macomber's books, this book is also peopled with characters who will draw you into their lives before you realize what has happened.  Ah, and just wait till you meet, Rover, the dog who adopts Jo Marie from the animal shelter. Yes, I said that right--he adopts her!

Many different forms of grief are portrayed so well in this book. And as we all have been in grief or known those in grief, the process of healing, and new found peace and joys found in this book will make every reader want to take up residency for a while in THE INN AT ROSE HARBOR!  As with all those loyal fans of the Cedar Grove books, I suspect there will be many more fans who will want to become part of this little community after they read this book.  And, never fear, if you are new to Cedar Grove, this Rose Harbor Inn book will introduce you to everyone just as any newcomer to an area is welcomed into great community. In fact, for newcomers who, like me, are always impatient for a favorite authors 'next book' , you can start the Cedar Grove series with 16 LIGHTHOUSE RD and become part of the community to welcome the Rose Harbor Inn guests when Debbie Macomber's new books are published! A terrific read all around!!

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Inn at Rose Harbor.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.