Manny's Reviews > The House at Pooh Corner

The House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1713956
's review
Dec 04, 13

bookshelves: children, strongly-recommended, well-i-think-its-funny, story-review, flagged
Read in January, 1965, read count: 10

Winnie the Pooh and the Cocktail Party

"Hi. I'm Vikki. Sorry, what did you say your name was? So noisy in here you can't hear a thing. Ed. Got it. Nice to meet you, Ed! What? Oh, I'm a model. Glamor. Thanks! Well, if you've walked past the men's magazine section this week, then you will have. Front cover of Loaded. Really? Hey, that's sweet. No, I mean it. You're really nice. Oh, alright then. Would you believe it, stockings and a honey-pot. That was it. Yes, I do actually. Love it. Have it for breakfast every morning. Guess that's why the shot came out so well. Me and a honey-pot... I didn't even notice the camera. I know, it sounds silly. Yes, the runny kind, that's my favorite too. Get out! Really? OK, OK, let's hear your honey story. Sorry? You actually climbed up the tree to get it? That's awesome. OMG. What, how high were you? Jesus Christ. You didn't break anything? You know, you're a lot tougher than you look. I love the way you said that. Can't stand these macho types. Oh, go on, tell me another one. OK... OK... a what trap? A Hefner lump? Sorry, just too noisy. Never mind, what happened next? Hey, I do that too! I know, once you've started you just can't stop. You're the first person I've ever met who understands. You what?? You actually got your head stuck in it?! Ha! Oh, you are totally cracking me up, I love this story! Ha! Ha! I'm sorry about your friend though, I hope he recovered. It's funny, I just feel so relaxed with you. It's like I've known you for ages. Since I was a little girl in fact. Oh, I see everyone's starting to leave. Look, I know this sounds crazy, like we've only just met and I'll probably regret it in the morning, but come home with me. Um, well, yes and no. I just... I just want to hold you. All night. You do? You really do understand? Ed, I can't believe this. It feels like fate. I'm so happy I met you. OK, let me get my coat. We're outta here."

___________________________________________

If you want to examine the magazine cover which inspired the review, note that, as the review suggests, it's in dubious taste, and features a mostly naked woman. If that kind of thing offends you, don't look at it! Otherwise, it's at http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/ar...





24 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The House at Pooh Corner.
sign in »

Comments (showing 29-78)





Manny Based on a suggestion by David G...


message 77: by Mike (new)

Mike                                              Sure, blame it on David.

I always knew Pooh was dirty. Eeyore, always out looking for tail....


message 76: by Alan (new)

Alan I don't know why but I keep coming back to re-read this review.


Manny Well, I must admit that David's suggestion was rather more about T.S. Eliot than Vikki Blows. But when I happened to see her and her honey-pot on the cover of Zoo yesterday, it was too much to resist. I apologize to everyone concerned!



message 74: by Manny (last edited Apr 22, 2009 05:16AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Manny And Mike, I don't know why you're calling Pooh dirty. I thought I made it abundantly clear that nothing untoward was going to take place! This is a relationship based on a shared love of honey and snuggling...



message 73: by David (new) - rated it 1 star

David
I distinctly asked for more scaphism*, not cheesecake. And what about maiden aunt? When she stumbles across the picturte of that brazen hussy who appears to be contemplating hunny-pot thodomy, her dentures may not survive the shock.

+ scaphism: An ancient mode of punishing criminals among the Persians, by confining the victim in a trough, with his head and limbs smeared with honey or the like, and exposed to the sun and to insects until he died.

Actually, Eliot does not actually specify that honey was involved in Celia Coplestone's death, just that she was "crucified near an anthill".



message 72: by Manny (last edited Apr 22, 2009 08:00AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Manny Well, I thought about the scaphism, but in the end I felt it was contrary to the spirit of the book. A.A. Milne just isn't about violent death.

And, brazen as this hussy may appear, I was hoping people would read the words as well as look at the picture. On reflection, I admit that may have been optimistic. But I have great confidence in Auntie. I know she'll understand that Ms Blows is, inside, just a little girl who's missing her bear, and invite her around for tea.



message 71: by Madeline (last edited Apr 23, 2009 08:40AM) (new)

Madeline Great. I was checking my email in my college's library and guess what review pops up?

Madeline: AAAAAAHHHH SCROLL DOWN SCROLL DOWN SCROLL DOWN!


message 70: by Kristine (new)

Kristine Yeah I checked this at owrk. I was not expecting picture of a naked woman in a book review!


Manny Kristine wrote: "Yeah I checked this at owrk. I was not expecting picture of a naked woman in a book review!"

I'm sorry. I've never done it before, and I'll never do it again. But it was just so perfect! I was thinking about a Pooh review, I walked past a news-stand, and there she was with her honey-pot. The story wrote itself...



message 68: by Nools (last edited Apr 23, 2009 08:40AM) (new)

Nools Exactly the same as Madeline. Looking around nervously. I don't think anyone noticed.

I'll never read Milne the same way again.


message 67: by trivialchemy (new)

trivialchemy Manny, I would almost feel bad about inadvertently loading your smut into JPL computers, except I recall reading a study one time about an audit into the use of NASA computer resources among post-docs and doctoral candidates, and the discovery that something like 20 or 30% of computer time was spent downloading pornography.

Of course, it is take-your-child-to-work-day, so maybe postpone any more smut-peddling until tomorrow?


Manny I cannot count the number of times my so-called sense of humor has got me into trouble. But I solemnly promise that it'll never again do it in this exact way!



Manny And thank you Kristine! At least I can feel that there is one other person in the world who thought this was amusing. I was starting to wonder :)




message 64: by Brad (last edited Apr 23, 2009 09:39AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Brad Absolutely the BEST Pooh spoof I have ever read. This is the jewel in your review crown, Manny. And I like Vikki, too (I think...) ;)


message 63: by oriana (new)

oriana Oh Manny, more than amusing, says I – brilliant, in fact!! You'll get no scolding from me for this depraved cleverness.


Robert On reflection, I remember that the Furies are in The Family Re-union, not The Cocktail Party....


Manny I feel much reassured! Thank you everyone. Though I am not so reassured that I will do it again soon... you can open your updates in public without fear of new surprises :)



message 60: by Madeline (new)

Madeline Just wait, some conservative mother will be innocently browsing the Pooh reviews, trying to decide whether she should buy the book for her children, when she sees Manny's review.

"Hm, I'm not really sure where this reviewer is going with this story, but he gave the book five stars, so I guess I'll click "more" and finish the review...let's see what else he OH MY SWEET JESUS! PORN! PORN ON GOODREADS! NOWHERE IS SAFE! QUICKLY, CHILDREN! TO THE PANIC ROOM!!!"


message 59: by Brad (new) - rated it 3 stars

Brad Are you kidding, Madeline?! I'm surprised that reader hasn't already appeared and that GoodReads and Manny aren't already splashed all over Yahoo news and every other sensationalist news agency. I'm surprised that all the friends of Manny haven't already had their accounts turned off. Actually...maybe we should all flag the discussion ourselves just to set the ball rolling.


message 58: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Manny, you've outdone yourself here.
And hey, you were just walking past a news stand and saw the news...that you saw this lass and immediately thought of dear Winnie is admirable...


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio I don't know about the rest of you, but I really enjoyed the nudity. I like sex. And comedy.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio And purified, liquid-ish sugar.


message 55: by Joshua Nomen-Mutatio (last edited Apr 23, 2009 07:04PM) (new)

Joshua Nomen-Mutatio So out of the ordinary, I know. But I'm not ashamed (anymore) to admit it.

Pornography and the very sight of female nipples are taboo! That's right, I said it.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio And I just have to marvel at that stage name. "Ms. Blows, are you ready for your photo shoot?" Or is it a stage name?? Is there a Blows clan out there somewhere? Enticing mystery upon enticing mystery, they just keep piling on. I think I've had too much to drink tonight. This can't really be as amusing as I'm sort of finding it to be. Boredom, booze and Blows. So it goes...


message 53: by Manny (last edited Apr 24, 2009 04:45AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Manny I should add that I lived in Sweden for 10 years, where topless sunbathing is extremely common. During summer, we'd often go down to the park. You only had to look around for a moment to see literally a dozen women who were just as attractive as Vikki Blows, showing just as much as she is here.

So to me it's not a big deal, and I was mostly amused by her honey-pot... but I know people see these things differently, and I'm sorry if I offended anyone!

Is that the sound of somebody booking a ticket to Stockholm? I should warn you that summer arrives later at that latitude... better check the outdoor temperature first :)





Joshua Nomen-Mutatio One more reason to move to Sweden. They should include topless sunbathing as a category in the United Nations' annual Human Development Report, of which Sweden always ranks very well.


message 51: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Manny,

Shouldn't there also be some disclaimer about how there are also women sunning their century old wrinkly apple leather breasts as well? I haven't been to Sweden, but I distinctly remember the mostly disappointed faces of American males in my group after hoofing out to a French beach. As long as you can find satisfaction in a mixed bag, things are good there.


Manny Oh, in Sweden too, I can assure you that women of all ages, with every imaginable variety of breasts, will have them on display. Although there is a certain tendency to cover up if you don't have anything in particular to show, a lot of them just like getting tanned all over and figure that, if the men don't want to watch, that's their business.

At the other end of the scale, you do sometimes see real exhibitionists. I remember an occasion in our nearby park - there was this very striking woman with waist-length blonde hair, who had brought along one of those things you use to spray water on flowers. Half the guys in the park were staring at her. I'm quite sure she was doing it on purpose!



message 49: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Quite.




Manny Good heavens, this review has been... CENSORED! Someone removed the picture without even letting me know! First Amendment! Freedom of speech! Big Brother!

Now who was it? Will the guilty party at least have the good grace to tell me who they are? I'm reminded of the Lady Chatterley case. Are they concerned that their wives or servants may see something objectionable?

I'm willing to compromise and put a clear warning at the top of the review. It's just not as funny without the picture. Or what do other people think?





message 47: by Mike (last edited Apr 27, 2009 05:09AM) (new)

Mike                                              I'm kind of surprised it didn't all get yanked. And while I find the acrobatics involved in many forms of American censorship strangely amusing (I was flabbergasted one day by a movie on television that had characters yelling out "For Rice Cakes!" Took me a little while to figure out it was a dub meant to cover up the inappropriate "For Christ's sake"...)... most of the time it's not just humorless but an aggressive anti-humor.

In solidarity, maybe we could all post naked pictures of ourselves. Raise our fannies for Manny? (I assume the Brits and Yanks can enjoy their respective understandings of fannies, as they see fit.) Or maybe we could flirt with other representational modes for darling Vikki?

"""""""""""
"""""""""""""""
" * * "
" < "
" 0 "
::
----/ \----
/ @ @ \


Etc. I'm too bored already with this exercise to fill out the body or the honey pot. How did those footprint people not give up one or two toes into their chainletter?

EDIT: HA! Then all my hard work spacing out the asterisk nipples and lewd 'o' mouth was for naught, anyway.


Robert Looks like a Picasso woman now!


message 45: by oriana (new)

oriana Manny, I think you should definitely fight for that picture. I'll stand with you!!


message 44: by Joshua Nomen-Mutatio (last edited Apr 27, 2009 07:02AM) (new)

Joshua Nomen-Mutatio Mike wrote: "I'm kind of surprised it didn't all get yanked. And while I find the acrobatics involved in many forms of American censorship strangely amusing (I was flabbergasted one day by a movie on television that had characters yelling out "For Rice Cakes!" Took me a little while to figure out it was a dub meant to cover up the inappropriate "For Christ's sake"...)... most of the time it's not just humorless but an aggressive anti-humor.

Ha! That's a new one to my ears. I'm also a fan of how absurd much of our television censorship is. Two examples that always leap out of my memory are the network television versions of Fargo and The Big Lebowksi. Here's a classic example for your viewing pleasure in which the censors got mightily creative in covering up John Goodman's repeated bellowing of "This is what happens when you fuck a stranger in the ass!":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQUdJ6...

Also, a great parody of the general phenomena we're talking about here from the late, great Mr. Show ("Mother father, Chinese dentist!"):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-n-rGn...

And for some hilarious uncensored words:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EM4hp9...


message 43: by Eric_W (last edited Apr 27, 2009 06:50AM) (new)

Eric_W I guess I didn't see this review (quite clever, btw) until just this morning, so I didn't see the picture that someone decided might permanently corrupt my morals and doom me to everlasting perdition. I want to personally thank them for not letting me see it and risk causing self-induced blindness. I would hope they are busily examining other reviews for bad words, like foutre and charogne and merde, and scheisse, because those of us who KNOW the truth and KNOW what is offensive MUST protect others from EVERYTHING we don't like. Worst of all is that some youngster might mistake a breast for something in his past and go into reversion or PTSD. Horror. Focus on your own damn family.


message 42: by Joshua Nomen-Mutatio (last edited Apr 27, 2009 07:03AM) (new)

Joshua Nomen-Mutatio Manny wrote: "I'm willing to compromise and put a clear warning at the top of the review. It's just not as funny without the picture. Or what do other people think?"

I think it's beyond absurd that adults are so consumed by sexual neurosis that were tiny circles of cloth placed over her nipples this would be not be considered inappropriate. That's where the line of lewdness has been drawn: visible nipples = bad. Context is apparently irrelevant as well.

David Cross has a hilarious bit about this where he uses the real life story about Attorney General John Ascroft having 8,000 dollar drapes placed over the exposed breasts of the Spirit of Justice statue.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio I wish I could find a clip of the David Cross bit. It's on his live comedy album Shut Up You Fucking Baby which is highly recommended all around.


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio I understand that pragmatic approach as well. I just find the whole reason for having to approach it pragmatically to be, at bottom, totally absurd.


message 39: by Eric_W (last edited Apr 27, 2009 08:29AM) (new)

Eric_W Abigail wrote: "I realize this may draw a lot of flack, but I can understand why parents might be concerned about nude photographs in a children's book review. To be clear, I myself don't think that nudity is dirt..."

I hate to even suggest this, but it seems to me that perhaps reviewers, much as we do with spoilers, might be able to code a review so that only those over 18 could see it. Personally, I think Goodreads should have contacted Manny and asked him to remove or edit the review. On the other hand, section 2 of the terms of agreement we all agreed to, is incredibly broad in its definition of what is or is not acceptable (see below) and basically gives Goodreads the right to yank anything they want including points of view they might deem "objectionable." While I don't like that, the other valuable things Goodreads provides to me in fostering my love of reading and books means I'll temper what I say and do. There are lots of ways to be clever without being scatological. As far as what a supervisor might see at work, as a supervisor, I'd be more concerned that work wasn't being done.

2(v) contains any information or content that we deem to be unlawful, harmful, abusive, racially or ethnically offensive, defamatory, infringing, invasive of personal privacy or publicity rights, harassing, humiliating to other people (publicly or otherwise), libelous, threatening, profane, or otherwise objectionable;...


Manny OK, I can see everyone's point of view here. I have edited the review to contain a pointer to the original magazine cover, with a clear warning. I hope this is deemed an acceptable compromise. If the person who censored the review still doesn't think so, please contact me!


message 37: by Eric_W (new)

Eric_W Manny wrote: "OK, I can see everyone's point of view here. I have edited the review to contain a pointer to the original magazine cover, with a clear warning. I hope this is deemed an acceptable compromise. If t..."

Thanks, Manny. Frankly I don't see what the fuss was all about. I had the president of the college ask me to remove a magazine from the shelves because one!!! student had objected and the prez (he didn't last long) hadn't even seen it. I told him no way. I'd take all the magazines off, but not just one. But it's Goodreads show, so I guess they can do what they want.


Manny Chandra wrote: "I can see both sides too and I think your solution is a good one Manny, but I'm reeeeeally bothered by the editing of the review with out any attempt to contact you. Who has this ability? And where is the line drawn?"

I would definitely appreciate it in future if GR administrators who object to my reviews just mail me and say so, rather than editing them. As you can see, I'm open to compromise. But it's easier if you're able to talk.



Manny Thank you Abigail, I will do that!


message 34: by Maiden Aunt (new)

Maiden Aunt OH MY! My word, I am simply flabbergasted and flustered! Nowhere was I warned about this being for Maiden Aunts such as myself; dear Manny, I am appalled!

I must rethink my admiration for you, as clearly you are not the chivalrous, kind, and gentle natured young man that I once thought you to be.

I dare say, I have not been this disapointed since the George Michael bathroom incident!


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio "disapointed" = moist


Joshua Nomen-Mutatio C'mon Maiden, tell me I'm a filthy boy and that my mouth is in need of a good soapin'. That'll make me so "disapointed."


message 31: by Matthieu (new)

Matthieu Good stuff, Abigail. This whole episode has rather perturbed me.


Manny Maiden Aunt wrote: "OH MY! My word, I am simply flabbergasted and flustered! Nowhere was I warned about this being for Maiden Aunts such as myself; dear Manny, I am appalled!

I must rethink my admiration for yo..."


Auntie, I'm sorry if you were shocked by my review. I was merely trying to suggest, perhaps not in the best way possible, that the young lady in question was, inside, just a little girl who missed her bear. I was concerned that many people who saw her admittedly rather brazen picture might not realize that. Think of it as an attempt to rescue a fallen woman, at least in the opinions of the Goodreads membership.

I did wonder whether to put my maiden-aunt sticker on the review. But it's normally intended to refer to the book, and I was worried that I would only further confuse the issue.



message 29: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Donaghy Hi folks,
I'm the Goodreads Community Manager -- for those not following the feedback thread, here is my response:

Thanks for weighing in, everyone. It was very helpful to read through your comments. I elected to delete the image in question, and I'm fairly certain it was the first time we have partially edited a review, rather than simply removing it entirely. Given the amount of discussion generated by the review and the number of votes it had accrued, I did not want to delete it fully. Typically, we do not remove controversial content (e.g. profanity, "adult" reviews such as the now-famous Giving Tree review); however, we do have a policy against nudity, so I removed the image. I felt this was the best compromise, given the circumstances.

Manny, I apologize for not notifying you -- I agree that in the future, reviewers should be notified if their reviews are altered in this way.

We do not have mechanisms in place that would enable us to notify the user in every instance of deleted content, but we'll take this into consideration. However, I will say that we'll do our best to notify the reviewer in special cases like this -- which, given the fact this is the first time I have found a reason to edit rather than delete a review, are bound to be rare.

Thanks for discussing -- let me know if you have further thoughts.


Additional thought about censorship, which was raised by several of you on this thread. Ironically, my decision to remove the image but not the text of Manny's review was an attempt on my part to preserve the content, not censor it. Of course, I acknowledge that deleting the nudity is a form of censorship. 99.9% of the nudity that goes up on Goodreads comes from porn spammers; the other .1% (perhaps less, I'd say this is one of the first legit examples I've found) comes in the form of artistic expression. Distinguishing the two would be a subjective process involving moral judgments, so instead we delete all nudity. Thanks for reading, and thanks for your comments!


« previous 1
back to top