Blacky *Romance Addict*'s Reviews > Kiss of the Highlander

Kiss of the Highlander by Karen Marie Moning
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8310179
I am on Highlander high and these books are going to be my fix! I absolutely LOVED Kiss of the Highlander Photobucket


The cover - my oh my can it be more hot?! Photobucket Love the pic, and I'd sure like to meet that model just to see how good a Highlander kiss can be :))))


The story - I loved the whole concept, and it was well written, mixing time travel with druids and magic... Just wow! Photobucket It's about Gwen, an american girl on vacation in Scotland. She is in search of a cherry picker Photobucket and so far no man has been worthy enough. So one day, during a field trip, she falls into a cave and stumbles upon a body, a perfectly preserved specimen of human male perfection Photobucket
I guess you could say at that point that her cherry picking quest was definitely over Photobucket Drustan awakens in this new world, he doesn't know what happened to him, and now must find a way to undo everything and restore the Keltar clan.


Drustan - I so loved him Photobucket one of the favorite Highlanders I've read <3 He is the head of his clan, and bearer of the druid lore. They have served and protected mankind for centuries, and it is his duty that his line continues, and the druid knowledge be perserved. Unfortunately, he awakens in the future, and finds his home destroyed, meaning that his line was broken and the lore forgotten. That's why he comes up with a plan that could make Gwen hate him forever... Photobucket


Gwen - a great heroine Photobucket She's instantly attracted to Drustan (can't blame the girl) and she falls for him in the short time they had before he found his home. She decides to give her virginity to him, and they "do it" in the middle of the stone circle (some druid stuff). They form a bond, he vows love to her, and then attempts to go back in time to undo what has happened to him. BUT, the plan fails (doesn't it always), and Gwen finds herself alone in the past, with Drustan and his family believing her a crazed woman wanting to trap him in marriage XD


Overall - This was such a great read, it really got me by surprise! I have to say the author's writing is waaaay waaaay better than the first one, and I'm so glad! I loved the fact that for almost first half of the book Gwen thought Drustan was a madman with his claimes that he's from the past, and almost all the second half Drustan believed Gwen was the crazy one with her claims of being from the future XD This was very well written, I could see that this kind of plotline could be developed in so many ways (bad ones at that), and am so glad this turned out the way it did :)


Favorite scenes
- when Drustan awakens and starts dressing himself, and Gwen notices the million and one knives on him loool
- Drustan's first car ride
- when they went shopping, him trying on jeans - HOT scene!! Photobucket
- he discovers his castle's ruins and is heartbroken Photobucket
- Gwen's first conversation with the Drustan from the past XD
- when they lock him up to have the second conversation Photobucket
- the ending, oh how that got me in tears, it was just PERFECT!!!! Photobucket
74 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Kiss of the Highlander.
Sign In »

Quotes Blacky *Romance Addict* Liked

Karen Marie Moning
“If aught must be lost, ‘twill be my honor for yours. If one must be forsaken, ‘twill be my soul for yours. Should death come anon, ‘twill be my life for yours. I am Given.”
Karen Marie Moning, Kiss of the Highlander


Reading Progress

07/30/2012 "Oh my the cover is HOT <3 Drustan here I come!" 5 comments
07/30/2012 "Jeez, I read like 10 pages today and real life intruded, now I can finally continue with my read, after 8 long hours :( looking forward to this book the whole day!" 1 comment
07/30/2012 "Wow! I am totally loving this! Totally. And. Utterly. It's weird, like it wasn't the same person who wrote the first and this book. Amazing." 4 comments
07/30/2012 ""Pondering Newton's Law of Universal Gravitation, she considered the possibility that since Drustan's mass was so much greater than hers, she was doomed to be attracted to himso long as he was in her near vicinityas much a victim of gravity as the earth orbiting the sun."

ahahahah well good to know there's a scientific explanation XDXDXD"
07/30/2012 ""Pondering Newton's Law of Universal Gravitation, she considered the possibility that since Drustan's mass was so much greater than hers, she was doomed to be attracted to him so long as he was in her near vicinity as much a victim of gravity as the earth orbiting the sun."

ahahahah well good to know there's a scientific explanation XDXDXD"
07/30/2012
70.0% "Damn you Sleep! Why do I need you now, when Gwen has decided to seduce Drustan??? :( And to say this again, I really can't believe this book is so excellent. I'm loving it. Totally. And. Utterly."
07/31/2012
80.0% "Yes!!! Finally, he remembered!"
07/31/2012
99.0% "What a beautiful ending <3 I have tears in my eyes :'( and I want to read the next book NOW! How can she end with such a spoiler!!" 4 comments

Comments (showing 1-50 of 77) (77 new)


Aestas Book Blog I have the first book of this series on my bookshelf... Been thinking about starting it. Almost everyone who reads them just RAVES about them!


message 2: by Blacky *Romance Addict* (last edited Jul 31, 2012 12:47PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Blacky *Romance Addict* Oh no! You really don't have to read the first one, almost everyone says to skip the first 3. I read #1 and it was absolutely terrible!! Really bad. If I didn't know it was going to get better with books 4,5,6,7 I would NEVER continue reading based on just the first one. So my advice - get this one ASAP! lol


message 3: by Aestas Book Blog (last edited Jul 31, 2012 12:59PM) (new)

Aestas Book Blog Oh god lol. Are there no continuity problems? I should start with this one?? Really?


Blacky *Romance Addict* Yup, the first 3 are not really connected to the 4+. Everything is explained in this one so you really aren't missing anything by not reading it. I'll go back to the 2nd and 3rd when I finish all the new ones. I was quite optimistic when I started the first one thinking: Well it can't be THAT bad? and the answer was: Oh yes, it really can.


JenJenBoBin Just 1 question ... are there any hot guys (vamps,wolfs, elves I dont care!) in kilts?


Blacky *Romance Addict* well lol they are all in kilts all the time hahahah but no, there aren't any vamps or werewolfs here, just plain old Scottish Highlanders (the ones in book 4 and 5 are druids, don't know about the others)


Aestas Book Blog Kk I'll add this to my next amazon order


Aestas Book Blog LOL Jennifer "elves I don't care!" hahahaha


Blacky *Romance Addict* Hm Jennifer I think one will be a fairy (fae) hahahah not sure though XD


JenJenBoBin Sh!t ALL in kilts ... ROCK!! Moving this up on the list ;)


Kellie G. Great review!! I loved this too!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks Kellie :) It was really great, and I got me crazy wanting to read #5!


Wendy Nice one Blacky! So glad you loved it too. :)


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks :) I loved it so much I'm not stopping till I read this series to the end, and then maybe I'll start with the other one XD


Carisa great review, glad you loved it


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks Carisa, I really did. And I'm loving the next one too :) seriously great :) So glad I started reading this <3


MelissaB Great review! Drustan is one hot Highlander!

Hope you are enjoying Dageus!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Oh yes I am, seriously, I didn't think he'd be so hot! like, WOW hot :O Lovin it so far heheh, and lucky me, I have a fan nearby XD


Karla Great review Blacky! This one's a keeper!


KatLynne Great review Blacky! This is a fave of mine too!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks Karla and KatLynne :) and it is in my favorite books too.


message 22: by Dee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dee Fab review Blacky!...Am just about to start this one and looking forward to it!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks Dee :) I really hope you'll like this series :)


message 24: by Dee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dee Blacky wrote: "Thanks Dee :) I really hope you'll like this series :)"

Will let you know soon :)


Carol Ri Been reading your reviews lately and they have been quite helpful for me. Your reviews leave me with smiles often, thanks.


Blacky *Romance Addict* Thanks very much Carol :) I try to make them less boring to read hahahah


Carol Ri Sweet! Looking forward to more of your reviews past, present and future. Cheers!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Carol wrote: "Sweet! Looking forward to more of your reviews past, present and future. Cheers!"

hahahah :) Hope I won't dissapoint :)


Carol Ri No worries :-) I can actually feel your emotions from your reviews and it's very refreshing!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Hahah the further I go the more emoticons I put in my reviews XD It's a disease hahahaha I'll have to look up my older reviews and put in some smillies :)


Carol Ri Giggle giggle. No pressure. But the emoticons are funny punctuated :-) btw, pardon my ignorance as am relatively new reading reviews, but what does XD and LMAO mean, came across them several times.


Blacky *Romance Addict* lmao is laughing my ass off and XD is a smile like :D the X is for the eyes. hope that helps :)


Carol Ri Ohhhhh, ahahahahaha. Much appreciated! Thank you!


message 34: by Jennifer (new) - added it

Jennifer Leighton How hot is this and the other books in the series? Hotter than average historical, or run-of-the-mill?


Blacky *Romance Addict* HankLover wrote: "How hot is this and the other books in the series? Hotter than average historical, or run-of-the-mill?"

I didn't get a notification for this one, sorry HL. Well I don't know, there's a lot of sexual tension, but not a lot of actual sex :D


Denise I love your review with all the emoticons.

I know you said to skip 1-3 but I am anal about reading a series in order. When I started this one I didn't realize it was in a series so now my analness (I don't think that is a word) requires me to go read 1,2 and 3.


message 37: by [deleted user] (new)

oh ! I cant wait ! your review has made me all super super excited!!!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Karen wrote: "oh ! I cant wait ! your review has made me all super super excited!!!"

LOL :DDDDDD go ad read woman :D


message 39: by [deleted user] (new)

Blacky *I don't want anyone's name in my name* wrote: "Karen wrote: "oh ! I cant wait ! your review has made me all super super excited!!!"

LOL :DDDDDD go ad read woman :D"


*salutes* Yes maam ! *military style*


Blacky *Romance Addict* LMAO ahahahhahahhahah


message 41: by [deleted user] (new)

Blacky *I don't want anyone's name in my name* wrote: "LMAO ahahahhahahhahah"

LOL *winks*


Devon Herrera These are some of my favorite books!! I have read them all. You have great taste B. :)


message 43: by [deleted user] (new)

I loved the book Blacky ! Loved ! It is definitely on my faves shelf and it totally made me wanna dance and just wow:):):):):):

Thanks for the amazing rec:D


Blacky *Romance Addict* :D
No problem! You should definitely read the other ones too, they just get better with each book!


message 45: by [deleted user] (new)

Blacky *I don't want anyone's name in my name* wrote: ":D
No problem! You should definitely read the other ones too, they just get better with each book!"


I definitely will asap:D


Jxxx  ♥ Pink Lady ♥ Great review, Blacky x


message 49: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen HA! I LOVED every single one of these books when I read them all those years ago. FANTASTIC REVIEW!
You know I really wish that she would write some more Scottish romances again.


Blacky *Romance Addict* This series really is amazing, I skipped 2 and 3,but now in my reread I read them as well and loved both!!! And the books from 4-7 are perfection <333333 I wish she would write more standalones :((((


« previous 1
back to top