Loren Harway's Reviews > Magician

Magician by Raymond E. Feist
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
245084
's review
Dec 12, 08

Read in December, 2008

** spoiler alert ** A very strange book, events stretching over a decade. I wonder how long the entire series lasts. I loved everything in Pug and Tomas' chapters even though the rest of the book seemed slow in comparison. While I loved Milamber's little rebellion around pg 600 this book kind of fell flat towards the end which is what prevented it from getting four stars. It became predictable and I didn't feel that the second book had been set up sufficiently (because, well, feist didn't try).
That being said, this is a good book and can be read as a stand alone, I just wonder how 'trilogy-like' it will shape up to be. Are we never to see Pug and Tomas again? I guess I'll just have to read Silverthorn to find out.

Regardless, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and have high hopes for the next two.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Magician.
sign in »

Reading Progress

11/03/2008 page 30
4.41% "Nice set so far.
Thanks Sarah."
11/03/2008 page 30
4.41% "Nice set up so far.
Thanks Sarah."
11/05/2008 page 70
10.28% "Nice set up so far.
Thanks Sarah."
11/06/2008 page 120
17.62% "I don't read for ages. Then I fall into it all over again."
11/07/2008 page 156
22.91% "And they're doing things. yay.
No, I'm enjoying it."
11/19/2008 page 191
28.05% "Tomas and Pug are separated. Tomas is dosed with power in the form of magicked armour. So when does Pug get his share? Gift him power alread"
11/20/2008 page 222
32.6% "something to do with rilanonn and a corrupt king. Where have I heard that before? I want magicks."
11/21/2008 page 222
32.6% "It's war! Pug's been captured, maybe magicks will start to be more prevalent now, unless we switch back to Tomas... which just happened."
11/21/2008 page 270
39.65% "Tomas is going evil.
Pug is being enslaved.
Now for seventy pages at Crydee..."
11/24/2008 page 302
44.35% "and another three years pass..."
11/25/2008 page 355
52.13% "Pug is still a lowly slave four years on, magickless. the lovelines are rearranged for the better. enjoyable but sloow."
12/01/2008 page 435
63.88% "For 400 pages pug is magically impotent. Then all of a sudden he's elevated and its done. Loving it though. Tomas is going bad..."
12/04/2008 page 465
68.28% "Well that was a boring 30 pages. Comparatively, I mean."
12/05/2008 page 530
77.83% "Milamber has taken Pug, body and mind. The second book was appropriately named indeed. We've watched a 13 yr old become a father. How strang"
12/08/2008 page 610
89.57% "There was some pretty awesome action a little way back. Almost exactly what I wanted from this book. Sort of wish he would stay Milamber."
show 1 hidden update…

No comments have been added yet.