Sandy Cox's Reviews > The Absent One

The Absent One by Jussi Adler-Olsen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6182742
's review
Aug 01, 12

bookshelves: arcs
Read from July 26 to 31, 2012

At Department Q, a division of the Denmark police, they only review cold cases, so why the file for an over 20 year murder case with a conviction lands on desk for Carl Mørck, the head of the department, is unknown. With his curiosity peaked, Carl begins his investigation only to find that when some of the most wealthy and powerful men in the country commit crimes, many times there are no consequences.

What our hero doesn’t realize is that vengeance is coming for these men in the form of someone they once knew – a woman named Kimmie. After living on the streets for years, she has decided to face her demons and destroy those who have hurt her, just as long as they don’t find her first.

The story then becomes a race who will find whom and how many of them will live to tell the tale.

I was first introduced to Carl Mørck and Department Q by Anne at Murder by the Book last year and it has been a roller coaster of a ride. Alder-Olsen has the really intense of giving the reader enough background on the story to hold their attention and peppering in little shocks throughout the book until the pulse pounding climax.

Excellent for reading when you have plenty of time, but reading in bed will make it impossible to sleep at night as readers will be up until all hours trying to finish the book.

Highly recommended for fans of Tana French or Scandinavian mysteries!
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Absent One.
sign in »

Reading Progress

07/27/2012 page 72
18.0%
show 4 hidden updates…

No comments have been added yet.