Rachel (BAVR)'s Reviews > The Summer of You

The Summer of You by Kate Noble
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6303796
The Summer of You is a pretty good book. If you asked me to come up with two words to describe it, I would settle on "decent" and "competent." There's some sweet dialogue and a little mystery cut into the romance to keep my attention. The main characters, Byrne and Jane, are totally cool people. Like, if I got blasted into Regency times through the super-secret time machine I'm building in my basement (don't tell the government), I would want to spend country parties admiring the gardens with Byrne and Jane. London during the season would be different, though. I'd want to spend that time with people more entertaining than this sedate couple. No offense, fictional characters I've never met. But let's bring my hypothetical rant to an end because I totally don't have a super-secret time machine in my basement. The main point of this rambling paragraph is that I enjoyed The Summer of You like it was pink cotton candy for the brain.

However, one of my current pet peeves is incredibly well-covered in this book. You see, Byrne, god love him, has an ouchy-hurty leg injury and walks with a cane. And immediately, my eyes rolled the whole way to the back of my head. Now wait a minute! Don't just automatically assume that I'm a heartless bitch. I have nothing against hot dudes with serious leg injuries. It's sooooo sad. But it's also sooooo overdone. The Hero Whose Only Flaw is Walking with a Limp that Makes Him Tres Sad is a very overused trope in Regency romance these days. I can name at least 3 books off the top of my head that I've read in the last year with the very same plot device. Sadly, there hasn't been an author yet with the velociraptor balls to straight-up amputate the hero's leg, which was a whole bunch more likely in wartime back then. Nope. Instead, the guy who we're supposed to love for being all tortured and damaged just limps around and bitches A LOT about walking on two legs with some discomfort. And I always think, "Yeah, that must really suck to hurt all the time, BUT AT LEAST YOU STILL HAVE A FUCKING LEG, YOU CRYBABY BASTARD!"

Of course, Byrne's main form of treatment for his leg is aquatic fucking therapy, which is the new Modern Medicine Authors Slip Into Historical Fiction and Hope I Won't Notice du jour. To Noble's credit, she almost got it right. Before the story, Byrne was 18 kinds of screwed up and addicted to opium, laudanum, alcohol, etc. But then some quaint country doctors told him to swim to make it feel better instead of bleeding him out and encouraging him to stay in bed forever like doctors usually did before the invention of modern medicine, and my bullshit detector started blaring. Isn't it strange that when the girls in these books twist an ankle, the doctors and other characters are all, "You must stay in bed FOR WEEKS until there is no chance of you experiencing pain ever again," while the guys can have their legs practically torn in two by bullets, and everyone's like, "Dude, try the water. Just SWIM. It works!"?

Now, Byrne totally could have gotten away with the cane, the limp, the drug dependency, and even the goddamn aquatic therapy IF Noble had given any other reasons for him to be unsociable and taciturn. Before the injury, Byrne was a light-hearted, cool guy who didn't sulk his days away in a secluded cabin. Then he gets one leg injury, which will probably heal even more in time because it only happened ONE YEAR AGO, in which time he's made get strives toward recovery, and the guy's inconsolable and convinced that he doesn't deserve love or kindness. Hey Byrne, Angst just called. It wants its fucking street cred back!

So yeah. I really wish that authors would stop using one injury as an excuse to make their heroes act like asshats. I see people every day with chronic illnesses and disabilities who do amazing things! Why can't Byrne be one of them before he meets Jane's Magical Vagina of Love and Redemption?

On the bright side, the love story is well-done. Byrne's anti-social tendencies aren't a factor when he's around Jane, and their biggest conflicts to Happily Ever After are class differences (Jane's the daughter of a duke, and Byrne's just a regular gentleman) and the fact that the entire town thinks Byrne's a highwayman because he's such an asshole all the time. It was nice to read about Byrne and Jane's budding friendship as it naturally progressed into the urge to jump each other's bones. Jane loses her ice queen veneer from Revealed and becomes a sympathetic and likable heroine.

So aside from the leg shenanigans, I enjoyed The Summer of You quite a bit. Unfortunately, it doesn't carry quite the sparkle and fun of Revealed, so I can only give it 3 stars.
7 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Summer of You.
Sign In »

Comments (showing 1-50 of 51) (51 new)


message 1: by Ferdy (new)

Ferdy Awww the poor baby had a ouchy-hurty leg, leave him alone!


Rachel (BAVR) Ferdy wrote: "Awww the poor baby had a ouchy-hurty leg, leave him alone!"

Bwahaha! I think my rage really got through in this review, didn't it? :D


message 3: by Ferdy (new)

Ferdy Yea..but I loved it:)
Wouldn't it be cool to have a Magical Vagina of Love and Redemption? A girl can dream, a girl can dream..*Sighs wistfully*..


message 4: by Sarah (new)

Sarah WTF, another House-clone? O_o What are these authors thinking?


message 5: by Erin (new)

Erin Muses Stupendous review. It makee me laughee. ;)


Rachel (BAVR) Erin wrote: "Stupendous review. It makee me laughee. ;)"

Thanks, Erin! :D When I went to write this review, I actually didn't intend to go so over-the-top. But what can I say? The snark could not be contained!

Sarah wrote: "WTF, another House-clone? O_o What are these authors thinking?"

It's the new freaking Big Misunderstanding. I swear. Do you think we should create a shelf to catalog every book we come across with a tortured crippled hero? (Please say yes, please say yes!)


message 7: by Sarah (new)

Sarah WE SHOULD. >:D


Rachel (BAVR) Yes! OK, what shall we call the shelf? And where the hell is Karla? She's read a few of these books, too.


message 9: by Sarah (new)

Sarah How about "yet another whinging gimp"? :D


Rachel (BAVR) Brilliant! Okay, thus far I have:

The Summer of You (The Blue Raven #2) by Kate Noble
A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1) by Tessa Dare
When Beauty Tamed the Beast (Fairy Tales, #2) by Eloisa James

I swear I just read one of your reviews about another one but can't remember the name ...


message 11: by Sarah (last edited Jul 03, 2012 02:10PM) (new)

Sarah Yeah, I'm sure there are more than three. *nod* In fact, I could've sworn Karla just read another one recently...did you check her Avon-shelf-of-shame? Maybe it's one of those.

Wasn't it was something about someone 'forgetting' their brother was crippled & couldn't dance at a ball?


Rachel (BAVR) Oh, wait! I read that book! What was its name? *scrambles to shelves*


Rachel (BAVR) Aha! Here it is:

Twice Fallen (Ladies in Waiting, #2) by Emma Wildes


Rachel (BAVR) And YOU read Led Astray by a Rake (The Husband Hunters Club, #1) by Sara Bennett

I knew I remembered you mentioning a gimpy leg in one of your reviews.


message 15: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Bwahaha. I'd forgotten that stupid hero had a gimp leg! Your memory is better than mine. >:D Technically it was his hip, IIRC...but close enough. He gimped & moaned about it, fo' realz.


message 16: by Karla (new)

Karla I have a "zomg another fucking leg wound" shelf. All of these are going on it. Gotta keep track of these lazy lameass authors. And it'll cover any kind of wound from battle or a fall or an infected hangnail.

And I'm sorry I missed this review when you posted it! It was tailor-made for my ragey peeves, too! :( These heroes are a bunch of whiny pussies. So are the heroines. Hurty legs or omg I'm plain so shoot me. ZOMG! World be ending.

Now why would the townspeople have thought he was a highwayman, if all he does is hobble around and piss and moan? They think it was a cover or something?

I hoped I'd never again see aquatic therapy wheedled into a historical, but I guess it's the new thing. Wonder if I should start tagging that as well. Pffft!


Rachel (BAVR) When I started reading, I actually thought, "Well, at least he isn't doing aquatic therapy." And then I read on, and he was doing fucking aquatic therapy!

The townspeople thought he was a highwayman because he came to town around the same time the highwayman started striking. I don't know how the hell they expected him to chase carriages down on a horse when he couldn't even freaking walk, but whatevs.

Now I can use your "zomg another fucking leg wound" shelf to support mine. That will be a great activity for lull time at work tomorrow. :D


message 18: by Karla (last edited Jul 04, 2012 09:03AM) (new)

Karla Mom just informed me that she recently saw an episode of Deep Space Nine where a Ferengi got wounded and the Starfleet doc in the fucking 24th century had to amputate.

So yeah. Grody 19th century battlefields? Amputation would be highly likely, no matter if you were enlisted or an officer. A romance hero with Horatio Nelson's injury would come out of it with an attractive scar and oodles of pain to wangst over.

And it really kills me to point to Deep Space Nine as being more realistic than romance because I hate that fucking show. :P (Except for Bashir. Me likey.)


message 19: by Rachel (BAVR) (last edited Jul 04, 2012 09:12AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Rachel (BAVR) A romance hero could only wish to be as badass as Horatio Nelson. :D If you think about it, most of these heroes are lucky to be alive. Bad wounds like that always got infected and killed them. If the doctor managed to amputate the limb before it got infected, then the freaking gaping hole on their body got infected again. And killed them.

I'm willing to accept that Deep Space Nine is more realistic than romance. Fucking Star Wars is more realistic about amputated limbs than this schlock.


message 20: by Karla (new)

Karla Think of all the potential romance heroes who never made it back because they didn't even die in glorious battle but in a puddle of dysentery.

Against all my better judgment, I'll read A Week to Be Wicked. I'm sure we'll get a medical update on the hero from Book #1. The heroine has probably effected a full recovery with her aquatic therapy, and she might have been cured of her hysterical fear of leeches and bleeding. With a magical joining of Cock & Vag, all things are possible.


message 21: by Willow (last edited Jul 04, 2012 12:19PM) (new)

Willow LOLOL Cut the leg off, damn it! That's too funny!

You're right though, these Regency guys do have a lot of superficial leg wounds. You should read Sand Dan Glotka from the First Law series. That character was seriously screwed up. He couldn't even have sex anymore. That would never work in a romance though. The Magical Vagina of Love and Redemption couldn't save him. LOL


message 22: by Karla (new)

Karla At least Bertrice Small had the stones to write a secondary hero without any junk at all. Which reminds me, I really REALLY want to re-read that one. *eyes TBR stack and contemplates giving it the finger*


message 23: by Willow (new)

Willow Beatrice Small was brave. She wrote a few scenes in Adora that no one would dare tackle today. The PC vultures would come out in droves. I suppose they still do.

Glotka breaks all the rules for a fantasy hero. Not only is he horribly crippled and morally questionable, he’s a grand inquisitor who tortures people himself. I loved how Joe Abercrombie decided to break the fantasy genre rules by making the cruel inquisitor the hero and the powerful wizard and unbeatable warrior the bad guys.

I'm waiting for a book to have a lecherous Puritan be the hero. LOL


message 24: by Karla (new)

Karla Willowfaerie wrote: "I'm waiting for a book to have a lecherous Puritan be the hero. LOL"

I really REALLY hope I have one like that buried in my TBR somewhere. :D


Rachel (BAVR) Now I'm tempted to write a romance novel with a one-legged, junk-less hero. Do you think I'd sell many books? >:D


message 26: by Karla (new)

Karla And he can't wangst about it.

Oh, I'm sure Romancelandia would be all over it. With torches and pitchforks.


message 27: by Willow (last edited Jul 04, 2012 07:55PM) (new)

Willow Rachel wrote: "Now I'm tempted to write a romance novel with a one-legged, junk-less hero. Do you think I'd sell many books? >:D"

Oooh it'd be all oral sex. That actually might work. LOLOL


Rachel (BAVR) You both have excellent points. While more conventional citizens of Romancelandia would scoff at the idea of a hero lacking junk (and a leg), there has to be a decently sized sub-group that would LOVE a book with just oral sex. The story could be a magical fantasy. Something like ...

As a strapping young man, the hero was such a prick that a mysterious old witch cast a spell on him. Until he can find a woman to love him for a reason other than his gigantic dong and two working legs, he'll have the anatomy of a Ken doll. If he manages to find a woman who loves him within 10 years, his peen will grow back (but not the leg because I'm a jerk). If not, he'll remain a junk-less amputee for the rest of his life.

It's like Beauty and the Beast if Beauty and the Beast was written as a porno! :D


message 29: by Karla (new)

Karla I would so read that. :D


message 30: by Willow (new)

Willow ROFL! I love that! I think it would scare the crap out of your male readers as well.


message 31: by Willow (new)

Willow I think you should name him Ken too. LOL


message 32: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Dude. I woud SO read that. :D And your series title could be "Junkless Hunks." Muahaha! Bonus points if you named the series opener something like "The Eunach & The Pearl."


message 33: by Erin (new)

Erin Muses Could you also give him a hook? That just seems like it would make him more endearing.


message 34: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Erin wrote: "Could you also give him a hook? That just seems like it would make him more endearing."

WIN. :D


message 35: by Karla (last edited Jul 05, 2012 03:53AM) (new)

Karla $1000 to the first author who has a hero with a colostomy bag (which some quaint country doctor has invented a century or two before its time).


Rachel (BAVR) Erin wrote: "Could you also give him a hook? That just seems like it would make him more endearing."

LMAO! Yes! Hooks are incredibly sexy and endearing, especially during foreplay. Brilliant idea, Erin!

Sarah wrote: "Dude. I woud SO read that. :D And your series title could be "Junkless Hunks." Muahaha! Bonus points if you named the series opener something like "The Eunach & The Pearl.""

OMG, I think I just died when I read that. Using it!

Karla (Mossy Love Grotto) wrote: "$1000 to the first author who has a hero with a colostomy bag (which some quaint country doctor has invented a century or two before its time)."

LMAO! That could inspire some very ... sexy? ... scenes.

Willowfaerie wrote: "I think you should name him Ken too. LOL"

Lord Kenneth Longshanks has a nice ring to it. Bwahaha!

I can post a story chapter by chapter on here, right? If you keep contributing these great ideas, I think we'll have a real hit on our hands! :D Remember, after the success of 50 Shades, it's possible that ANYTHING can sell.


message 37: by Karla (new)

Karla Rachel wrote: "LMAO! That could inspire some very ... sexy? ... scenes."

Maybe it would actually be enough back-door matter to actually make characters WASH THEIR FRIGGIN' HANDS after doing the butt stuff.


Rachel (BAVR) Just in case you thought I was kidding, I've started the first chapter of "The Eunuch and the Pearl." :D Here is an excerpt of my description of that great bastard, Lord Kenneth Longshanks:

One of Ken’s former lovers insisted that he spoke to his overly large member during the act of love-making, whispering encouragement and referring to it by more than one pet name. According to this former lover, who never revealed her identity for fear of his wrath, upon reaching climax, Ken would often exclaim, “Now Longshanks has fucked another whore! Huzzah!” This cannot be confirmed, though, for other women swore on their lives that he began weeping upon orgasm and then collapsed on their prone forms, sleeping atop them until he deemed it appropriate to wake.

His sisters despised him, his servants feared him, and the sweet lad who sold flowers outside of Hyde Park once kicked him in the shin for calling him a “skinny little bastard” and stealing his meager earnings. It was rumored that the boy died of starvation that week, but the facts could never be substantiated. They were all afraid to say it, of course, but no one truly liked Lord Kenneth Longshanks. He was a devil in polite society, and a majority of the ton secretly wished that the insufferable young man would make like Napolean and rot away on an island alone.


I can't wait to castrate this dude. >:D


message 39: by Karla (last edited Jul 05, 2012 12:58PM) (new)

Karla OMFG! *dies*

Seriously, you're a genius with this stuff. :D

*re-reads “Now Longshanks has fucked another whore! Huzzah!” and dies all over again*


Rachel (BAVR) I have a page and a half done, and it's ridiculous. The witch is a perfect mix of those frumpy-dumpy wallflower heroines you hate so much and that creepy girl who smelled her own armpits in the back of bio class. It writes itself ...


message 41: by Karla (new)

Karla I can't wait to read moar!


message 42: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Omg. I'll go make popcorn for everybody! >:D


message 43: by Willow (new)

Willow ROFL! Oooh he sounds like such a dreamboat! It'll be so fun to have him tortured a bit. Can the starved little boy torture him a bit too? Mwahahahaha


message 44: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Karla (Mossy Love Grotto) wrote: "$1000 to the first author who has a hero with a colostomy bag (which some quaint country doctor has invented a century or two before its time)."

Is there any way the anachronistic colostomy bag could be combined with aquatic therapy?!


message 45: by Karla (new)

Karla It seems like a ready-made flotation device. :D Probably made out of pig's bladder back then, or created in the heroine's laboratory out of synthetic material she discovered.


message 46: by Rachel (BAVR) (last edited Jul 06, 2012 08:16AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Rachel (BAVR) Okay, isn't there a feature on here that allows us to post our writing in chapters? Did it go away recently? I don't understand technology! I'm trying to finish the intro so the group of you can have some delightful weekend reading ...


message 47: by Karla (new)

Karla On your profile page, look under the box with all your likes/dislikes, etc. There should be a list of options: send message, compare books, write a story. At least I'm seeing that on your profile page....


Rachel (BAVR) OK, so I feel like I'm going crazy now. I can find the "write a story" option on YOUR profile, but when I click on it, the next screen invites me to write a story ABOUT YOU. WTF? I'm going to check Crystal's profile because she wrote a series on Star Wars. Maybe that will give me some insight.


Rachel (BAVR) Bwaha! I found it! There's a definite possibility that I won't be able to find it ever again, but I found it at least once. :D


message 50: by Karla (new)

Karla Good, because I think I just found it too! And since I had already typed up this post, I'll post it anyway!

Maybe this'll work:

Go here:
http://www.goodreads.com/story

To the right it says on my screen "my writing", so if you click it, it might take you to a page where you can start a new one.


« previous 1
back to top